Living in Brotton
In Brotton, unemployment is 5.2% (2025).
Gigabit broadband availability was 90%. The city had 4 schools in 2026. The employment rate was 48.4% in March 2021. Owner occupation accounted for 70.2% of homes in March 2021. Its population was 5,400 in March 2021.
Higher unemployment than 88% of United Kingdom cities that publish it, more recorded crime than 66% of United Kingdom cities that publish it and cleaner air than 97% of United Kingdom cities that publish it.
Which United Kingdom-wide rules apply when you move to Brotton?
National rules stay on the country page instead of being relabelled as city data.
Housing and cost
No city-level rent figure is published for Brotton. The available city-level cost figures remain below.
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Internet, 60 Mbps unlimited | 24.02 EUR/month | 30 Sept 2026 | BT Full Fibre 1501Official · national market |
| Mobile plan, 10 GB | 12.87 EUR/month | 30 Sept 2026 | Three 100GB one-month data pack18Official · national market |
| Dwellings | 2,380 count | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Average monthly rent (whole dwelling) | 752.3 EUR/month | 31 Aug 2026 | ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price14Official · county |
Is Brotton a good place to live?
There is no universal answer. The profile scores below show who the available published evidence may suit; they are a decision aid, not a personal recommendation.
Work and income
What is the unemployment rate in Brotton?
The unemployment rate is 5.2 % (2025-2026). Source: www.nomisweb.co.uk19
Brotton 5.2%
Unemployment rate (%)
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gigabit broadband availability | 90.01 % | Not stated | www.ofcom.org.uk21Supplemental estimate · Supplemental context |
| Employment rate | 48.36 % | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 towns and cities dataset Figure 9 individual BUA employment row for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley13Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Superfast broadband availability | 93.55 % | Not stated | www.ofcom.org.uk21Supplemental estimate · Supplemental context |
| Median gross salary (regional) | 2,786 EUR/month | 31 Dec 2024 | www.ons.gov.uk20Official |
| Unemployment rate | 5.2 %country median 3.4% | 31 Dec 2025 | www.nomisweb.co.uk19Official |
What does a salary buy in Brotton?
Take-home pay after tax, minus rent and the everyday bills this city publishes. Each line names its source.
RentInternetMobileLeft over
Line-by-line breakdown and sources
| Each month | € |
|---|---|
| Take-home payOECD Taxing Wages 2025, single, no children. Includes central and local income tax and employee social contributions; euro amounts at the ECB average for 2026-08. | €2,351 |
| Rentaverage rent of a whole dwelling · official · ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price · 2026-08-31 | − €752 |
| Internet€24 · official · BT Full Fibre 150 · 2026-09-30 | − €24 |
| Mobile plan€13 · official · Three 100GB one-month data pack · 2026-09-30 | − €13 |
| Other everyday billsnot published for this city: public transport pass, utilities | — |
| Left overbefore the bills this city does not publish | €1,562 |
Public employment service
No exact public employment office is currently linked to Brotton. The verified national service may still offer online registration, job search or an official office finder.
Jobcentre Plus — Public employment service
Country-level service information is not treated as proof of a physical office in Brotton. Sources checked through 10 Aug 2026.
Family and education
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Schools | 4 count | 7 Jul 2026 | DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract4Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Primary schools | 0 count | 3 Aug 2026 | Department for Education (GIAS)3Official |
| Schools | 1 count | 3 Aug 2026 | Department for Education (GIAS)3Official |
School for children who move here. School is compulsory from age 5 to 16, and public school is free.
A country-wide rule for United Kingdom; Brotton's school authority applies it locally.
Sources: legislation.gov.uk · 1996–2026.
Healthcare
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| GP practices | 1 count | 7 Jul 2026 | NHS ODS GP Practices report + ONSPD Live postcode coordinates8Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
Yes — migrants can receive medical care in Brotton under the national coverage rules.
Healthcare access follows the country-wide insurance rules; local capacity facts remain city data and are not used as proof of eligibility.
Open the official coverage guideSafety
How safe is Brotton?
Police recorded about 10,894 incidents per 100,000 (2025-26). This counts all offences, so it is not comparable with a violent-crime-only rate from another source. Source: Police force area tables, year ending March 2026, Table C417
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Recorded incidents per 100,000 residents | 10,894 incidents per 100,000 | 31 Dec 2025 | Police force area tables, year ending March 2026, Table C417Official · county |
| Violent crime per 100,000 residents | 3,519 per 100,000 | Apr 2026 | data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary2Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Burglary per 100,000 residents | 444.4 per 100,000 | 30 Apr 2026 | data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary2Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
Mobility and administration
Climate and air quality
Annual PM2.5 was 4.97 µg/m³ in 2025. Annual NO₂ was 5.42 µg/m³ in 2025. Annual PM10 was 9.8 µg/m³ in 2025.
