Living in Chapel-en-le-Frith
In Chapel-en-le-Frith, unemployment is 3.3% (2023).
Chapel-en-le-Frith is a city in the United Kingdom, with a population of 7,240 in March 2021. Population density was 3,178.1 people per km² in 2021. Gigabit broadband availability was 53.6%. Owner occupation accounted for 75.8% of homes in March 2021. The employment rate was 58% in March 2021. Annual NO₂ was 6.4 µg/m³ in 2025. The city covered 2.3 km² in December 2022.
Less recorded crime than 93% of United Kingdom cities that publish it and dirtier air than 69% of United Kingdom cities that publish it.
Which United Kingdom-wide rules apply when you move to Chapel-en-le-Frith?
National rules stay on the country page instead of being relabelled as city data.
Housing and cost
No city-level rent figure is published for Chapel-en-le-Frith. The available city-level cost figures remain below.
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Internet, 60 Mbps unlimited | 24.02 EUR/month | 30 Sept 2026 | BT Full Fibre 1501Official · national market |
| Mobile plan, 10 GB | 12.87 EUR/month | 30 Sept 2026 | Three 100GB one-month data pack18Official · national market |
| Dwellings | 3,175 count | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Average monthly rent (whole dwelling) | 1,095 EUR/month | 31 Aug 2026 | ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price14Official · county |
Is Chapel-en-le-Frith a good place to live?
There is no universal answer. The profile scores below show who the available published evidence may suit; they are a decision aid, not a personal recommendation.
Work and income
What is the unemployment rate in Chapel-en-le-Frith?
The unemployment rate is 3.3 % (January 2023). Source: www.ons.gov.uk21
Chapel-en-le-Frith 3.3%
Unemployment rate (%)
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gigabit broadband availability | 53.64 % | Not stated | www.ofcom.org.uk22Supplemental estimate · Supplemental context |
| Employment rate | 57.97 % | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 towns and cities dataset Figure 9 individual BUA employment row for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley13Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Superfast broadband availability | 99.1 % | Not stated | www.ofcom.org.uk22Supplemental estimate · Supplemental context |
| Median gross salary (regional) | 3,044 EUR/month | 31 Dec 2024 | www.ons.gov.uk20Official |
| Unemployment rate | 3.3 %country median 3.4% | 31 Dec 2023 | www.ons.gov.uk21Official |
What does a salary buy in Chapel-en-le-Frith?
Take-home pay after tax, minus rent and the everyday bills this city publishes. Each line names its source.
RentInternetMobileLeft over
Line-by-line breakdown and sources
| Each month | € |
|---|---|
| Take-home payOECD Taxing Wages 2025, single, no children. Includes central and local income tax and employee social contributions; euro amounts at the ECB average for 2026-08. | €2,531 |
| Rentaverage rent of a whole dwelling · official · ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price · 2026-08-31 | − €1,095 |
| Internet€24 · official · BT Full Fibre 150 · 2026-09-30 | − €24 |
| Mobile plan€13 · official · Three 100GB one-month data pack · 2026-09-30 | − €13 |
| Other everyday billsnot published for this city: public transport pass, utilities | — |
| Left overbefore the bills this city does not publish | €1,400 |
Public employment service
No exact public employment office is currently linked to Chapel-en-le-Frith. The verified national service may still offer online registration, job search or an official office finder.
Jobcentre Plus — Public employment service
Country-level service information is not treated as proof of a physical office in Chapel-en-le-Frith. Sources checked through 10 Aug 2026.
Family and education
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Schools | 2 count | 7 Jul 2026 | DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract4Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Primary schools | 2 count | 3 Aug 2026 | Department for Education (GIAS)3Official |
| Schools | 3 count | 3 Aug 2026 | Department for Education (GIAS)3Official |
School for children who move here. School is compulsory from age 5 to 16, and public school is free.
A country-wide rule for United Kingdom; Chapel-en-le-Frith's school authority applies it locally.
Sources: legislation.gov.uk · 1996–2026.
Healthcare
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| GP practices | 1 count | 7 Jul 2026 | NHS ODS GP Practices report + ONSPD Live postcode coordinates8Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
Yes — migrants can receive medical care in Chapel-en-le-Frith under the national coverage rules.
Healthcare access follows the country-wide insurance rules; local capacity facts remain city data and are not used as proof of eligibility.
Open the official coverage guideSafety
How safe is Chapel-en-le-Frith?
Police recorded about 5,914 incidents per 100,000 (2025-26). This counts all offences, so it is not comparable with a violent-crime-only rate from another source. Source: Police force area tables, year ending March 2026, Table C417
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Recorded incidents per 100,000 residents | 5,914 incidents per 100,000 | 31 Dec 2025 | Police force area tables, year ending March 2026, Table C417Official · county |
| Violent crime per 100,000 residents | 2,983 per 100,000 | Apr 2026 | data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary2Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Burglary per 100,000 residents | 193.4 per 100,000 | 30 Apr 2026 | data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary2Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
Mobility and administration
Climate and air quality
Annual PM2.5 was 6.81 µg/m³ in 2025. Annual PM10 was 10.2 µg/m³ in 2025.
