Living in Great Torrington
In Great Torrington, unemployment is 2.1% (2023).
Owner occupation accounted for 66.1% of homes in March 2021. Great Torrington is in the United Kingdom; its population was 5,955 in March 2021. The employment rate was 54.9% in March 2021. Gigabit broadband availability was 32.2%. The city had 2 schools in 2026.
Lower unemployment than 96% of United Kingdom cities that publish it, less recorded crime than 95% of United Kingdom cities that publish it and dirtier air than 64% of United Kingdom cities that publish it.
Which United Kingdom-wide rules apply when you move to Great Torrington?
National rules stay on the country page instead of being relabelled as city data.
Housing and cost
No city-level rent figure is published for Great Torrington. The available city-level cost figures remain below.
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Internet, 60 Mbps unlimited | 24.02 EUR/month | 30 Sept 2026 | BT Full Fibre 1501Official · national market |
| Mobile plan, 10 GB | 12.87 EUR/month | 30 Sept 2026 | Three 100GB one-month data pack17Official · national market |
| Dwellings | 2,595 count | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Average monthly rent (whole dwelling) | 921.7 EUR/month | 31 Aug 2026 | ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price13Official · county |
Is Great Torrington a good place to live?
There is no universal answer. The profile scores below show who the available published evidence may suit; they are a decision aid, not a personal recommendation.
Work and income
What is the unemployment rate in Great Torrington?
The unemployment rate is 2.1 % (January 2023). Source: www.ons.gov.uk21
Great Torrington 2.1%
Unemployment rate (%)
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gigabit broadband availability | 32.21 % | Not stated | www.ofcom.org.uk22Supplemental estimate · Supplemental context |
| Employment rate | 54.93 % | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 towns and cities dataset Figure 9 individual BUA employment row for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley12Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Superfast broadband availability | 98.63 % | Not stated | www.ofcom.org.uk22Supplemental estimate · Supplemental context |
| Median gross salary (regional) | 2,903 EUR/month | 31 Dec 2024 | www.ons.gov.uk20Official |
| Unemployment rate | 2.1 %country median 3.4% | 31 Dec 2023 | www.ons.gov.uk21Official |
What does a salary buy in Great Torrington?
Take-home pay after tax, minus rent and the everyday bills this city publishes. Each line names its source.
RentInternetMobileLeft over
Line-by-line breakdown and sources
| Each month | € |
|---|---|
| Take-home payOECD Taxing Wages 2025, single, no children. Includes central and local income tax and employee social contributions; euro amounts at the ECB average for 2026-08. | €2,431 |
| Rentaverage rent of a whole dwelling · official · ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price · 2026-08-31 | − €922 |
| Internet€24 · official · BT Full Fibre 150 · 2026-09-30 | − €24 |
| Mobile plan€13 · official · Three 100GB one-month data pack · 2026-09-30 | − €13 |
| Other everyday billsnot published for this city: public transport pass, utilities | — |
| Left overbefore the bills this city does not publish | €1,472 |
Public employment service
No exact public employment office is currently linked to Great Torrington. The verified national service may still offer online registration, job search or an official office finder.
Jobcentre Plus — Public employment service
Country-level service information is not treated as proof of a physical office in Great Torrington. Sources checked through 10 Aug 2026.
Family and education
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Schools | 2 count | 7 Jul 2026 | DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract4Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Primary schools | 2 count | 3 Aug 2026 | Department for Education (GIAS)3Official |
| Schools | 4 count | 3 Aug 2026 | Department for Education (GIAS)3Official |
School for children who move here. School is compulsory from age 5 to 16, and public school is free.
A country-wide rule for United Kingdom; Great Torrington's school authority applies it locally.
Sources: legislation.gov.uk · 1996–2026.
Healthcare
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| GP practices | 2 count | 7 Jul 2026 | NHS ODS GP Practices report + ONSPD Live postcode coordinates7Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
Yes — migrants can receive medical care in Great Torrington under the national coverage rules.
Healthcare access follows the country-wide insurance rules; local capacity facts remain city data and are not used as proof of eligibility.
Open the official coverage guideSafety
How safe is Great Torrington?
Police recorded about 5,529 incidents per 100,000 (2025-26). This counts all offences, so it is not comparable with a violent-crime-only rate from another source. Source: Police force area tables, year ending March 2026, Table C416
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Recorded incidents per 100,000 residents | 5,529 incidents per 100,000 | 31 Dec 2025 | Police force area tables, year ending March 2026, Table C416Official · county |
| Violent crime per 100,000 residents | 2,351 per 100,000 | Apr 2026 | data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary2Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Burglary per 100,000 residents | 33.59 per 100,000 | 30 Apr 2026 | data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary2Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
Mobility and administration
Climate and air quality
Annual PM2.5 was 6.72 µg/m³ in 2025. Annual NO₂ was 4.41 µg/m³ in 2025. Annual PM10 was 11.3 µg/m³ in 2025.
Is the air quality good in Great Torrington?
The annual PM2.5 mean is about 6.7 µg/m³ (2025) — above the WHO 2021 guideline of 5 µg/m³ but within the EU limit of 25 µg/m³.
