Living in Broughton (Flintshire)
In Broughton (Flintshire), unemployment is 4% (2025).
Broughton (Flintshire) had 6,530 residents in March 2021 and is a city in the United Kingdom. Gigabit broadband availability was 89.5%. The employment rate was 63.3% in March 2021. Owner occupation accounted for 78.1% of homes in March 2021. In 2025, annual NO₂ was 10.3 µg/m³. The city covered 5.2 km² in December 2022. Population density was 1,255.2 people per km² in 2021.
Higher unemployment than 68% of United Kingdom cities that publish it, less recorded crime than 89% of United Kingdom cities that publish it and cleaner air than 64% of United Kingdom cities that publish it.
Which United Kingdom-wide rules apply when you move to Broughton (Flintshire)?
National rules stay on the country page instead of being relabelled as city data.
Housing and cost
No city-level rent figure is published for Broughton (Flintshire). The available city-level cost figures remain below.
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Internet, 60 Mbps unlimited | 24.02 EUR/month | 30 Sept 2026 | BT Full Fibre 1501Official · national market |
| Mobile plan, 10 GB | 12.87 EUR/month | 30 Sept 2026 | Three 100GB one-month data pack11Official · national market |
| Dwellings | 2,790 count | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley4Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Average monthly rent (whole dwelling) | 947.4 EUR/month | 31 Aug 2026 | ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price9Official · county |
Is Broughton (Flintshire) a good place to live?
There is no universal answer. The profile scores below show who the available published evidence may suit; they are a decision aid, not a personal recommendation.
Work and income
What is the unemployment rate in Broughton (Flintshire)?
The unemployment rate is 4 % (2025-2026). Source: www.nomisweb.co.uk16
Broughton (Flintshire) 4.0%
Unemployment rate (%)
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gigabit broadband availability | 89.48 % | Not stated | www.ofcom.org.uk18Supplemental estimate · Supplemental context |
| Employment rate | 63.29 % | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 towns and cities dataset Figure 9 individual BUA employment row for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley8Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Superfast broadband availability | 98.95 % | Not stated | www.ofcom.org.uk18Supplemental estimate · Supplemental context |
| Median gross salary (regional) | 3,203 EUR/month | 31 Dec 2024 | www.ons.gov.uk17Official |
| Unemployment rate | 4 %country median 3.4% | 31 Dec 2025 | www.nomisweb.co.uk16Official |
What does a salary buy in Broughton (Flintshire)?
Take-home pay after tax, minus rent and the everyday bills this city publishes. Each line names its source.
RentInternetMobileLeft over
Line-by-line breakdown and sources
| Each month | € |
|---|---|
| Take-home payOECD Taxing Wages 2025, single, no children. Includes central and local income tax and employee social contributions; euro amounts at the ECB average for 2026-08. | €2,647 |
| Rentaverage rent of a whole dwelling · official · ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price · 2026-08-31 | − €947 |
| Internet€24 · official · BT Full Fibre 150 · 2026-09-30 | − €24 |
| Mobile plan€13 · official · Three 100GB one-month data pack · 2026-09-30 | − €13 |
| Other everyday billsnot published for this city: public transport pass, utilities | — |
| Left overbefore the bills this city does not publish | €1,662 |
Public employment service
No exact public employment office is currently linked to Broughton (Flintshire). The verified national service may still offer online registration, job search or an official office finder.
Jobcentre Plus — Public employment service
Country-level service information is not treated as proof of a physical office in Broughton (Flintshire). Sources checked through 10 Aug 2026.
Family and education
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Schools | 1 count | 7 Jul 2026 | Welsh Government DataMapWales maintained schools WFS14Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
School for children who move here. School is compulsory from age 5 to 16, and public school is free.
A country-wide rule for United Kingdom; Broughton (Flintshire)'s school authority applies it locally.
Sources: legislation.gov.uk · 1996–2026.
Healthcare
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| GP practices | 1 count | 7 Jul 2026 | Welsh Government DataMapWales active GP main sites13Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
Yes — migrants can receive medical care in Broughton (Flintshire) under the national coverage rules.
Healthcare access follows the country-wide insurance rules; local capacity facts remain city data and are not used as proof of eligibility.
Open the official coverage guideSafety
How safe is Broughton (Flintshire)?
Police recorded about 6,347 incidents per 100,000 (2025-26). This counts all offences, so it is not comparable with a violent-crime-only rate from another source. Source: Police force area tables, year ending March 2026, Table C410
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Recorded incidents per 100,000 residents | 6,347 incidents per 100,000 | 31 Dec 2025 | Police force area tables, year ending March 2026, Table C410Official · county |
| Violent crime per 100,000 residents | 1,761 per 100,000 | Apr 2026 | data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary2Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Burglary per 100,000 residents | 107.2 per 100,000 | 30 Apr 2026 | data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary2Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
Climate and air quality
Annual PM2.5 was 6.25 µg/m³ in 2025. Annual PM10 was 11 µg/m³ in 2025.
