Living in Burwell
In Burwell, unemployment is 3.5% (2023).
The median age was 46 years in 2021. Gigabit broadband availability was 79.6%. The population of Burwell, in the United Kingdom, was 5,915 in March 2021.
Less recorded crime than 95% of United Kingdom cities that publish it and cleaner air than 61% of United Kingdom cities that publish it.
Which United Kingdom-wide rules apply when you move to Burwell?
National rules stay on the country page instead of being relabelled as city data.
Housing and cost
No city-level rent figure is published for Burwell. The available city-level cost figures remain below.
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Internet, 60 Mbps unlimited | 24.02 EUR/month | 30 Sept 2026 | BT Full Fibre 1501Official · national market |
| Mobile plan, 10 GB | 12.87 EUR/month | 30 Sept 2026 | Three 100GB one-month data pack17Official · national market |
| Average monthly rent (whole dwelling) | 1,213 EUR/month | 31 Aug 2026 | ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price14Official · county |
Is Burwell a good place to live?
There is no universal answer. The profile scores below show who the available published evidence may suit; they are a decision aid, not a personal recommendation.
Work and income
What is the unemployment rate in Burwell?
The unemployment rate is 3.5 % (January 2023). Source: www.ons.gov.uk20
Burwell 3.5%
Unemployment rate (%)
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gigabit broadband availability | 79.55 % | Not stated | www.ofcom.org.uk21Supplemental estimate · Supplemental context |
| Employment rate | 60.4 % | 31 Dec 2021 | Office for National Statistics9Official |
| Superfast broadband availability | 98.58 % | Not stated | www.ofcom.org.uk21Supplemental estimate · Supplemental context |
| Median gross salary (regional) | 3,264 EUR/month | 31 Dec 2024 | www.ons.gov.uk19Official |
| Unemployment rate | 3.5 %country median 3.4% | 31 Dec 2023 | www.ons.gov.uk20Official |
What does a salary buy in Burwell?
Take-home pay after tax, minus rent and the everyday bills this city publishes. Each line names its source.
RentInternetMobileLeft over
Line-by-line breakdown and sources
| Each month | € |
|---|---|
| Take-home payOECD Taxing Wages 2025, single, no children. Includes central and local income tax and employee social contributions; euro amounts at the ECB average for 2026-08. | €2,690 |
| Rentaverage rent of a whole dwelling · official · ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price · 2026-08-31 | − €1,213 |
| Internet€24 · official · BT Full Fibre 150 · 2026-09-30 | − €24 |
| Mobile plan€13 · official · Three 100GB one-month data pack · 2026-09-30 | − €13 |
| Other everyday billsnot published for this city: public transport pass, utilities | — |
| Left overbefore the bills this city does not publish | €1,440 |
Public employment service
No exact public employment office is currently linked to Burwell. The verified national service may still offer online registration, job search or an official office finder.
Jobcentre Plus — Public employment service
Country-level service information is not treated as proof of a physical office in Burwell. Sources checked through 10 Aug 2026.
Family and education
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Schools | 1 count | 7 Jul 2026 | DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract4Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Primary schools | 1 count | 3 Aug 2026 | Department for Education (GIAS)3Official |
| Schools | 1 count | 3 Aug 2026 | Department for Education (GIAS)3Official |
School for children who move here. School is compulsory from age 5 to 16, and public school is free.
A country-wide rule for United Kingdom; Burwell's school authority applies it locally.
Sources: legislation.gov.uk · 1996–2026.
Healthcare
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| GP practices | 1 count | 7 Jul 2026 | NHS ODS GP Practices report + ONSPD Live postcode coordinates8Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
Yes — migrants can receive medical care in Burwell under the national coverage rules.
Healthcare access follows the country-wide insurance rules; local capacity facts remain city data and are not used as proof of eligibility.
Open the official coverage guideSafety
How safe is Burwell?
Police recorded about 4,614 incidents per 100,000 (2025-26). This counts all offences, so it is not comparable with a violent-crime-only rate from another source. Source: Police force area tables, year ending March 2026, Table C416
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Recorded incidents per 100,000 residents | 4,614 incidents per 100,000 | 31 Dec 2025 | Police force area tables, year ending March 2026, Table C416Official · county |
| Violent crime per 100,000 residents | 1,978 per 100,000 | Apr 2026 | data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary2Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Burglary per 100,000 residents | 338.1 per 100,000 | 30 Apr 2026 | data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary2Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
Mobility and administration
Climate and air quality
Annual PM2.5 was 6.32 µg/m³ in 2025. Annual NO₂ was 5.25 µg/m³ in 2025. Annual PM10 was 12.2 µg/m³ in 2025.
