Living in Flitwick
In Flitwick, unemployment is 3.2% (2023).
For Flitwick, owner occupation accounted for 73.6% of homes in March 2021. The population of Flitwick, in the United Kingdom, was 13,660 in March 2021. Gigabit broadband availability was 88.7%. The city had 4 schools in 2026.
Lower unemployment than 63% of United Kingdom cities that publish it, less recorded crime than 95% of United Kingdom cities that publish it and dirtier air than 90% of United Kingdom cities that publish it.
Which United Kingdom-wide rules apply when you move to Flitwick?
National rules stay on the country page instead of being relabelled as city data.
Housing and cost
No city-level rent figure is published for Flitwick. The available city-level cost figures remain below.
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Internet, 60 Mbps unlimited | 24.02 EUR/month | 30 Sept 2026 | BT Full Fibre 1501Official · national market |
| Mobile plan, 10 GB | 12.87 EUR/month | 30 Sept 2026 | Three 100GB one-month data pack17Official · national market |
| Dwellings | 5,795 count | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Average monthly rent (whole dwelling) | 1,460 EUR/month | 31 Aug 2026 | ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price13Official · county |
Is Flitwick a good place to live?
There is no universal answer. The profile scores below show who the available published evidence may suit; they are a decision aid, not a personal recommendation.
Work and income
The employment rate was 65.6% in March 2021.
What is the unemployment rate in Flitwick?
The unemployment rate is 3.2 % (January 2023). Source: www.ons.gov.uk21
Flitwick 3.2%
Unemployment rate (%)
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gigabit broadband availability | 88.69 % | Not stated | www.ofcom.org.uk22Supplemental estimate · Supplemental context |
| Employment rate | 65.57 % | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 towns and cities dataset Figure 9 individual BUA employment row for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley12Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Superfast broadband availability | 99.26 % | Not stated | www.ofcom.org.uk22Supplemental estimate · Supplemental context |
| Median gross salary (regional) | 3,684 EUR/month | 31 Dec 2024 | www.ons.gov.uk20Official |
| Unemployment rate | 3.2 %country median 3.4% | 31 Dec 2023 | www.ons.gov.uk21Official |
What does a salary buy in Flitwick?
Take-home pay after tax, minus rent and the everyday bills this city publishes. Each line names its source.
RentInternetMobileLeft over
Line-by-line breakdown and sources
| Each month | € |
|---|---|
| Take-home payOECD Taxing Wages 2025, single, no children. Includes central and local income tax and employee social contributions; euro amounts at the ECB average for 2026-08. | €2,992 |
| Rentaverage rent of a whole dwelling · official · ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price · 2026-08-31 | − €1,460 |
| Internet€24 · official · BT Full Fibre 150 · 2026-09-30 | − €24 |
| Mobile plan€13 · official · Three 100GB one-month data pack · 2026-09-30 | − €13 |
| Other everyday billsnot published for this city: public transport pass, utilities | — |
| Left overbefore the bills this city does not publish | €1,495 |
Public employment service
No exact public employment office is currently linked to Flitwick. The verified national service may still offer online registration, job search or an official office finder.
Jobcentre Plus — Public employment service
Country-level service information is not treated as proof of a physical office in Flitwick. Sources checked through 10 Aug 2026.
Family and education
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Schools | 4 count | 7 Jul 2026 | DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract4Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Primary schools | 3 count | 3 Aug 2026 | Department for Education (GIAS)3Official |
| Schools | 4 count | 3 Aug 2026 | Department for Education (GIAS)3Official |
School for children who move here. School is compulsory from age 5 to 16, and public school is free.
A country-wide rule for United Kingdom; Flitwick's school authority applies it locally.
Sources: legislation.gov.uk · 1996–2026.
Healthcare
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| GP practices | 1 count | 7 Jul 2026 | NHS ODS GP Practices report + ONSPD Live postcode coordinates7Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
Yes — migrants can receive medical care in Flitwick under the national coverage rules.
Healthcare access follows the country-wide insurance rules; local capacity facts remain city data and are not used as proof of eligibility.
Open the official coverage guideSafety
How safe is Flitwick?
Police recorded about 4,730 incidents per 100,000 (2025-26). This counts all offences, so it is not comparable with a violent-crime-only rate from another source. Source: Police force area tables, year ending March 2026, Table C416
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Recorded incidents per 100,000 residents | 4,730 incidents per 100,000 | 31 Dec 2025 | Police force area tables, year ending March 2026, Table C416Official · county |
| Violent crime per 100,000 residents | 1,442 per 100,000 | Apr 2026 | data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary2Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Burglary per 100,000 residents | 146.4 per 100,000 | 30 Apr 2026 | data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary2Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
Mobility and administration
Climate and air quality
Annual PM2.5 was 7.37 µg/m³ in 2025. Annual NO₂ was 8.28 µg/m³ in 2025. Annual PM10 was 12.6 µg/m³ in 2025.
