On this page

Living in Bradford-on-Avon

In Bradford-on-Avon, unemployment is 2.7% (2025).

Bradford-on-Avon is in the United Kingdom; its population was 9,865 in March 2021. Owner occupation accounted for 72.6% of homes in March 2021. Gigabit broadband availability was 75.5%. The city had 3 schools in 2026. The employment rate was 52.7% in March 2021.

Last checked 2026-10-0726 sources

Population9,865people21 Mar 2021Official source · Census 2021 usual resident population count for the exact Built Up Area (BUA), England excluding London or Wales.
Median gross salary (region)3,006EUR/month31 Dec 2024Official source · www.ons.gov.uk
Average rent1,264EUR/month31 Aug 2026District figureOfficial source · ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price
Unemployment rate2.7%country median 3.4% — 21% belowOfficial source · www.nomisweb.co.uk
Recorded crime4,926incidents per 100,00031 Dec 2025District figureOfficial source · Police force area tables, year ending March 2026, Table C4
PM2.5, annual mean6.99µg/m³country median 6.5 — 7% aboveOfficial source · official estimated total annual mean background concentration

Lower unemployment than 84% of United Kingdom cities that publish it, less recorded crime than 95% of United Kingdom cities that publish it and dirtier air than 77% of United Kingdom cities that publish it.

Which United Kingdom-wide rules apply when you move to Bradford-on-Avon?

National rules stay on the country page instead of being relabelled as city data.

Housing and cost

No city-level rent figure is published for Bradford-on-Avon. The available city-level cost figures remain below.

What recurs every month2 published recurring costs, € per month
Bradford-on-Avon recurring monthly costs, € per month

€ / month

Internet, 60 Mbps€24
Mobile plan, 10 GB€13
MetricValuePeriodSource
Internet, 60 Mbps unlimited24.02 EUR/month30 Sept 2026BT Full Fibre 1501Official · national market
Mobile plan, 10 GB12.87 EUR/month30 Sept 2026Three 100GB one-month data pack17Official · national market
Dwellings4,545 count21 Mar 2021ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure
Average monthly rent (whole dwelling)1,264 EUR/month31 Aug 2026ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price13Official · county

Is Bradford-on-Avon a good place to live?

There is no universal answer. The profile scores below show who the available published evidence may suit; they are a decision aid, not a personal recommendation.

Try your profile
Remote worker38%strong on work, weak on safety · range 27–49%
Skilled employee62%strong on work, weak on safety · range 52–72%
Student31%strong on education, weak on work · range 21–41%
Family51%strong on family, weak on cost · range 40–62%
Retirement39%strong on air quality, weak on admin · range 26–52%

Work and income

What is the unemployment rate in Bradford-on-Avon?

The unemployment rate is 2.7 % (2025-2026). Source: www.nomisweb.co.uk24

Unemployment across cities in United KingdomUnemployment in Bradford-on-Avon is 2.7%. Of 999 cities with data, 652 have unemployment of 2 to under 4%.

Unemployment rate (%)

MetricValuePeriodSource
Gigabit broadband availability75.46 %Not statedwww.ofcom.org.uk26Supplemental estimate · Supplemental context
Employment rate52.73 %21 Mar 2021ONS Census 2021 towns and cities dataset Figure 9 individual BUA employment row for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley12Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure
Superfast broadband availability99.62 %Not statedwww.ofcom.org.uk26Supplemental estimate · Supplemental context
Median gross salary (regional)3,006 EUR/month31 Dec 2024www.ons.gov.uk25Official
Unemployment rate2.7 %country median 3.4%31 Dec 2025www.nomisweb.co.uk24Official

What does a salary buy in Bradford-on-Avon?

Take-home pay after tax, minus rent and the everyday bills this city publishes. Each line names its source.

regional median gross pay: €3,006 (ons.gov.uk, 2024-12-31).
Left over each month€1,209of €2,510 take-home
  • Rent
  • Internet
  • Mobile
  • Left over
Line-by-line breakdown and sources
Each month€
Take-home payOECD Taxing Wages 2025, single, no children. Includes central and local income tax and employee social contributions; euro amounts at the ECB average for 2026-08.€2,510
Rentaverage rent of a whole dwelling · official · ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price · 2026-08-31− €1,264
Internet€24 · official · BT Full Fibre 150 · 2026-09-30− €24
Mobile plan€13 · official · Three 100GB one-month data pack · 2026-09-30− €13
Other everyday billsnot published for this city: public transport pass, utilities—
Left overbefore the bills this city does not publish€1,209
Take-home pay for other salaries and households Compare with another city Check a job offer in Bradford-on-Avon Salary needed to live in Bradford-on-Avon

Public employment service

No exact public employment office is currently linked to Bradford-on-Avon. The verified national service may still offer online registration, job search or an official office finder.