Is the air quality good in Chapel-en-le-Frith?
The annual PM2.5 mean is about 6.8 µg/m³ (2025) — above the WHO 2021 guideline of 5 µg/m³ but within the EU limit of 25 µg/m³.
Annual mean at the measuring site(s) serving the city; current-day readings differ.
- PM2.5 — annual mean: 6.81 µg/m³ · official estimated total annual mean background concentration12
Within WHO 2021 guidelineAbove WHO, within EU limitAbove EU legal limitCity annual mean · µg/m³
City values from the published air-quality observations. WHO 2021 guidelines and EU limit values are published constants.
Chapel-en-le-Frith 6.8
Annual PM2.5 (µg/m³)
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| NO₂ — annual mean | 6.4 µg/m³country median 7.2 | 2025 | official estimated total annual mean background concentration10Official |
| PM10 — annual mean | 10.22 µg/m³country median 11.3 | 2025 | official estimated total annual mean background concentration11Official |
| PM2.5 — annual mean | 6.81 µg/m³country median 6.5 | 2025 | official estimated total annual mean background concentration12Official |
| Monthly extreme high temperature | Jan 12.43 · Feb 15.6 · Mar 18.09 · Apr 21.75 · May 24.5 · Jun 26.33 · Jul 29.73 · Aug 27.76 · Sep 25.31 · Oct 23.98 · Nov 16.95 · Dec 12.85 °C | 31 Dec 2001 | NASA POWER / NASA Langley Research Center7Official |
| Monthly extreme low temperature | Jan -7.03 · Feb -8.37 · Mar -6.49 · Apr -3.63 · May -1.48 · Jun 2.39 · Jul 5.25 · Aug 4.6 · Sep 2.11 · Oct -2.66 · Nov -4.06 · Dec -7.92 °C | 31 Dec 2001 | NASA POWER / NASA Langley Research Center7Official |
| Average temperature by month | Jan 3.04 · Feb 3.11 · Mar 4.7 · Apr 7.4 · May 10.54 · Jun 13.58 · Jul 15.26 · Aug 14.91 · Sep 12.59 · Oct 9.47 · Nov 5.93 · Dec 3.65 °C | 31 Dec 2001 | NASA POWER / NASA Langley Research Center7Official |
Annual PM2.5 fell 47.7% between 2013 and 2025, from 13.0 to 6.8.
Population and city profile
How many people live in Chapel-en-le-Frith?
The published population was 7,240 people in March 2021. Source: Census 2021 usual resident population count for the exact Built Up Area (BUA), England excluding London or Wales.6
By nationality
National passport96.2%
Calculated from the population and foreign-resident facts on this page.
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Area | 2.28 km² | Dec 2022 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| City area | 2.28 km² | Dec 2022 | Exact 2022 Built Up Area polygon area for BUA22CD in EPSG:27700, converted from square metres to km2.5Official |
| Foreign residents | 275 people | 21 Mar 2021 | Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts.6Official |
| GP practices per 10,000 residents | 1.38 per 10,000 people | 7 Jul 2026 | NHS ODS GP Practices report + ONSPD Live postcode coordinates8Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Schools per 10,000 residents | 2.76 per 10,000 people | 7 Jul 2026 | DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract4Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Population density | 3,178 people/km² | 21 Mar 2021 | www.ons.gov.uk6Official · built-up-area figure |
| Population | 7,240 people | 21 Mar 2021 | Census 2021 usual resident population count for the exact Built Up Area (BUA), England excluding London or Wales.6Official |
Additional context
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Owner-occupied homes | 75.75 % | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Residents born abroad | 3.8 % | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Median age | 45 years | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Universities | 0 count | 3 Aug 2026 | Office for Students9Official |
Alternatives for people set on Chapel-en-le-Frith
Three places for the three reasons people leave a city on the shortlist: stay in the region, stay in the country, or keep the budget and change the country. A percentage appears only where both cities publish that metric from the same source, period and grain. Distances are straight lines — travel times are not collected yet.
Buxton as a Chapel-en-le-Frith alternative in the same region
Better on 1 of 5 metrics measured the same way, worse on 0.
- Residents: 20,050 Buxton vs 7,240 Chapel-en-le-Frith+177%
- Annual PM2.5: 6.1 µg/m³ Buxton vs 6.8 µg/m³ Chapel-en-le-Frith−10%
- Recorded crime, per 100k: 5,914 Buxton vs 5,914 Chapel-en-le-Frithsame level
- Median gross pay, region: €3,044 Buxton vs €3,044 Chapel-en-le-Frithsame level
- Unemployment: 3.3% Buxton vs 3.3% Chapel-en-le-Frithsame level
Alternative cities in United Kingdom
Other cities in United Kingdom to compare with Chapel-en-le-Frith, nearest in population first.
How does Chapel-en-le-Frith compare?