Is the air quality good in Broughton (Flintshire)?
The annual PM2.5 mean is about 6.3 µg/m³ (2025) — above the WHO 2021 guideline of 5 µg/m³ but within the EU limit of 25 µg/m³.
Annual mean at the measuring site(s) serving the city; current-day readings differ.
- PM2.5 — annual mean: 6.25 µg/m³ · official estimated total annual mean background concentration7
Night-time low to daytime high
mm
Within WHO 2021 guidelineAbove WHO, within EU limitAbove EU legal limitCity annual mean · µg/m³
City values from the published air-quality observations. WHO 2021 guidelines and EU limit values are published constants.
Broughton (Flintshire) 6.3
Annual PM2.5 (µg/m³)
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| NO₂ — annual mean | 10.33 µg/m³country median 7.2 | 2025 | official estimated total annual mean background concentration5Official |
| PM10 — annual mean | 10.98 µg/m³country median 11.3 | 2025 | official estimated total annual mean background concentration6Official |
| PM2.5 — annual mean | 6.25 µg/m³country median 6.5 | 2025 | official estimated total annual mean background concentration7Official |
| Average daytime high by month | Jan 8.1 · Feb 8.8 · Mar 10.9 · Apr 13.6 · May 16.7 · Jun 19.3 · Jul 21.1 · Aug 20.7 · Sep 18.4 · Oct 14.6 · Nov 10.9 · Dec 8.4 °C | 1991–2020 | WMO Climatological Normals 1991-2020 — station HAWARDEN AIRPORT15Official · nearest-station reading |
| Average night-time low by month | Jan 1.8 · Feb 2 · Mar 3 · Apr 4.5 · May 7.2 · Jun 10.3 · Jul 12.1 · Aug 12 · Sep 9.8 · Oct 7.2 · Nov 4.3 · Dec 2.1 °C | 1991–2020 | WMO Climatological Normals 1991-2020 — station HAWARDEN AIRPORT15Official · nearest-station reading |
| Average temperature by month | Jan 5 · Feb 5.4 · Mar 7 · Apr 9.1 · May 12 · Jun 14.8 · Jul 16.6 · Aug 16.3 · Sep 14.1 · Oct 10.9 · Nov 7.6 · Dec 5.2 °C | 1991–2020 | WMO Climatological Normals 1991-2020 — station HAWARDEN AIRPORT15Official · nearest-station reading |
| Average precipitation by month | Jan 59.9 · Feb 49.5 · Mar 48.2 · Apr 49.5 · May 52.9 · Jun 64.5 · Jul 60 · Aug 58.9 · Sep 62.2 · Oct 76.2 · Nov 71.3 · Dec 75.6 mm | 1991–2020 | WMO Climatological Normals 1991-2020 — station HAWARDEN AIRPORT15Official · nearest-station reading |
Similar climate. In United Kingdom: Derby ±0.4 °C. Elsewhere: Saanich (Canada) ±0.8 °C, Cork (Ireland) ±1.1 °C, Reims (France) ±1.4 °C, Werl (Germany) ±1.4 °C, Heide (Germany) ±1.5 °C. Twenty closest, compared month by month
Monthly highs and lows against the 1991–2020 station normals of the nearest station; ± is the average monthly difference.
Population and city profile
How many people live in Broughton (Flintshire)?
The published population was 6,530 people in March 2021. Source: Census 2021 usual resident population count for the exact Built Up Area (BUA), England excluding London or Wales.4
By nationality
National passport93.6%
Calculated from the population and foreign-resident facts on this page.
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Area | 5.2 km² | Dec 2022 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley4Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| City area | 5.2 km² | Dec 2022 | Exact 2022 Built Up Area polygon area for BUA22CD in EPSG:27700, converted from square metres to km2.3Official |
| Foreign residents | 420 people | 21 Mar 2021 | Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts.4Official |
| GP practices per 10,000 residents | 1.53 per 10,000 people | 7 Jul 2026 | Welsh Government DataMapWales active GP main sites13Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Schools per 10,000 residents | 1.53 per 10,000 people | 7 Jul 2026 | Welsh Government DataMapWales maintained schools WFS14Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Population density | 1,255 people/km² | 21 Mar 2021 | www.ons.gov.uk4Official · built-up-area figure |
| Population | 6,530 people | 21 Mar 2021 | Census 2021 usual resident population count for the exact Built Up Area (BUA), England excluding London or Wales.4Official |
Additional context
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Owner-occupied homes | 78.14 % | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley4Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Residents born abroad | 6.4 % | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley4Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Median age | 40 years | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley4Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
Alternatives for people set on Broughton (Flintshire)
Nothing here reaches an argued comparison yet: no other published city shares enough metrics with Broughton (Flintshire) from the same source, period and grain. What is collected is below.
Alternative cities in United Kingdom
Other cities in United Kingdom to compare with Broughton (Flintshire), nearest in population first.