Country-level information

Jobcentre Plus — Public employment service

Department for Work and Pensions

Job SearchUnemployment Claim

Country-level service information is not treated as proof of a physical office in Bradford-on-Avon. Sources checked through 10 Aug 2026.

Family and education

MetricValuePeriodSource
Schools3 count7 Jul 2026DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract4Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure
Primary schools4 count3 Aug 2026Department for Education (GIAS)3Official
Schools5 count3 Aug 2026Department for Education (GIAS)3Official

School for children who move here. School is compulsory from age 5 to 16, and public school is free.

A country-wide rule for United Kingdom; Bradford-on-Avon's school authority applies it locally.

Sources: legislation.gov.uk · 1996–2026.

Healthcare

MetricValuePeriodSource
GP practices1 count7 Jul 2026NHS ODS GP Practices report + ONSPD Live postcode coordinates7Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure

Yes — migrants can receive medical care in Bradford-on-Avon under the national coverage rules.

Healthcare access follows the country-wide insurance rules; local capacity facts remain city data and are not used as proof of eligibility.

Open the official coverage guide
Country rule verified 2026-08-03.

Safety

How safe is Bradford-on-Avon?

Police recorded about 4,926 incidents per 100,000 (2025-26). This counts all offences, so it is not comparable with a violent-crime-only rate from another source. Source: Police force area tables, year ending March 2026, Table C416

Recorded crime across major citiesBradford-on-Avon highlighted among comparable cities
Recorded crime across major cities with Bradford-on-Avon highlighted

recorded incidents per 100k residents

Manchester14,267
Bristol13,099
Liverpool12,409
Leeds11,462
Birmingham11,416
Leicester11,001
Sheffield9,693
Cardiff9,379
Belfast9,156
Coventry8,836
Glasgow757
Edinburgh549
MetricValuePeriodSource
Recorded incidents per 100,000 residents4,926 incidents per 100,00031 Dec 2025Police force area tables, year ending March 2026, Table C416Official · county
Violent crime per 100,000 residents1,977 per 100,000Apr 2026data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary2Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure
Burglary per 100,000 residents354.8 per 100,00030 Apr 2026data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary2Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure

Mobility and administration

MetricValuePeriodSource
Destinations from nearest airport73 count3 Aug 2026OpenFlights14Official
Nearest airportBRS3 Aug 2026OurAirports15Official
Distance to nearest airport33 km3 Aug 2026OurAirports15Official

Climate and air quality

Annual PM2.5 was 6.99 µg/m³ in 2025. Annual NO₂ was 5.35 µg/m³ in 2025. Annual PM10 was 11.3 µg/m³ in 2025.

Is the air quality good in Bradford-on-Avon?

The annual PM2.5 mean is about 7 µg/m³ (2025) — above the WHO 2021 guideline of 5 µg/m³ but within the EU limit of 25 µg/m³.

Annual mean at the measuring site(s) serving the city; current-day readings differ.

  • PM2.5 — annual mean: 6.99 µg/m³ · official estimated total annual mean background concentration11
Temperature through the yearAverage daytime high and night-time low, °C
Rainfall through the yearAverage monthly precipitation, mm
Sunshine through the yearAverage monthly sunshine, hours
Air quality vs health guidelinesAnnual means against WHO 2021 guidelines and EU legal limits

City values from the published air-quality observations. WHO 2021 guidelines and EU limit values are published constants.

PM2.5 across cities in United KingdomAnnual PM2.5 in Bradford-on-Avon is 7.0 µg/m³. Of 941 cities with data, 487 have annual PM2.5 of 6 to under 7 µg/m³.

Annual PM2.5 (µg/m³)