Pick a city. The answer appears here and the address bar keeps it, so the comparison can be shared; the page stays Chapel-en-le-Frith's.
Is Chapel-en-le-Frith part of Buxton?
Chapel-en-le-Frith is in the published commuting zone of Buxton; this does not mean it is administratively part of the hub. Buxton city profile
Relationship type: Commuting Zone Of. Source19
Common questions
Answered from the published values on this page, each with its source and date.
How many people live in Chapel-en-le-Frith?
The published population was 7,240 people in March 2021. Source: Census 2021 usual resident population count for the exact Built Up Area (BUA), England excluding London or Wales..
Is the air quality good in Chapel-en-le-Frith?
The annual PM2.5 mean is about 6.8 µg/m³ (2025) — above the WHO 2021 guideline of 5 µg/m³ but within the EU limit of 25 µg/m³. Source: official estimated total annual mean background concentration.
How safe is Chapel-en-le-Frith?
Police recorded about 5,914 incidents per 100,000 (2025-26). This counts all offences, so it is not comparable with a violent-crime-only rate from another source. Source: Police force area tables, year ending March 2026, Table C4.
What is the unemployment rate in Chapel-en-le-Frith?
The unemployment rate is 3.3 % (January 2023). Source: www.ons.gov.uk.
What is the typical salary around Chapel-en-le-Frith?
The median gross salary is 3,044 EUR/month. Source: www.ons.gov.uk.
How many foreign residents live in Chapel-en-le-Frith?
275 residents hold a foreign nationality. Source: Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts..
Is Chapel-en-le-Frith a good place to live?
Chapel-en-le-Frith may suit different people for different reasons. The page's profile scores compare published cost, work, housing, safety, healthcare and other available factors; they are a decision aid, not a universal recommendation.
Is Chapel-en-le-Frith part of Buxton?
Chapel-en-le-Frith is in the published commuting zone of Buxton; this does not mean it is administratively part of the hub.
Cite this page
Open a format to select or copy this ImmigrationDB compilation citation. The native disclosure and text fallback work without JavaScript.
APA citation
ImmigrationDB. (2026, October 16). Chapel-en-le-Frith, United Kingdom: population, rent, salary [ImmigrationDB compilation; version 343055009e2a04b53abb281eeca984ac]. ImmigrationDB. https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/chapel-en-le-frith/ Retrieved 2026-10-16. Compilation license: CC BY 4.0, https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/BibTeX citation
@misc{immigrationdb_immigrationdb_chapel-en-le-frith-united-kingdom-population-rent-salary_0b302efdedab,
author = {ImmigrationDB},
title = {Chapel-en-le-Frith, United Kingdom: population, rent, salary},
publisher = {ImmigrationDB},
year = {2026},
date = {2026-10-16},
version = {343055009e2a04b53abb281eeca984ac},
url = {https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/chapel-en-le-frith/},
note = {Retrieved 2026-10-16. ImmigrationDB compilation. Compilation license: CC BY 4.0, https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/},
}Markdown citation
[Chapel-en-le-Frith, United Kingdom: population, rent, salary](https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/chapel-en-le-frith/) — ImmigrationDB; ImmigrationDB; version 343055009e2a04b53abb281eeca984ac; retrieved 2026-10-16; built 2026-10-16.This citation identifies the ImmigrationDB compilation/page. Underlying source publishers and datasets retain their own terms; inspect the Sources section and cite those records separately. View the underlying source records.
Sources
- BT Full Fibre 150 bt.com · checked 2026-09-15
- data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary data.police.uk · checked 2026-07-07
- Department for Education (GIAS) get-information-schools.service.gov.uk · checked 2026-08-03
- DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract get-information-schools.service.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-07
- Exact 2022 Built Up Area polygon area for BUA22CD in EPSG:27700, converted from square metres to km2. services1.arcgis.com · checked 2026-07-15
- Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts. ons.gov.uk · checked 2021-03-21
- NASA POWER / NASA Langley Research Center power.larc.nasa.gov · checked 2026-08-03
- NHS ODS GP Practices report + ONSPD Live postcode coordinates digital.nhs.uk · checked 2026-07-07
- Office for Students officeforstudents.org.uk · checked 2026-08-03
- official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
Show 12 more sources
- official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
- official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
- ONS Census 2021 towns and cities dataset Figure 9 individual BUA employment row for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-05
- ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-09-24
- OpenFlights raw.githubusercontent.com · checked 2026-08-03
- OurAirports davidmegginson.github.io · checked 2026-08-03
- Police force area tables, year ending March 2026, Table C4 ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-10-05
- Three 100GB one-month data pack three.co.uk · checked 2026-09-15
- Travel to Work Areas (December 2011) full extent boundaries in the United Kingdom services1.arcgis.com · checked 2026-09-19
- www.ons.gov.uk ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-08-27
- www.ons.gov.uk ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-08-26
- www.ofcom.org.uk ofcom.org.uk · checked 2026-07-15
Spotted a number that looks wrong? Every value here carries its source and date — tell us what you found and we will re-check it against the source.