Is the air quality good in Burwell?
The annual PM2.5 mean is about 6.3 µg/m³ (2025) — above the WHO 2021 guideline of 5 µg/m³ but within the EU limit of 25 µg/m³.
Annual mean at the measuring site(s) serving the city; current-day readings differ.
- PM2.5 — annual mean: 6.32 µg/m³ · official estimated total annual mean background concentration13
Within WHO 2021 guidelineAbove WHO, within EU limitAbove EU legal limitCity annual mean · µg/m³
City values from the published air-quality observations. WHO 2021 guidelines and EU limit values are published constants.
Burwell 6.3
Annual PM2.5 (µg/m³)
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| NO₂ — annual mean | 5.25 µg/m³country median 7.2 | 2025 | official estimated total annual mean background concentration11Official |
| PM10 — annual mean | 12.2 µg/m³country median 11.3 | 2025 | official estimated total annual mean background concentration12Official |
| PM2.5 — annual mean | 6.32 µg/m³country median 6.5 | 2025 | official estimated total annual mean background concentration13Official |
| Monthly extreme high temperature | Jan 12.64 · Feb 13.75 · Mar 16.27 · Apr 21.49 · May 22.06 · Jun 25.72 · Jul 25.27 · Aug 26.22 · Sep 23.16 · Oct 23.3 · Nov 17.39 · Dec 12.87 °C | 31 Dec 2001 | NASA POWER / NASA Langley Research Center7Official |
| Monthly extreme low temperature | Jan -3.69 · Feb -3.73 · Mar -2.64 · Apr -1.35 · May 2.57 · Jun 5.87 · Jul 8.13 · Aug 8.33 · Sep 6.47 · Oct 1.26 · Nov -0.62 · Dec -3.74 °C | 31 Dec 2001 | NASA POWER / NASA Langley Research Center7Official |
| Average temperature by month | Jan 4.61 · Feb 4.58 · Mar 5.84 · Apr 8.14 · May 11.08 · Jun 13.97 · Jul 16.13 · Aug 16.27 · Sep 14.23 · Oct 11.39 · Nov 7.87 · Dec 5.36 °C | 31 Dec 2001 | NASA POWER / NASA Langley Research Center7Official |
Population and city profile
The city covered 2.1 km² in December 2022. Population density was 2,774.5 people per km² in 2021.
How many people live in Burwell?
The published population was 5,915 people in March 2021. Source: Census 2021 usual resident population count for the exact Built Up Area (BUA), England excluding London or Wales.6
By nationality
National passport92.7%
Calculated from the population and foreign-resident facts on this page.
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Area | 2.13 km² | Dec 2022 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| City area | 2.13 km² | Dec 2022 | Exact 2022 Built Up Area polygon area for BUA22CD in EPSG:27700, converted from square metres to km2.5Official |
| Foreign residents | 430 people | 21 Mar 2021 | Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts.6Official |
| GP practices per 10,000 residents | 1.69 per 10,000 people | 7 Jul 2026 | NHS ODS GP Practices report + ONSPD Live postcode coordinates8Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Schools per 10,000 residents | 1.69 per 10,000 people | 7 Jul 2026 | DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract4Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Population density | 2,775 people/km² | 21 Mar 2021 | www.ons.gov.uk6Official · built-up-area figure |
| Population | 5,915 people | 21 Mar 2021 | Census 2021 usual resident population count for the exact Built Up Area (BUA), England excluding London or Wales.6Official |
Additional context
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Owner-occupied homes | 76.91 % | 31 Dec 2021 | Office for National Statistics9Official |
| Residents born abroad | 7.3 % | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Median age | 46 years | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Universities | 0 count | 3 Aug 2026 | Office for Students10Official |
Alternatives for people set on Burwell
Nothing here reaches an argued comparison yet: no other published city shares enough metrics with Burwell from the same source, period and grain. What is collected is below.
Alternative cities in United Kingdom
Other cities in United Kingdom to compare with Burwell, nearest in population first.
How does Burwell compare?
Pick a city. The answer appears here and the address bar keeps it, so the comparison can be shared; the page stays Burwell's.
Is Burwell part of Cambridge?
