On this page

Living in Crawcrook and Greenside

In Crawcrook and Greenside, unemployment is 3.7% (2023).

The employment rate was 57.8% in March 2021. For Crawcrook and Greenside, the foreign population count was 175 in March 2021. Its population was 7,545 in March 2021. The city covered 1.6 km² in December 2022. Population density was 4,815.2 people per km² in 2021.

Last checked 2026-10-0716 sources

Population7,545people21 Mar 2021Official source · Census 2021 usual resident population count for the exact Built Up Area (BUA), England excluding London or Wales.
Median gross salary (region)2,881EUR/month31 Dec 2024Official source · www.ons.gov.uk
Average rent939.2EUR/month31 Aug 2026District figureOfficial source · ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price
Unemployment rate3.7%country median 3.4% — 9% aboveOfficial source · www.ons.gov.uk
Recorded crime8,777incidents per 100,00031 Dec 2025District figureOfficial source · Police force area tables, year ending March 2026, Table C4
PM2.5, annual mean5.24µg/m³country median 6.5 — 19% belowOfficial source · official estimated total annual mean background concentration

Less recorded crime than 69% of United Kingdom cities that publish it and cleaner air than 94% of United Kingdom cities that publish it.

Which United Kingdom-wide rules apply when you move to Crawcrook and Greenside?

National rules stay on the country page instead of being relabelled as city data.

Housing and cost

Owner occupation accounted for 75.7% of homes in March 2021.

No city-level rent figure is published for Crawcrook and Greenside. The available city-level cost figures remain below.

What recurs every month2 published recurring costs, € per month
Crawcrook and Greenside recurring monthly costs, € per month

€ / month

Internet, 60 Mbps€24
Mobile plan, 10 GB€13
MetricValuePeriodSource
Internet, 60 Mbps unlimited24.02 EUR/month30 Sept 2026BT Full Fibre 1501Official · national market
Mobile plan, 10 GB12.87 EUR/month30 Sept 2026Three 100GB one-month data pack13Official · national market
Dwellings3,430 count21 Mar 2021ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley5Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure
Average monthly rent (whole dwelling)939.2 EUR/month31 Aug 2026ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price11Official · county

Is Crawcrook and Greenside a good place to live?

There is no universal answer. The profile scores below show who the available published evidence may suit; they are a decision aid, not a personal recommendation.

Try your profile
Remote worker55%strong on work, weak on safety · range 44–66%
Skilled employee61%strong on work, weak on education · range 50–72%
Student35%strong on legal route, weak on education · range 23–47%
Family57%strong on family, weak on education · range 45–69%
Retirement59%strong on air quality, weak on admin · range 46–72%

Work and income

What is the unemployment rate in Crawcrook and Greenside?

The unemployment rate is 3.7 % (January 2023). Source: www.ons.gov.uk15

Unemployment across cities in United KingdomUnemployment in Crawcrook and Greenside is 3.7%. Of 999 cities with data, 652 have unemployment of 2 to under 4%.

Unemployment rate (%)

MetricValuePeriodSource
Gigabit broadband availability89.29 %Not statedwww.ofcom.org.uk16Supplemental estimate · Supplemental context
Employment rate57.85 %21 Mar 2021ONS Census 2021 towns and cities dataset Figure 9 individual BUA employment row for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley10Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure
Superfast broadband availability98.85 %Not statedwww.ofcom.org.uk16Supplemental estimate · Supplemental context
Median gross salary (regional)2,881 EUR/month31 Dec 2024www.ons.gov.uk14Official
Unemployment rate3.7 %country median 3.4%31 Dec 2023www.ons.gov.uk15Official

What does a salary buy in Crawcrook and Greenside?

Take-home pay after tax, minus rent and the everyday bills this city publishes. Each line names its source.

regional median gross pay: €2,881 (ons.gov.uk, 2024-12-31).
Left over each month€1,440of €2,416 take-home
  • Rent
  • Internet
  • Mobile
  • Left over
Line-by-line breakdown and sources
Each month€
Take-home payOECD Taxing Wages 2025, single, no children. Includes central and local income tax and employee social contributions; euro amounts at the ECB average for 2026-08.€2,416
Rentaverage rent of a whole dwelling · official · ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price · 2026-08-31− €939
Internet€24 · official · BT Full Fibre 150 · 2026-09-30− €24
Mobile plan€13 · official · Three 100GB one-month data pack · 2026-09-30− €13
Other everyday billsnot published for this city: public transport pass, utilities—
Left overbefore the bills this city does not publish€1,440
Take-home pay for other salaries and households Compare with another city Check a job offer in Crawcrook and Greenside Salary needed to live in Crawcrook and Greenside

Public employment service

No exact public employment office is currently linked to Crawcrook and Greenside. The verified national service may still offer online registration, job search or an official office finder.