Is the air quality good in Brotton?
The annual PM2.5 mean is about 5 µg/m³ (2025) — within the WHO 2021 guideline.
Annual mean at the measuring site(s) serving the city; current-day readings differ.
- PM2.5 — annual mean: 4.97 µg/m³ · official estimated total annual mean background concentration12
Within WHO 2021 guidelineAbove WHO, within EU limitAbove EU legal limitCity annual mean · µg/m³
City values from the published air-quality observations. WHO 2021 guidelines and EU limit values are published constants.
Brotton 5.0
Annual PM2.5 (µg/m³)
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| NO₂ — annual mean | 5.42 µg/m³country median 7.2 | 2025 | official estimated total annual mean background concentration10Official |
| PM10 — annual mean | 9.84 µg/m³country median 11.3 | 2025 | official estimated total annual mean background concentration11Official |
| PM2.5 — annual mean | 4.97 µg/m³country median 6.5 | 2025 | official estimated total annual mean background concentration12Official |
| Monthly extreme high temperature | Jan 12.16 · Feb 15.03 · Mar 18.78 · Apr 20.66 · May 23.07 · Jun 25.17 · Jul 26.09 · Aug 26.42 · Sep 23.72 · Oct 23 · Nov 15.85 · Dec 12.98 °C | 31 Dec 2001 | NASA POWER / NASA Langley Research Center7Official |
| Monthly extreme low temperature | Jan -4.36 · Feb -4.9 · Mar -4.29 · Apr -2.18 · May -0.1 · Jun 4.02 · Jul 6.98 · Aug 5.39 · Sep 3.44 · Oct -0.14 · Nov -1.84 · Dec -5.7 °C | 31 Dec 2001 | NASA POWER / NASA Langley Research Center7Official |
| Average temperature by month | Jan 3.59 · Feb 3.63 · Mar 4.95 · Apr 7.31 · May 10.28 · Jun 13.26 · Jul 15.17 · Aug 14.94 · Sep 12.75 · Oct 9.8 · Nov 6.48 · Dec 4.21 °C | 31 Dec 2001 | NASA POWER / NASA Langley Research Center7Official |
Annual PM2.5 fell 61.8% between 2014 and 2025, from 13.0 to 5.0.
Population and city profile
The city covered 1.4 km² in December 2022. Population density was 3,806.3 people per km² in 2021.
How many people live in Brotton?
The published population was 5,400 people in March 2021. Source: Census 2021 usual resident population count for the exact Built Up Area (BUA), England excluding London or Wales.6
By nationality
National passport98.4%
Calculated from the population and foreign-resident facts on this page.
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Area | 1.42 km² | Dec 2022 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| City area | 1.42 km² | Dec 2022 | Exact 2022 Built Up Area polygon area for BUA22CD in EPSG:27700, converted from square metres to km2.5Official |
| Foreign residents | 85 people | 21 Mar 2021 | Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts.6Official |
| GP practices per 10,000 residents | 1.85 per 10,000 people | 7 Jul 2026 | NHS ODS GP Practices report + ONSPD Live postcode coordinates8Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Schools per 10,000 residents | 7.41 per 10,000 people | 7 Jul 2026 | DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract4Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Population density | 3,806 people/km² | 21 Mar 2021 | www.ons.gov.uk6Official · built-up-area figure |
| Population | 5,400 people | 21 Mar 2021 | Census 2021 usual resident population count for the exact Built Up Area (BUA), England excluding London or Wales.6Official |
Additional context
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Owner-occupied homes | 70.17 % | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Residents born abroad | 1.6 % | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Median age | 47 years | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Universities | 0 count | 3 Aug 2026 | Office for Students9Official |
Alternatives for people set on Brotton
Three places for the three reasons people leave a city on the shortlist: stay in the region, stay in the country, or keep the budget and change the country. A percentage appears only where both cities publish that metric from the same source, period and grain. Distances are straight lines — travel times are not collected yet.
Crosby (Sefton) as a Brotton alternative in the same country
Better on 2 of 5 metrics measured the same way, worse on 1.
- Residents: 50,215 Crosby (Sefton) vs 5,400 Brotton+830%
- Annual PM2.5: 7.7 µg/m³ Crosby (Sefton) vs 5.0 µg/m³ Brotton+54%
- Recorded crime, per 100k: 7,552 Crosby (Sefton) vs 10,894 Brotton−31%
- Unemployment: 4.6% Crosby (Sefton) vs 5.2% Brotton−12%
- Median gross pay, region: €2,812 Crosby (Sefton) vs €2,786 Brottonsame level
Alternative cities in United Kingdom
Other cities in United Kingdom to compare with Brotton, nearest in population first.