MetricValuePeriodSource
NO₂ — annual mean5.35 µg/m³country median 7.22025official estimated total annual mean background concentration9Official
PM10 — annual mean11.33 µg/m³country median 11.3 — about the same2025official estimated total annual mean background concentration10Official
PM2.5 — annual mean6.99 µg/m³country median 6.52025official estimated total annual mean background concentration11Official
Average daytime high by monthJan 7.2 · Feb 7.7 · Mar 10.2 · Apr 13.2 · May 16.4 · Jun 19.4 · Jul 21.5 · Aug 21 · Sep 18.3 · Oct 14.2 · Nov 10.1 · Dec 7.5 °C31 Dec 1991World Meteorological Organization / NOAA NCEI19Official
Average night-time low by monthJan 1.7 · Feb 1.6 · Mar 3 · Apr 4.6 · May 7.5 · Jun 10.4 · Jul 12.4 · Aug 12.3 · Sep 10.2 · Oct 7.6 · Nov 4.4 · Dec 2.1 °C31 Dec 1991World Meteorological Organization / NOAA NCEI20Official
Average temperature by monthJan 4.4 · Feb 4.6 · Mar 6.6 · Apr 8.9 · May 12 · Jun 14.9 · Jul 16.9 · Aug 16.6 · Sep 14.3 · Oct 10.9 · Nov 7.2 · Dec 4.8 °C31 Dec 1991World Meteorological Organization / NOAA NCEI21Official
Average precipitation by monthJan 76.7 · Feb 56 · Mar 51.9 · Apr 52.7 · May 57.8 · Jun 54.9 · Jul 60.2 · Aug 65.6 · Sep 55.1 · Oct 79.5 · Nov 82 · Dec 78.6 mm31 Dec 1991World Meteorological Organization / NOAA NCEI22Official
Average sunshine by monthJan 60.6 · Feb 78.9 · Mar 124.5 · Apr 172.9 · May 210.9 · Jun 205.2 · Jul 215.2 · Aug 192.7 · Sep 154.1 · Oct 112.9 · Nov 70.7 · Dec 54.4 hours31 Dec 1991World Meteorological Organization / NOAA NCEI23Official
Annual PM2.5 over time7 published observations, 2013–2025

Annual PM2.5 fell 46.3% between 2013 and 2025, from 13.0 to 7.0.

Similar climate. In United Kingdom: Luton ±0.2 °C. Elsewhere: Saanich (Canada) ±0.9 °C, Cork (Ireland) ±1.1 °C, Heide (Germany) ±1.2 °C, Meldorf (Germany) ±1.2 °C, Neustadt in Holstein (Germany) ±1.2 °C. Twenty closest, compared month by month

Monthly highs and lows against the 1991–2020 station normals of the nearest station; ± is the average monthly difference.

Population and city profile

The city covered 2.8 km² in December 2022. Population density was 3,508.3 people per km² in 2021.

How many people live in Bradford-on-Avon?

The published population was 9,865 people in March 2021. Source: Census 2021 usual resident population count for the exact Built Up Area (BUA), England excluding London or Wales.6

Who lives hereResidents by nationality, % of population

Calculated from the population and foreign-resident facts on this page.

MetricValuePeriodSource
Area2.81 km²Dec 2022ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure
City area2.81 km²Dec 2022Exact 2022 Built Up Area polygon area for BUA22CD in EPSG:27700, converted from square metres to km2.5Official
Foreign residents805 people21 Mar 2021Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts.6Official
GP practices per 10,000 residents1.01 per 10,000 people7 Jul 2026NHS ODS GP Practices report + ONSPD Live postcode coordinates7Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure
Schools per 10,000 residents3.04 per 10,000 people7 Jul 2026DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract4Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure
Population density3,508 people/km²21 Mar 2021www.ons.gov.uk6Official · built-up-area figure
Population9,865 people21 Mar 2021Census 2021 usual resident population count for the exact Built Up Area (BUA), England excluding London or Wales.6Official

Additional context

MetricValuePeriodSource
Owner-occupied homes72.61 %21 Mar 2021ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure
Residents born abroad8.2 %21 Mar 2021ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure
Median age49 years21 Mar 2021ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure
Universities0 count3 Aug 2026Office for Students8Official

Alternatives for people set on Bradford-on-Avon

Nothing here reaches an argued comparison yet: no other published city shares enough metrics with Bradford-on-Avon from the same source, period and grain. What is collected is below.

Alternative cities in United Kingdom

Other cities in United Kingdom to compare with Bradford-on-Avon, nearest in population first.

All United Kingdom cities

How does Bradford-on-Avon compare?

Pick a city. The answer appears here and the address bar keeps it, so the comparison can be shared; the page stays Bradford-on-Avon's.

Is Bradford-on-Avon part of Trowbridge?

Bradford-on-Avon is in the published commuting zone of Trowbridge; this does not mean it is administratively part of the hub. Trowbridge city profile

Relationship type: Commuting Zone Of. Source18

Common questions

Answered from the published values on this page, each with its source and date.

How many people live in Bradford-on-Avon?

The published population was 9,865 people in March 2021. Source: Census 2021 usual resident population count for the exact Built Up Area (BUA), England excluding London or Wales..

Is the air quality good in Bradford-on-Avon?

The annual PM2.5 mean is about 7 µg/m³ (2025) — above the WHO 2021 guideline of 5 µg/m³ but within the EU limit of 25 µg/m³. Source: official estimated total annual mean background concentration.