Country-level information

Jobcentre Plus — Public employment service

Department for Work and Pensions

Job SearchUnemployment Claim

Country-level service information is not treated as proof of a physical office in Crawcrook and Greenside. Sources checked through 10 Aug 2026.

Family and education

MetricValuePeriodSource
Schools3 count7 Jul 2026DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract3Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure

School for children who move here. School is compulsory from age 5 to 16, and public school is free.

A country-wide rule for United Kingdom; Crawcrook and Greenside's school authority applies it locally.

Sources: legislation.gov.uk · 1996–2026.

Healthcare

MetricValuePeriodSource
GP practices1 count7 Jul 2026NHS ODS GP Practices report + ONSPD Live postcode coordinates6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure

Yes — migrants can receive medical care in Crawcrook and Greenside under the national coverage rules.

Healthcare access follows the country-wide insurance rules; local capacity facts remain city data and are not used as proof of eligibility.

Open the official coverage guide
Country rule verified 2026-08-03.

Safety

How safe is Crawcrook and Greenside?

Police recorded about 8,777 incidents per 100,000 (2025-26). This counts all offences, so it is not comparable with a violent-crime-only rate from another source. Source: Police force area tables, year ending March 2026, Table C412

Recorded crime across major citiesCrawcrook and Greenside highlighted among comparable cities
Recorded crime across major cities with Crawcrook and Greenside highlighted

recorded incidents per 100k residents

Manchester14,267
Bristol13,099
Liverpool12,409
Leeds11,462
Birmingham11,416
Leicester11,001
Sheffield9,693
Cardiff9,379
Belfast9,156
Coventry8,836
Glasgow757
Edinburgh549
MetricValuePeriodSource
Recorded incidents per 100,000 residents8,777 incidents per 100,00031 Dec 2025Police force area tables, year ending March 2026, Table C412Official · county
Violent crime per 100,000 residents1,604 per 100,000Apr 2026data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary2Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure
Burglary per 100,000 residents198.8 per 100,00030 Apr 2026data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary2Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure

Climate and air quality

Annual PM2.5 was 5.24 µg/m³ in 2025. Annual NO₂ was 5.26 µg/m³ in 2025.

Is the air quality good in Crawcrook and Greenside?

The annual PM2.5 mean is about 5.2 µg/m³ (2025) — above the WHO 2021 guideline of 5 µg/m³ but within the EU limit of 25 µg/m³.

Annual mean at the measuring site(s) serving the city; current-day readings differ.

  • PM2.5 — annual mean: 5.24 µg/m³ · official estimated total annual mean background concentration9
Air quality vs health guidelinesAnnual means against WHO 2021 guidelines and EU legal limits

City values from the published air-quality observations. WHO 2021 guidelines and EU limit values are published constants.

PM2.5 across cities in United KingdomAnnual PM2.5 in Crawcrook and Greenside is 5.2 µg/m³. Of 941 cities with data, 487 have annual PM2.5 of 6 to under 7 µg/m³.

Annual PM2.5 (µg/m³)

MetricValuePeriodSource
NO₂ — annual mean5.26 µg/m³country median 7.22025official estimated total annual mean background concentration7Official
PM10 — annual mean9.07 µg/m³country median 11.32025official estimated total annual mean background concentration8Official
PM2.5 — annual mean5.24 µg/m³country median 6.52025official estimated total annual mean background concentration9Official

Population and city profile

How many people live in Crawcrook and Greenside?

The published population was 7,545 people in March 2021. Source: Census 2021 usual resident population count for the exact Built Up Area (BUA), England excluding London or Wales.5

Who lives hereResidents by nationality, % of population

Calculated from the population and foreign-resident facts on this page.

MetricValuePeriodSource
Area1.57 km²Dec 2022ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley5Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure
City area1.57 km²Dec 2022Exact 2022 Built Up Area polygon area for BUA22CD in EPSG:27700, converted from square metres to km2.4Official
Foreign residents175 people21 Mar 2021Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts.5Official
GP practices per 10,000 residents1.33 per 10,000 people7 Jul 2026NHS ODS GP Practices report + ONSPD Live postcode coordinates6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure
Schools per 10,000 residents3.98 per 10,000 people7 Jul 2026DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract3Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure
Population density4,815 people/km²21 Mar 2021www.ons.gov.uk5Official · built-up-area figure
Population7,545 people21 Mar 2021Census 2021 usual resident population count for the exact Built Up Area (BUA), England excluding London or Wales.5Official

Additional context

MetricValuePeriodSource
Owner-occupied homes75.66 %21 Mar 2021ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley5Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure
Residents born abroad2.3 %21 Mar 2021ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley5Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure
Median age45 years21 Mar 2021ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley5Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure

Alternatives for people set on Crawcrook and Greenside

Nothing here reaches an argued comparison yet: no other published city shares enough metrics with Crawcrook and Greenside from the same source, period and grain. What is collected is below.