How does Brotton compare?
Pick a city. The answer appears here and the address bar keeps it, so the comparison can be shared; the page stays Brotton's.
Common questions
Answered from the published values on this page, each with its source and date.
How many people live in Brotton?
The published population was 5,400 people in March 2021. Source: Census 2021 usual resident population count for the exact Built Up Area (BUA), England excluding London or Wales..
Is the air quality good in Brotton?
The annual PM2.5 mean is about 5 µg/m³ (2025) — within the WHO 2021 guideline. Source: official estimated total annual mean background concentration.
How safe is Brotton?
Police recorded about 10,894 incidents per 100,000 (2025-26). This counts all offences, so it is not comparable with a violent-crime-only rate from another source. Source: Police force area tables, year ending March 2026, Table C4.
What is the unemployment rate in Brotton?
The unemployment rate is 5.2 % (2025-2026). Source: www.nomisweb.co.uk.
What is the typical salary around Brotton?
The median gross salary is 2,786 EUR/month. Source: www.ons.gov.uk.
How many foreign residents live in Brotton?
85 residents hold a foreign nationality. Source: Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts..
Is Brotton a good place to live?
Brotton may suit different people for different reasons. The page's profile scores compare published cost, work, housing, safety, healthcare and other available factors; they are a decision aid, not a universal recommendation.
Cite this page
Open a format to select or copy this ImmigrationDB compilation citation. The native disclosure and text fallback work without JavaScript.
APA citation
ImmigrationDB. (2026, October 16). Brotton, United Kingdom: population, rent, salary, jobs [ImmigrationDB compilation; version 8ab29336e89ec3d5e9c6ba4074645730]. ImmigrationDB. https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/brotton/ Retrieved 2026-10-16. Compilation license: CC BY 4.0, https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/BibTeX citation
@misc{immigrationdb_immigrationdb_brotton-united-kingdom-population-rent-salary-jobs_c68aa50da3a6,
author = {ImmigrationDB},
title = {Brotton, United Kingdom: population, rent, salary, jobs},
publisher = {ImmigrationDB},
year = {2026},
date = {2026-10-16},
version = {8ab29336e89ec3d5e9c6ba4074645730},
url = {https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/brotton/},
note = {Retrieved 2026-10-16. ImmigrationDB compilation. Compilation license: CC BY 4.0, https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/},
}Markdown citation
[Brotton, United Kingdom: population, rent, salary, jobs](https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/brotton/) — ImmigrationDB; ImmigrationDB; version 8ab29336e89ec3d5e9c6ba4074645730; retrieved 2026-10-16; built 2026-10-16.This citation identifies the ImmigrationDB compilation/page. Underlying source publishers and datasets retain their own terms; inspect the Sources section and cite those records separately. View the underlying source records.
Sources
- BT Full Fibre 150 bt.com · checked 2026-09-15
- data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary data.police.uk · checked 2026-07-07
- Department for Education (GIAS) get-information-schools.service.gov.uk · checked 2026-08-03
- DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract get-information-schools.service.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-07
- Exact 2022 Built Up Area polygon area for BUA22CD in EPSG:27700, converted from square metres to km2. services1.arcgis.com · checked 2026-07-15
- Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts. ons.gov.uk · checked 2021-03-21
- NASA POWER / NASA Langley Research Center power.larc.nasa.gov · checked 2026-08-03
- NHS ODS GP Practices report + ONSPD Live postcode coordinates digital.nhs.uk · checked 2026-07-07
- Office for Students officeforstudents.org.uk · checked 2026-08-03
- official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
Show 11 more sources
- official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
- official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
- ONS Census 2021 towns and cities dataset Figure 9 individual BUA employment row for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-05
- ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-09-24
- OpenFlights raw.githubusercontent.com · checked 2026-08-03
- OurAirports davidmegginson.github.io · checked 2026-08-03
- Police force area tables, year ending March 2026, Table C4 ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-10-05
- Three 100GB one-month data pack three.co.uk · checked 2026-09-15
- www.nomisweb.co.uk nomisweb.co.uk · checked 2026-08-26
- www.ons.gov.uk ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-08-27
- www.ofcom.org.uk ofcom.org.uk · checked 2026-07-15
Spotted a number that looks wrong? Every value here carries its source and date — tell us what you found and we will re-check it against the source.