Annual mean at the measuring site(s) serving the city; current-day readings differ.
- PM2.5 — annual mean: 6.72 µg/m³ · official estimated total annual mean background concentration11
Night-time low to daytime high
mm
Within WHO 2021 guidelineAbove WHO, within EU limitAbove EU legal limitCity annual mean · µg/m³
City values from the published air-quality observations. WHO 2021 guidelines and EU limit values are published constants.
Great Torrington 6.7
Annual PM2.5 (µg/m³)
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| NO₂ — annual mean | 4.41 µg/m³country median 7.2 | 2025 | official estimated total annual mean background concentration9Official |
| PM10 — annual mean | 11.27 µg/m³country median 11.3 — about the same | 2025 | official estimated total annual mean background concentration10Official |
| PM2.5 — annual mean | 6.72 µg/m³country median 6.5 | 2025 | official estimated total annual mean background concentration11Official |
| Average daytime high by month | Jan 9.1 · Feb 9.4 · Mar 11.2 · Apr 13.7 · May 16.5 · Jun 19 · Jul 20.5 · Aug 20.5 · Sep 18.8 · Oct 15.4 · Nov 12.1 · Dec 9.7 °C | 1991–2020 | WMO Climatological Normals 1991-2020 — station Chivenor_03707.csv19Official · nearest-station reading |
| Average night-time low by month | Jan 3.6 · Feb 3.5 · Mar 4.4 · Apr 5.9 · May 8.6 · Jun 11.4 · Jul 13.3 · Aug 13.4 · Sep 11.5 · Oct 9.2 · Nov 6.2 · Dec 4.1 °C | 1991–2020 | WMO Climatological Normals 1991-2020 — station Chivenor_03707.csv19Official · nearest-station reading |
| Average temperature by month | Jan 6.4 · Feb 6.4 · Mar 7.8 · Apr 9.8 · May 12.6 · Jun 15.2 · Jul 16.9 · Aug 17 · Sep 15.2 · Oct 12.3 · Nov 9.2 · Dec 6.9 °C | 1991–2020 | WMO Climatological Normals 1991-2020 — station Chivenor_03707.csv19Official · nearest-station reading |
| Average precipitation by month | Jan 90.1 · Feb 69.7 · Mar 59.5 · Apr 55.3 · May 54 · Jun 64.8 · Jul 73.7 · Aug 77.1 · Sep 69.9 · Oct 107 · Nov 106.4 · Dec 107 mm | 1991–2020 | WMO Climatological Normals 1991-2020 — station Chivenor_03707.csv19Official · nearest-station reading |
Annual PM2.5 fell 25.3% between 2014 and 2025, from 9.0 to 6.7.
Population and city profile
The city covered 1.6 km² in December 2022. Population density was 3,808.3 people per km² in 2021.
How many people live in Great Torrington?
The published population was 5,955 people in March 2021. Source: Census 2021 usual resident population count for the exact Built Up Area (BUA), England excluding London or Wales.6
By nationality
National passport96%
Calculated from the population and foreign-resident facts on this page.
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Area | 1.56 km² | Dec 2022 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| City area | 1.56 km² | Dec 2022 | Exact 2022 Built Up Area polygon area for BUA22CD in EPSG:27700, converted from square metres to km2.5Official |
| Foreign residents | 240 people | 21 Mar 2021 | Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts.6Official |
| GP practices per 10,000 residents | 3.36 per 10,000 people | 7 Jul 2026 | NHS ODS GP Practices report + ONSPD Live postcode coordinates7Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Schools per 10,000 residents | 3.36 per 10,000 people | 7 Jul 2026 | DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract4Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Population density | 3,808 people/km² | 21 Mar 2021 | www.ons.gov.uk6Official · built-up-area figure |
| Population | 5,955 people | 21 Mar 2021 | Census 2021 usual resident population count for the exact Built Up Area (BUA), England excluding London or Wales.6Official |
Additional context
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Owner-occupied homes | 66.09 % | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Residents born abroad | 4 % | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Median age | 47 years | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Universities | 0 count | 3 Aug 2026 | Office for Students8Official |
Alternatives for people set on Great Torrington
Three places for the three reasons people leave a city on the shortlist: stay in the region, stay in the country, or keep the budget and change the country. A percentage appears only where both cities publish that metric from the same source, period and grain. Distances are straight lines — travel times are not collected yet.
Bideford as a Great Torrington alternative in the same region
Better on 1 of 6 metrics measured the same way, worse on 1.
- Residents: 19,490 Bideford vs 5,955 Great Torrington+227%
- Annual PM2.5: 5.4 µg/m³ Bideford vs 6.7 µg/m³ Great Torrington−19%
- Nearest airport: 64.0 km Bideford vs 57.0 km Great Torrington+12%
- Median gross pay, region: €2,903 Bideford vs €2,903 Great Torringtonsame level
- Unemployment: 2.1% Bideford vs 2.1% Great Torringtonsame level
- Recorded crime, per 100k: 5,529 Bideford vs 5,529 Great Torringtonsame level
Alternative cities in United Kingdom
Other cities in United Kingdom to compare with Great Torrington, nearest in population first.