How does Broughton (Flintshire) compare?
Pick a city. The answer appears here and the address bar keeps it, so the comparison can be shared; the page stays Broughton (Flintshire)'s.
Is Broughton (Flintshire) part of Chester?
Broughton (Flintshire) is in the published commuting zone of Chester; this does not mean it is administratively part of the hub. Chester city profile
Relationship type: Commuting Zone Of. Source12
Common questions
Answered from the published values on this page, each with its source and date.
How many people live in Broughton (Flintshire)?
The published population was 6,530 people in March 2021. Source: Census 2021 usual resident population count for the exact Built Up Area (BUA), England excluding London or Wales..
Is the air quality good in Broughton (Flintshire)?
The annual PM2.5 mean is about 6.3 µg/m³ (2025) — above the WHO 2021 guideline of 5 µg/m³ but within the EU limit of 25 µg/m³. Source: official estimated total annual mean background concentration.
How safe is Broughton (Flintshire)?
Police recorded about 6,347 incidents per 100,000 (2025-26). This counts all offences, so it is not comparable with a violent-crime-only rate from another source. Source: Police force area tables, year ending March 2026, Table C4.
What is the unemployment rate in Broughton (Flintshire)?
The unemployment rate is 4 % (2025-2026). Source: www.nomisweb.co.uk.
What is the typical salary around Broughton (Flintshire)?
The median gross salary is 3,203 EUR/month. Source: www.ons.gov.uk.
How many foreign residents live in Broughton (Flintshire)?
420 residents hold a foreign nationality. Source: Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts..
Is Broughton (Flintshire) a good place to live?
Broughton (Flintshire) may suit different people for different reasons. The page's profile scores compare published cost, work, housing, safety, healthcare and other available factors; they are a decision aid, not a universal recommendation.
Is Broughton (Flintshire) part of Chester?
Broughton (Flintshire) is in the published commuting zone of Chester; this does not mean it is administratively part of the hub.
Cite this page
Open a format to select or copy this ImmigrationDB compilation citation. The native disclosure and text fallback work without JavaScript.
APA citation
ImmigrationDB. (2026, October 16). Broughton (Flintshire), United Kingdom: population, rent [ImmigrationDB compilation; version 2769152b88d808d95387a3a1ee579b45]. ImmigrationDB. https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/broughton-flintshire/ Retrieved 2026-10-16. Compilation license: CC BY 4.0, https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/BibTeX citation
@misc{immigrationdb_immigrationdb_broughton-flintshire-united-kingdom-population-rent_887549a21793,
author = {ImmigrationDB},
title = {Broughton (Flintshire), United Kingdom: population, rent},
publisher = {ImmigrationDB},
year = {2026},
date = {2026-10-16},
version = {2769152b88d808d95387a3a1ee579b45},
url = {https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/broughton-flintshire/},
note = {Retrieved 2026-10-16. ImmigrationDB compilation. Compilation license: CC BY 4.0, https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/},
}Markdown citation
[Broughton (Flintshire), United Kingdom: population, rent](https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/broughton-flintshire/) — ImmigrationDB; ImmigrationDB; version 2769152b88d808d95387a3a1ee579b45; retrieved 2026-10-16; built 2026-10-16.This citation identifies the ImmigrationDB compilation/page. Underlying source publishers and datasets retain their own terms; inspect the Sources section and cite those records separately. View the underlying source records.
Sources
- BT Full Fibre 150 bt.com · checked 2026-09-15
- data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary data.police.uk · checked 2026-07-07
- Exact 2022 Built Up Area polygon area for BUA22CD in EPSG:27700, converted from square metres to km2. services1.arcgis.com · checked 2026-07-15
- Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts. ons.gov.uk · checked 2021-03-21
- official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
- official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
- official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
- ONS Census 2021 towns and cities dataset Figure 9 individual BUA employment row for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-05
- ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-09-24
- Police force area tables, year ending March 2026, Table C4 ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-10-05
Show 8 more sources
- Three 100GB one-month data pack three.co.uk · checked 2026-09-15
- Travel to Work Areas (December 2011) full extent boundaries in the United Kingdom services1.arcgis.com · checked 2026-09-19
- Welsh Government DataMapWales active GP main sites datamap.gov.wales · checked 2026-07-07
- Welsh Government DataMapWales maintained schools WFS datamap.gov.wales · checked 2026-07-07
- WMO Climatological Normals 1991-2020 — station HAWARDEN AIRPORT WMO Climatological Normals 1991-2020 · ncei.noaa.gov · checked 2026-07-31
- www.nomisweb.co.uk nomisweb.co.uk · checked 2026-08-26
- www.ons.gov.uk ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-08-27
- www.ofcom.org.uk ofcom.org.uk · checked 2026-07-15
Spotted a number that looks wrong? Every value here carries its source and date — tell us what you found and we will re-check it against the source.