Is the air quality good in Flitwick?
The annual PM2.5 mean is about 7.4 µg/m³ (2025) — above the WHO 2021 guideline of 5 µg/m³ but within the EU limit of 25 µg/m³.
Annual mean at the measuring site(s) serving the city; current-day readings differ.
- PM2.5 — annual mean: 7.37 µg/m³ · official estimated total annual mean background concentration11
Night-time low to daytime high
mm
Within WHO 2021 guidelineAbove WHO, within EU limitAbove EU legal limitCity annual mean · µg/m³
City values from the published air-quality observations. WHO 2021 guidelines and EU limit values are published constants.
Flitwick 7.4
Annual PM2.5 (µg/m³)
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| NO₂ — annual mean | 8.28 µg/m³country median 7.2 | 2025 | official estimated total annual mean background concentration9Official |
| PM10 — annual mean | 12.59 µg/m³country median 11.3 | 2025 | official estimated total annual mean background concentration10Official |
| PM2.5 — annual mean | 7.37 µg/m³country median 6.5 | 2025 | official estimated total annual mean background concentration11Official |
| Average daytime high by month | Jan 7.1 · Feb 7.6 · Mar 10.3 · Apr 13.4 · May 16.6 · Jun 19.6 · Jul 22.1 · Aug 21.7 · Sep 18.6 · Oct 14.3 · Nov 10.1 · Dec 7.4 °C | 1991–2020 | WMO Climatological Normals 1991-2020 — station Rothamsted_03680.csv19Official · nearest-station reading |
| Average night-time low by month | Jan 1.6 · Feb 1.5 · Mar 2.8 · Apr 4.5 · May 7.3 · Jun 10.2 · Jul 12.3 · Aug 12.3 · Sep 10.1 · Oct 7.5 · Nov 4.2 · Dec 2 °C | 1991–2020 | WMO Climatological Normals 1991-2020 — station Rothamsted_03680.csv19Official · nearest-station reading |
| Average temperature by month | Jan 4.3 · Feb 4.6 · Mar 6.6 · Apr 9 · May 11.9 · Jun 14.9 · Jul 17.2 · Aug 17 · Sep 14.4 · Oct 10.9 · Nov 7.2 · Dec 4.7 °C | 1991–2020 | WMO Climatological Normals 1991-2020 — station Rothamsted_03680.csv19Official · nearest-station reading |
| Average precipitation by month | Jan 67.6 · Feb 50.9 · Mar 42.7 · Apr 51.2 · May 51.2 · Jun 52.9 · Jul 52.2 · Aug 68.2 · Sep 55.4 · Oct 78.2 · Nov 76.8 · Dec 67.2 mm | 1991–2020 | WMO Climatological Normals 1991-2020 — station Rothamsted_03680.csv19Official · nearest-station reading |
Annual PM2.5 fell 43.3% between 2013 and 2025, from 13.0 to 7.4.
Population and city profile
The city covered 3 km² in December 2022. Population density was 4,495.3 people per km² in 2021.
How many people live in Flitwick?
The published population was 13,660 people in March 2021. Source: Census 2021 usual resident population count for the exact Built Up Area (BUA), England excluding London or Wales.6
By nationality
National passport91.9%
Calculated from the population and foreign-resident facts on this page.
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Area | 3.04 km² | Dec 2022 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| City area | 3.04 km² | Dec 2022 | Exact 2022 Built Up Area polygon area for BUA22CD in EPSG:27700, converted from square metres to km2.5Official |
| Foreign residents | 1,100 people | 21 Mar 2021 | Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts.6Official |
| GP practices per 10,000 residents | 0.732 per 10,000 people | 7 Jul 2026 | NHS ODS GP Practices report + ONSPD Live postcode coordinates7Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Schools per 10,000 residents | 2.93 per 10,000 people | 7 Jul 2026 | DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract4Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Population density | 4,495 people/km² | 21 Mar 2021 | www.ons.gov.uk6Official · built-up-area figure |
| Population | 13,660 people | 21 Mar 2021 | Census 2021 usual resident population count for the exact Built Up Area (BUA), England excluding London or Wales.6Official |
Additional context
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Owner-occupied homes | 73.6 % | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Residents born abroad | 8.1 % | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Median age | 41 years | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Universities | 0 count | 3 Aug 2026 | Office for Students8Official |
Alternatives for people set on Flitwick
Nothing here reaches an argued comparison yet: no other published city shares enough metrics with Flitwick from the same source, period and grain. What is collected is below.
Alternative cities in United Kingdom
Other cities in United Kingdom to compare with Flitwick, nearest in population first.
How does Flitwick compare?
Pick a city. The answer appears here and the address bar keeps it, so the comparison can be shared; the page stays Flitwick's.