How does Great Torrington compare?
Pick a city. The answer appears here and the address bar keeps it, so the comparison can be shared; the page stays Great Torrington's.
Is Great Torrington part of Bideford?
Great Torrington is in the published commuting zone of Bideford; this does not mean it is administratively part of the hub. Bideford city profile
Relationship type: Commuting Zone Of. Source18
Common questions
Answered from the published values on this page, each with its source and date.
How many people live in Great Torrington?
The published population was 5,955 people in March 2021. Source: Census 2021 usual resident population count for the exact Built Up Area (BUA), England excluding London or Wales..
Is the air quality good in Great Torrington?
The annual PM2.5 mean is about 6.7 µg/m³ (2025) — above the WHO 2021 guideline of 5 µg/m³ but within the EU limit of 25 µg/m³. Source: official estimated total annual mean background concentration.
How safe is Great Torrington?
Police recorded about 5,529 incidents per 100,000 (2025-26). This counts all offences, so it is not comparable with a violent-crime-only rate from another source. Source: Police force area tables, year ending March 2026, Table C4.
What is the unemployment rate in Great Torrington?
The unemployment rate is 2.1 % (January 2023). Source: www.ons.gov.uk.
What is the typical salary around Great Torrington?
The median gross salary is 2,903 EUR/month. Source: www.ons.gov.uk.
How many foreign residents live in Great Torrington?
240 residents hold a foreign nationality. Source: Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts..
Is Great Torrington a good place to live?
Great Torrington may suit different people for different reasons. The page's profile scores compare published cost, work, housing, safety, healthcare and other available factors; they are a decision aid, not a universal recommendation.
Is Great Torrington part of Bideford?
Great Torrington is in the published commuting zone of Bideford; this does not mean it is administratively part of the hub.
Cite this page
Open a format to select or copy this ImmigrationDB compilation citation. The native disclosure and text fallback work without JavaScript.
APA citation
ImmigrationDB. (2026, October 16). Great Torrington, United Kingdom: population, rent, salary [ImmigrationDB compilation; version a6d90366444986840dbc8c48ca5f9b53]. ImmigrationDB. https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/great-torrington/ Retrieved 2026-10-16. Compilation license: CC BY 4.0, https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/BibTeX citation
@misc{immigrationdb_immigrationdb_great-torrington-united-kingdom-population-rent-salary_6627c6dbf339,
author = {ImmigrationDB},
title = {Great Torrington, United Kingdom: population, rent, salary},
publisher = {ImmigrationDB},
year = {2026},
date = {2026-10-16},
version = {a6d90366444986840dbc8c48ca5f9b53},
url = {https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/great-torrington/},
note = {Retrieved 2026-10-16. ImmigrationDB compilation. Compilation license: CC BY 4.0, https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/},
}Markdown citation
[Great Torrington, United Kingdom: population, rent, salary](https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/great-torrington/) — ImmigrationDB; ImmigrationDB; version a6d90366444986840dbc8c48ca5f9b53; retrieved 2026-10-16; built 2026-10-16.This citation identifies the ImmigrationDB compilation/page. Underlying source publishers and datasets retain their own terms; inspect the Sources section and cite those records separately. View the underlying source records.
Sources
- BT Full Fibre 150 bt.com · checked 2026-09-15
- data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary data.police.uk · checked 2026-07-07
- Department for Education (GIAS) get-information-schools.service.gov.uk · checked 2026-08-03
- DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract get-information-schools.service.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-07
- Exact 2022 Built Up Area polygon area for BUA22CD in EPSG:27700, converted from square metres to km2. services1.arcgis.com · checked 2026-07-15
- Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts. ons.gov.uk · checked 2021-03-21
- NHS ODS GP Practices report + ONSPD Live postcode coordinates digital.nhs.uk · checked 2026-07-07
- Office for Students officeforstudents.org.uk · checked 2026-08-03
- official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
- official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
Show 12 more sources
- official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
- ONS Census 2021 towns and cities dataset Figure 9 individual BUA employment row for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-05
- ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-09-24
- OpenFlights raw.githubusercontent.com · checked 2026-08-03
- OurAirports davidmegginson.github.io · checked 2026-08-03
- Police force area tables, year ending March 2026, Table C4 ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-10-05
- Three 100GB one-month data pack three.co.uk · checked 2026-09-15
- Travel to Work Areas (December 2011) full extent boundaries in the United Kingdom services1.arcgis.com · checked 2026-09-19
- WMO Climatological Normals 1991-2020 — station Chivenor_03707.csv WMO Climatological Normals 1991-2020 · ncei.noaa.gov · checked 2026-07-31
- www.ons.gov.uk ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-08-27
- www.ons.gov.uk ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-08-26
- www.ofcom.org.uk ofcom.org.uk · checked 2026-07-15
Spotted a number that looks wrong? Every value here carries its source and date — tell us what you found and we will re-check it against the source.