Burwell is in the published commuting zone of Cambridge; this does not mean it is administratively part of the hub. Cambridge city profile
Relationship type: Commuting Zone Of. Source18
Common questions
Answered from the published values on this page, each with its source and date.
How many people live in Burwell?
The published population was 5,915 people in March 2021. Source: Census 2021 usual resident population count for the exact Built Up Area (BUA), England excluding London or Wales..
Is the air quality good in Burwell?
The annual PM2.5 mean is about 6.3 µg/m³ (2025) — above the WHO 2021 guideline of 5 µg/m³ but within the EU limit of 25 µg/m³. Source: official estimated total annual mean background concentration.
How safe is Burwell?
Police recorded about 4,614 incidents per 100,000 (2025-26). This counts all offences, so it is not comparable with a violent-crime-only rate from another source. Source: Police force area tables, year ending March 2026, Table C4.
What is the unemployment rate in Burwell?
The unemployment rate is 3.5 % (January 2023). Source: www.ons.gov.uk.
What is the typical salary around Burwell?
The median gross salary is 3,264 EUR/month. Source: www.ons.gov.uk.
How many foreign residents live in Burwell?
430 residents hold a foreign nationality. Source: Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts..
Is Burwell a good place to live?
Burwell may suit different people for different reasons. The page's profile scores compare published cost, work, housing, safety, healthcare and other available factors; they are a decision aid, not a universal recommendation.
Is Burwell part of Cambridge?
Burwell is in the published commuting zone of Cambridge; this does not mean it is administratively part of the hub.
Cite this page
Open a format to select or copy this ImmigrationDB compilation citation. The native disclosure and text fallback work without JavaScript.
APA citation
ImmigrationDB. (2026, October 16). Burwell, United Kingdom: population, rent, salary, jobs [ImmigrationDB compilation; version 756a14cebaf57d099ab5b31085dadcce]. ImmigrationDB. https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/burwell/ Retrieved 2026-10-16. Compilation license: CC BY 4.0, https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/BibTeX citation
@misc{immigrationdb_immigrationdb_burwell-united-kingdom-population-rent-salary-jobs_022485d14ce4,
author = {ImmigrationDB},
title = {Burwell, United Kingdom: population, rent, salary, jobs},
publisher = {ImmigrationDB},
year = {2026},
date = {2026-10-16},
version = {756a14cebaf57d099ab5b31085dadcce},
url = {https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/burwell/},
note = {Retrieved 2026-10-16. ImmigrationDB compilation. Compilation license: CC BY 4.0, https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/},
}Markdown citation
[Burwell, United Kingdom: population, rent, salary, jobs](https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/burwell/) — ImmigrationDB; ImmigrationDB; version 756a14cebaf57d099ab5b31085dadcce; retrieved 2026-10-16; built 2026-10-16.This citation identifies the ImmigrationDB compilation/page. Underlying source publishers and datasets retain their own terms; inspect the Sources section and cite those records separately. View the underlying source records.
Sources
- BT Full Fibre 150 bt.com · checked 2026-09-15
- data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary data.police.uk · checked 2026-07-07
- Department for Education (GIAS) get-information-schools.service.gov.uk · checked 2026-08-03
- DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract get-information-schools.service.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-07
- Exact 2022 Built Up Area polygon area for BUA22CD in EPSG:27700, converted from square metres to km2. services1.arcgis.com · checked 2026-07-15
- Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts. ons.gov.uk · checked 2021-03-21
- NASA POWER / NASA Langley Research Center power.larc.nasa.gov · checked 2026-08-03
- NHS ODS GP Practices report + ONSPD Live postcode coordinates digital.nhs.uk · checked 2026-07-07
- Office for National Statistics ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-08-08
- Office for Students officeforstudents.org.uk · checked 2026-08-03
Show 11 more sources
- official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
- official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
- official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
- ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-09-24
- OurAirports davidmegginson.github.io · checked 2026-08-03
- Police force area tables, year ending March 2026, Table C4 ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-10-05
- Three 100GB one-month data pack three.co.uk · checked 2026-09-15
- Travel to Work Areas (December 2011) full extent boundaries in the United Kingdom services1.arcgis.com · checked 2026-09-19
- www.ons.gov.uk ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-08-27
- www.ons.gov.uk ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-08-26
- www.ofcom.org.uk ofcom.org.uk · checked 2026-07-15
Spotted a number that looks wrong? Every value here carries its source and date — tell us what you found and we will re-check it against the source.