Alternative cities in United Kingdom

Other cities in United Kingdom to compare with Crawcrook and Greenside, nearest in population first.

All United Kingdom cities

How does Crawcrook and Greenside compare?

Pick a city. The answer appears here and the address bar keeps it, so the comparison can be shared; the page stays Crawcrook and Greenside's.

Common questions

Answered from the published values on this page, each with its source and date.

How many people live in Crawcrook and Greenside?

The published population was 7,545 people in March 2021. Source: Census 2021 usual resident population count for the exact Built Up Area (BUA), England excluding London or Wales..

Is the air quality good in Crawcrook and Greenside?

The annual PM2.5 mean is about 5.2 µg/m³ (2025) — above the WHO 2021 guideline of 5 µg/m³ but within the EU limit of 25 µg/m³. Source: official estimated total annual mean background concentration.

How safe is Crawcrook and Greenside?

Police recorded about 8,777 incidents per 100,000 (2025-26). This counts all offences, so it is not comparable with a violent-crime-only rate from another source. Source: Police force area tables, year ending March 2026, Table C4.

What is the unemployment rate in Crawcrook and Greenside?

The unemployment rate is 3.7 % (January 2023). Source: www.ons.gov.uk.

What is the typical salary around Crawcrook and Greenside?

The median gross salary is 2,881 EUR/month. Source: www.ons.gov.uk.

How many foreign residents live in Crawcrook and Greenside?

175 residents hold a foreign nationality. Source: Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts..

Is Crawcrook and Greenside a good place to live?

Crawcrook and Greenside may suit different people for different reasons. The page's profile scores compare published cost, work, housing, safety, healthcare and other available factors; they are a decision aid, not a universal recommendation.

Cite this page

Open a format to select or copy this ImmigrationDB compilation citation. The native disclosure and text fallback work without JavaScript.

APA citation
ImmigrationDB. (2026, October 16). Crawcrook and Greenside, United Kingdom: population, rent [ImmigrationDB compilation; version 0d458141347dfb52b30f08f8b2be79c7]. ImmigrationDB. https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/crawcrook-and-greenside/ Retrieved 2026-10-16. Compilation license: CC BY 4.0, https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/
BibTeX citation
@misc{immigrationdb_immigrationdb_crawcrook-and-greenside-united-kingdom-population-rent_73141eaa876e,
  author = {ImmigrationDB},
  title = {Crawcrook and Greenside, United Kingdom: population, rent},
  publisher = {ImmigrationDB},
  year = {2026},
  date = {2026-10-16},
  version = {0d458141347dfb52b30f08f8b2be79c7},
  url = {https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/crawcrook-and-greenside/},
  note = {Retrieved 2026-10-16. ImmigrationDB compilation. Compilation license: CC BY 4.0, https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/},
}
Markdown citation
[Crawcrook and Greenside, United Kingdom: population, rent](https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/crawcrook-and-greenside/) — ImmigrationDB; ImmigrationDB; version 0d458141347dfb52b30f08f8b2be79c7; retrieved 2026-10-16; built 2026-10-16.

This citation identifies the ImmigrationDB compilation/page. Underlying source publishers and datasets retain their own terms; inspect the Sources section and cite those records separately. View the underlying source records.

Sources

JSON Markdown
  1. BT Full Fibre 150 bt.com · checked 2026-09-15
  2. data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary data.police.uk · checked 2026-07-07
  3. DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract get-information-schools.service.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-07
  4. Exact 2022 Built Up Area polygon area for BUA22CD in EPSG:27700, converted from square metres to km2. services1.arcgis.com · checked 2026-07-15
  5. Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts. ons.gov.uk · checked 2021-03-21
  6. NHS ODS GP Practices report + ONSPD Live postcode coordinates digital.nhs.uk · checked 2026-07-07
  7. official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
  8. official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
  9. official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
  10. ONS Census 2021 towns and cities dataset Figure 9 individual BUA employment row for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-05
Show 6 more sources
  1. ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-09-24
  2. Police force area tables, year ending March 2026, Table C4 ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-10-05
  3. Three 100GB one-month data pack three.co.uk · checked 2026-09-15
  4. www.ons.gov.uk ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-08-27
  5. www.ons.gov.uk ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-08-26
  6. www.ofcom.org.uk ofcom.org.uk · checked 2026-07-15

Spotted a number that looks wrong? Every value here carries its source and date — tell us what you found and we will re-check it against the source.