Living in Dalton-in-Furness
In Dalton-in-Furness, unemployment is 1.5% (2023).
Dalton-in-Furness had 7,555 residents in March 2021 and is a city in the United Kingdom. Population density was 4,458.8 people per km² in 2021. The employment rate was 59.2% in March 2021. Owner occupation accounted for 77.3% of homes in March 2021. In March 2021, the foreign population was 190. The city covered 1.7 km² in December 2022.
Lower unemployment than any other United Kingdom city that publishes it and cleaner air than 92% of United Kingdom cities that publish it.
Which United Kingdom-wide rules apply when you move to Dalton-in-Furness?
National rules stay on the country page instead of being relabelled as city data.
Housing and cost
No city-level rent figure is published for Dalton-in-Furness. The available city-level cost figures remain below.
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Internet, 60 Mbps unlimited | 24.02 EUR/month | 30 Sept 2026 | BT Full Fibre 1501Official · national market |
| Mobile plan, 10 GB | 12.87 EUR/month | 30 Sept 2026 | Three 100GB one-month data pack16Official · national market |
| Dwellings | 3,505 count | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Average monthly rent (whole dwelling) | 953.2 EUR/month | 31 Aug 2026 | ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price13Official · county |
Is Dalton-in-Furness a good place to live?
There is no universal answer. The profile scores below show who the available published evidence may suit; they are a decision aid, not a personal recommendation.
Work and income
What is the unemployment rate in Dalton-in-Furness?
The unemployment rate is 1.5 % (January 2023). Source: www.ons.gov.uk20
Dalton-in-Furness 1.5%
Unemployment rate (%)
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gigabit broadband availability | 98.33 % | Not stated | www.ofcom.org.uk21Supplemental estimate · Supplemental context |
| Employment rate | 59.18 % | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 towns and cities dataset Figure 9 individual BUA employment row for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley12Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Superfast broadband availability | 99.45 % | Not stated | www.ofcom.org.uk21Supplemental estimate · Supplemental context |
| Median gross salary (regional) | 3,213 EUR/month | 31 Dec 2024 | www.ons.gov.uk19Official |
| Unemployment rate | 1.5 %country median 3.4% | 31 Dec 2023 | www.ons.gov.uk20Official |
What does a salary buy in Dalton-in-Furness?
Take-home pay after tax, minus rent and the everyday bills this city publishes. Each line names its source.
RentInternetMobileLeft over
Line-by-line breakdown and sources
| Each month | € |
|---|---|
| Take-home payOECD Taxing Wages 2025, single, no children. Includes central and local income tax and employee social contributions; euro amounts at the ECB average for 2026-08. | €2,654 |
| Rentaverage rent of a whole dwelling · official · ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price · 2026-08-31 | − €953 |
| Internet€24 · official · BT Full Fibre 150 · 2026-09-30 | − €24 |
| Mobile plan€13 · official · Three 100GB one-month data pack · 2026-09-30 | − €13 |
| Other everyday billsnot published for this city: public transport pass, utilities | — |
| Left overbefore the bills this city does not publish | €1,664 |
Public employment service
No exact public employment office is currently linked to Dalton-in-Furness. The verified national service may still offer online registration, job search or an official office finder.
Jobcentre Plus — Public employment service
Country-level service information is not treated as proof of a physical office in Dalton-in-Furness. Sources checked through 10 Aug 2026.
Family and education
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Schools | 5 count | 7 Jul 2026 | DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract4Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Primary schools | 4 count | 3 Aug 2026 | Department for Education (GIAS)3Official |
| Schools | 5 count | 3 Aug 2026 | Department for Education (GIAS)3Official |
School for children who move here. School is compulsory from age 5 to 16, and public school is free.
A country-wide rule for United Kingdom; Dalton-in-Furness's school authority applies it locally.
Sources: legislation.gov.uk · 1996–2026.
Healthcare
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| GP practices | 1 count | 7 Jul 2026 | NHS ODS GP Practices report + ONSPD Live postcode coordinates7Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
Yes — migrants can receive medical care in Dalton-in-Furness under the national coverage rules.
Healthcare access follows the country-wide insurance rules; local capacity facts remain city data and are not used as proof of eligibility.
Open the official coverage guideSafety
How safe is Dalton-in-Furness?
Police recorded about 9,228 incidents per 100,000 (2025-26). This counts all offences, so it is not comparable with a violent-crime-only rate from another source. Source: Police force area tables, year ending March 2026, Table C415
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Recorded incidents per 100,000 residents | 9,228 incidents per 100,000 | 31 Dec 2025 | Police force area tables, year ending March 2026, Table C415Official · county |
| Violent crime per 100,000 residents | 2,568 per 100,000 | Apr 2026 | data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary2Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Burglary per 100,000 residents | 172.1 per 100,000 | 30 Apr 2026 | data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary2Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
Mobility and administration
Climate and air quality
Annual PM2.5 was 5.34 µg/m³ in 2025. Annual NO₂ was 3.92 µg/m³ in 2025. Annual PM10 was 10.2 µg/m³ in 2025.