How safe is Bradford-on-Avon?

Police recorded about 4,926 incidents per 100,000 (2025-26). This counts all offences, so it is not comparable with a violent-crime-only rate from another source. Source: Police force area tables, year ending March 2026, Table C4.

What is the unemployment rate in Bradford-on-Avon?

The unemployment rate is 2.7 % (2025-2026). Source: www.nomisweb.co.uk.

What is the typical salary around Bradford-on-Avon?

The median gross salary is 3,006 EUR/month. Source: www.ons.gov.uk.

How many foreign residents live in Bradford-on-Avon?

805 residents hold a foreign nationality. Source: Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts..

Is Bradford-on-Avon a good place to live?

Bradford-on-Avon may suit different people for different reasons. The page's profile scores compare published cost, work, housing, safety, healthcare and other available factors; they are a decision aid, not a universal recommendation.

Is Bradford-on-Avon part of Trowbridge?

Bradford-on-Avon is in the published commuting zone of Trowbridge; this does not mean it is administratively part of the hub.

Cite this page

Open a format to select or copy this ImmigrationDB compilation citation. The native disclosure and text fallback work without JavaScript.

APA citation
ImmigrationDB. (2026, October 16). Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom: population, rent, salary [ImmigrationDB compilation; version eae5df335073f3649845eac423b756f0]. ImmigrationDB. https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/bradford-on-avon/ Retrieved 2026-10-16. Compilation license: CC BY 4.0, https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/
BibTeX citation
@misc{immigrationdb_immigrationdb_bradford-on-avon-united-kingdom-population-rent-salary_3b2c8502559e,
  author = {ImmigrationDB},
  title = {Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom: population, rent, salary},
  publisher = {ImmigrationDB},
  year = {2026},
  date = {2026-10-16},
  version = {eae5df335073f3649845eac423b756f0},
  url = {https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/bradford-on-avon/},
  note = {Retrieved 2026-10-16. ImmigrationDB compilation. Compilation license: CC BY 4.0, https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/},
}
Markdown citation
[Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom: population, rent, salary](https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/bradford-on-avon/) — ImmigrationDB; ImmigrationDB; version eae5df335073f3649845eac423b756f0; retrieved 2026-10-16; built 2026-10-16.

This citation identifies the ImmigrationDB compilation/page. Underlying source publishers and datasets retain their own terms; inspect the Sources section and cite those records separately. View the underlying source records.

Sources

JSON Markdown
  1. BT Full Fibre 150 bt.com · checked 2026-09-15
  2. data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary data.police.uk · checked 2026-07-07
  3. Department for Education (GIAS) get-information-schools.service.gov.uk · checked 2026-08-03
  4. DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract get-information-schools.service.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-07
  5. Exact 2022 Built Up Area polygon area for BUA22CD in EPSG:27700, converted from square metres to km2. services1.arcgis.com · checked 2026-07-15
  6. Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts. ons.gov.uk · checked 2021-03-21
  7. NHS ODS GP Practices report + ONSPD Live postcode coordinates digital.nhs.uk · checked 2026-07-07
  8. Office for Students officeforstudents.org.uk · checked 2026-08-03
  9. official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
  10. official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
Show 16 more sources
  1. official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
  2. ONS Census 2021 towns and cities dataset Figure 9 individual BUA employment row for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-05
  3. ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-09-24
  4. OpenFlights raw.githubusercontent.com · checked 2026-08-03
  5. OurAirports davidmegginson.github.io · checked 2026-08-03
  6. Police force area tables, year ending March 2026, Table C4 ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-10-05
  7. Three 100GB one-month data pack three.co.uk · checked 2026-09-15
  8. Travel to Work Areas (December 2011) full extent boundaries in the United Kingdom services1.arcgis.com · checked 2026-09-19
  9. World Meteorological Organization / NOAA NCEI nodc.noaa.gov · checked 2026-08-03
  10. World Meteorological Organization / NOAA NCEI nodc.noaa.gov · checked 2026-08-03
  11. World Meteorological Organization / NOAA NCEI nodc.noaa.gov · checked 2026-08-03
  12. World Meteorological Organization / NOAA NCEI nodc.noaa.gov · checked 2026-08-03
  13. World Meteorological Organization / NOAA NCEI nodc.noaa.gov · checked 2026-08-03
  14. www.nomisweb.co.uk nomisweb.co.uk · checked 2026-08-26
  15. www.ons.gov.uk ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-08-27
  16. www.ofcom.org.uk ofcom.org.uk · checked 2026-07-15

Spotted a number that looks wrong? Every value here carries its source and date — tell us what you found and we will re-check it against the source.