Is Flitwick part of Bedford?
Flitwick is in the published commuting zone of Bedford; this does not mean it is administratively part of the hub. Bedford city profile
Relationship type: Commuting Zone Of. Source18
Common questions
Answered from the published values on this page, each with its source and date.
How many people live in Flitwick?
The published population was 13,660 people in March 2021. Source: Census 2021 usual resident population count for the exact Built Up Area (BUA), England excluding London or Wales..
Is the air quality good in Flitwick?
The annual PM2.5 mean is about 7.4 µg/m³ (2025) — above the WHO 2021 guideline of 5 µg/m³ but within the EU limit of 25 µg/m³. Source: official estimated total annual mean background concentration.
How safe is Flitwick?
Police recorded about 4,730 incidents per 100,000 (2025-26). This counts all offences, so it is not comparable with a violent-crime-only rate from another source. Source: Police force area tables, year ending March 2026, Table C4.
What is the unemployment rate in Flitwick?
The unemployment rate is 3.2 % (January 2023). Source: www.ons.gov.uk.
What is the typical salary around Flitwick?
The median gross salary is 3,684 EUR/month. Source: www.ons.gov.uk.
How many foreign residents live in Flitwick?
1,100 residents hold a foreign nationality. Source: Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts..
Is Flitwick a good place to live?
Flitwick may suit different people for different reasons. The page's profile scores compare published cost, work, housing, safety, healthcare and other available factors; they are a decision aid, not a universal recommendation.
Is Flitwick part of Bedford?
Flitwick is in the published commuting zone of Bedford; this does not mean it is administratively part of the hub.
Cite this page
Open a format to select or copy this ImmigrationDB compilation citation. The native disclosure and text fallback work without JavaScript.
APA citation
ImmigrationDB. (2026, October 16). Flitwick, United Kingdom: population, rent, salary, jobs [ImmigrationDB compilation; version 9f2edae25d1ce216b679f8d6c1edc38c]. ImmigrationDB. https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/flitwick/ Retrieved 2026-10-16. Compilation license: CC BY 4.0, https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/BibTeX citation
@misc{immigrationdb_immigrationdb_flitwick-united-kingdom-population-rent-salary-jobs_b4396cac314d,
author = {ImmigrationDB},
title = {Flitwick, United Kingdom: population, rent, salary, jobs},
publisher = {ImmigrationDB},
year = {2026},
date = {2026-10-16},
version = {9f2edae25d1ce216b679f8d6c1edc38c},
url = {https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/flitwick/},
note = {Retrieved 2026-10-16. ImmigrationDB compilation. Compilation license: CC BY 4.0, https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/},
}Markdown citation
[Flitwick, United Kingdom: population, rent, salary, jobs](https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/flitwick/) — ImmigrationDB; ImmigrationDB; version 9f2edae25d1ce216b679f8d6c1edc38c; retrieved 2026-10-16; built 2026-10-16.This citation identifies the ImmigrationDB compilation/page. Underlying source publishers and datasets retain their own terms; inspect the Sources section and cite those records separately. View the underlying source records.
Sources
- BT Full Fibre 150 bt.com · checked 2026-09-15
- data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary data.police.uk · checked 2026-07-07
- Department for Education (GIAS) get-information-schools.service.gov.uk · checked 2026-08-03
- DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract get-information-schools.service.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-07
- Exact 2022 Built Up Area polygon area for BUA22CD in EPSG:27700, converted from square metres to km2. services1.arcgis.com · checked 2026-07-15
- Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts. ons.gov.uk · checked 2021-03-21
- NHS ODS GP Practices report + ONSPD Live postcode coordinates digital.nhs.uk · checked 2026-07-07
- Office for Students officeforstudents.org.uk · checked 2026-08-03
- official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
- official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
Show 12 more sources
- official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
- ONS Census 2021 towns and cities dataset Figure 9 individual BUA employment row for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-05
- ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-09-24
- OpenFlights raw.githubusercontent.com · checked 2026-08-03
- OurAirports davidmegginson.github.io · checked 2026-08-03
- Police force area tables, year ending March 2026, Table C4 ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-10-05
- Three 100GB one-month data pack three.co.uk · checked 2026-09-15
- Travel to Work Areas (December 2011) full extent boundaries in the United Kingdom services1.arcgis.com · checked 2026-09-19
- WMO Climatological Normals 1991-2020 — station Rothamsted_03680.csv WMO Climatological Normals 1991-2020 · ncei.noaa.gov · checked 2026-07-31
- www.ons.gov.uk ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-08-27
- www.ons.gov.uk ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-08-26
- www.ofcom.org.uk ofcom.org.uk · checked 2026-07-15
Spotted a number that looks wrong? Every value here carries its source and date — tell us what you found and we will re-check it against the source.