Is the air quality good in Dalton-in-Furness?
The annual PM2.5 mean is about 5.3 µg/m³ (2025) — above the WHO 2021 guideline of 5 µg/m³ but within the EU limit of 25 µg/m³.
Annual mean at the measuring site(s) serving the city; current-day readings differ.
- PM2.5 — annual mean: 5.34 µg/m³ · official estimated total annual mean background concentration11
Night-time low to daytime high
mm
Within WHO 2021 guidelineAbove WHO, within EU limitAbove EU legal limitCity annual mean · µg/m³
City values from the published air-quality observations. WHO 2021 guidelines and EU limit values are published constants.
Dalton-in-Furness 5.3
Annual PM2.5 (µg/m³)
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| NO₂ — annual mean | 3.92 µg/m³country median 7.2 | 2025 | official estimated total annual mean background concentration9Official |
| PM10 — annual mean | 10.16 µg/m³country median 11.3 | 2025 | official estimated total annual mean background concentration10Official |
| PM2.5 — annual mean | 5.34 µg/m³country median 6.5 | 2025 | official estimated total annual mean background concentration11Official |
| Average daytime high by month | Jan 7.1 · Feb 7.5 · Mar 9.3 · Apr 12.1 · May 15 · Jun 17.2 · Jul 18.9 · Aug 18.8 · Sep 17 · Oct 13.8 · Nov 10.3 · Dec 7.9 °C | 1991–2020 | WMO Climatological Normals 1991-2020 — station WalneyIsland_03214.csv18Official · nearest-station reading |
| Average night-time low by month | Jan 3 · Feb 2.9 · Mar 3.9 · Apr 5.8 · May 8.4 · Jun 11.2 · Jul 13.1 · Aug 13.2 · Sep 11.3 · Oct 8.7 · Nov 5.9 · Dec 3.5 °C | 1991–2020 | WMO Climatological Normals 1991-2020 — station WalneyIsland_03214.csv18Official · nearest-station reading |
| Average temperature by month | Jan 5 · Feb 5.2 · Mar 6.6 · Apr 8.9 · May 11.7 · Jun 14.2 · Jul 16 · Aug 16 · Sep 14.2 · Oct 11.2 · Nov 8.1 · Dec 5.7 °C | 1991–2020 | WMO Climatological Normals 1991-2020 — station WalneyIsland_03214.csv18Official · nearest-station reading |
| Average precipitation by month | Jan 91.2 · Feb 75.6 · Mar 73.2 · Apr 54.2 · May 57.4 · Jun 68.2 · Jul 79.3 · Aug 89.9 · Sep 94.2 · Oct 117.8 · Nov 112.6 · Dec 113.3 mm | 1991–2020 | WMO Climatological Normals 1991-2020 — station WalneyIsland_03214.csv18Official · nearest-station reading |
Population and city profile
How many people live in Dalton-in-Furness?
The published population was 7,555 people in March 2021. Source: Census 2021 usual resident population count for the exact Built Up Area (BUA), England excluding London or Wales.6
By nationality
National passport97.5%
Calculated from the population and foreign-resident facts on this page.
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Area | 1.69 km² | Dec 2022 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| City area | 1.69 km² | Dec 2022 | Exact 2022 Built Up Area polygon area for BUA22CD in EPSG:27700, converted from square metres to km2.5Official |
| Foreign residents | 190 people | 21 Mar 2021 | Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts.6Official |
| GP practices per 10,000 residents | 1.32 per 10,000 people | 7 Jul 2026 | NHS ODS GP Practices report + ONSPD Live postcode coordinates7Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Schools per 10,000 residents | 6.62 per 10,000 people | 7 Jul 2026 | DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract4Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Population density | 4,459 people/km² | 21 Mar 2021 | www.ons.gov.uk6Official · built-up-area figure |
| Population | 7,555 people | 21 Mar 2021 | Census 2021 usual resident population count for the exact Built Up Area (BUA), England excluding London or Wales.6Official |
Additional context
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Owner-occupied homes | 77.32 % | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Residents born abroad | 2.5 % | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Median age | 45 years | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Universities | 0 count | 3 Aug 2026 | Office for Students8Official |
Alternatives for people set on Dalton-in-Furness
Three places for the three reasons people leave a city on the shortlist: stay in the region, stay in the country, or keep the budget and change the country. A percentage appears only where both cities publish that metric from the same source, period and grain. Distances are straight lines — travel times are not collected yet.
Barrow in Furness as a Dalton-in-Furness alternative in the same region
Better on 1 of 3 metrics measured the same way, worse on 0.
- Recorded crime, per 100k: 5,284 Barrow in Furness vs 9,228 Dalton-in-Furness−43%
- Median gross pay, region: €3,213 Barrow in Furness vs €3,213 Dalton-in-Furnesssame level
- Unemployment: 1.5% Barrow in Furness vs 1.5% Dalton-in-Furnesssame level
Alternative cities in United Kingdom
Other cities in United Kingdom to compare with Dalton-in-Furness, nearest in population first.
How does Dalton-in-Furness compare?
Pick a city. The answer appears here and the address bar keeps it, so the comparison can be shared; the page stays Dalton-in-Furness's.
Is Dalton-in-Furness part of Barrow in Furness?
Dalton-in-Furness is in the published commuting zone of Barrow in Furness; this does not mean it is administratively part of the hub. Barrow in Furness city profile
Relationship type: Commuting Zone Of. Source17
Common questions
Answered from the published values on this page, each with its source and date.
How many people live in Dalton-in-Furness?
The published population was 7,555 people in March 2021. Source: Census 2021 usual resident population count for the exact Built Up Area (BUA), England excluding London or Wales..
Is the air quality good in Dalton-in-Furness?
The annual PM2.5 mean is about 5.3 µg/m³ (2025) — above the WHO 2021 guideline of 5 µg/m³ but within the EU limit of 25 µg/m³. Source: official estimated total annual mean background concentration.
How safe is Dalton-in-Furness?
Police recorded about 9,228 incidents per 100,000 (2025-26). This counts all offences, so it is not comparable with a violent-crime-only rate from another source. Source: Police force area tables, year ending March 2026, Table C4.
What is the unemployment rate in Dalton-in-Furness?
The unemployment rate is 1.5 % (January 2023). Source: www.ons.gov.uk.
What is the typical salary around Dalton-in-Furness?
The median gross salary is 3,213 EUR/month. Source: www.ons.gov.uk.
How many foreign residents live in Dalton-in-Furness?
190 residents hold a foreign nationality. Source: Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts..
Is Dalton-in-Furness a good place to live?
Dalton-in-Furness may suit different people for different reasons. The page's profile scores compare published cost, work, housing, safety, healthcare and other available factors; they are a decision aid, not a universal recommendation.
Is Dalton-in-Furness part of Barrow in Furness?
Dalton-in-Furness is in the published commuting zone of Barrow in Furness; this does not mean it is administratively part of the hub.
Cite this page
Open a format to select or copy this ImmigrationDB compilation citation. The native disclosure and text fallback work without JavaScript.
APA citation
ImmigrationDB. (2026, October 16). Dalton-in-Furness, United Kingdom: population, rent, salary [ImmigrationDB compilation; version 03b8263f67a73d2ebdc5f6ff8caae141]. ImmigrationDB. https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/dalton-in-furness/ Retrieved 2026-10-16. Compilation license: CC BY 4.0, https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/BibTeX citation
@misc{immigrationdb_immigrationdb_dalton-in-furness-united-kingdom-population-rent-salary_7df7e27846d7,
author = {ImmigrationDB},
title = {Dalton-in-Furness, United Kingdom: population, rent, salary},
publisher = {ImmigrationDB},
year = {2026},
date = {2026-10-16},
version = {03b8263f67a73d2ebdc5f6ff8caae141},
url = {https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/dalton-in-furness/},
note = {Retrieved 2026-10-16. ImmigrationDB compilation. Compilation license: CC BY 4.0, https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/},
}Markdown citation
[Dalton-in-Furness, United Kingdom: population, rent, salary](https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/dalton-in-furness/) — ImmigrationDB; ImmigrationDB; version 03b8263f67a73d2ebdc5f6ff8caae141; retrieved 2026-10-16; built 2026-10-16.This citation identifies the ImmigrationDB compilation/page. Underlying source publishers and datasets retain their own terms; inspect the Sources section and cite those records separately. View the underlying source records.
Sources
- BT Full Fibre 150 bt.com · checked 2026-09-15
- data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary data.police.uk · checked 2026-07-07
- Department for Education (GIAS) get-information-schools.service.gov.uk · checked 2026-08-03
- DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract get-information-schools.service.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-07
- Exact 2022 Built Up Area polygon area for BUA22CD in EPSG:27700, converted from square metres to km2. services1.arcgis.com · checked 2026-07-15
- Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts. ons.gov.uk · checked 2021-03-21
- NHS ODS GP Practices report + ONSPD Live postcode coordinates digital.nhs.uk · checked 2026-07-07
- Office for Students officeforstudents.org.uk · checked 2026-08-03
- official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
- official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
Show 11 more sources
- official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
- ONS Census 2021 towns and cities dataset Figure 9 individual BUA employment row for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-05
- ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-09-24
- OurAirports davidmegginson.github.io · checked 2026-08-03
- Police force area tables, year ending March 2026, Table C4 ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-10-05
- Three 100GB one-month data pack three.co.uk · checked 2026-09-15
- Travel to Work Areas (December 2011) full extent boundaries in the United Kingdom services1.arcgis.com · checked 2026-09-19
- WMO Climatological Normals 1991-2020 — station WalneyIsland_03214.csv WMO Climatological Normals 1991-2020 · ncei.noaa.gov · checked 2026-07-31
- www.ons.gov.uk ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-08-27
- www.ons.gov.uk ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-08-26
- www.ofcom.org.uk ofcom.org.uk · checked 2026-07-15
Spotted a number that looks wrong? Every value here carries its source and date — tell us what you found and we will re-check it against the source.