Living in Harworth and Bircotes
The employment rate was 56.7% in March 2021. Gigabit broadband availability was 95.8%. The city had 3 schools in 2026. Owner occupation accounted for 65.8% of homes in March 2021. Harworth and Bircotes is in the United Kingdom; its population was 8,885 in March 2021.
Which United Kingdom-wide rules apply when you move to Harworth and Bircotes?
National rules stay on the country page instead of being relabelled as city data.
Housing and cost
No city-level rent figure is published for Harworth and Bircotes. The available city-level cost figures remain below.
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Internet, 60 Mbps unlimited | 24.02 EUR/month | 30 Sept 2026 | BT Full Fibre 1501Official · national market |
| Mobile plan, 10 GB | 12.87 EUR/month | 30 Sept 2026 | Three 100GB one-month data pack13Official · national market |
| Dwellings | 3,935 count | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley5Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Average monthly rent (whole dwelling) | 849.2 EUR/month | 31 Aug 2026 | ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price12Official · county |
Is Harworth and Bircotes a good place to live?
There is no universal answer. The profile scores below show who the available published evidence may suit; they are a decision aid, not a personal recommendation.
Worked out from these numbers
How international is the population?
5% of residents hold a foreign nationality — 445 of 8,885 people. This counts nationality, not place of birth, so long-settled residents who naturalised are not in it.
Work and income
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gigabit broadband availability | 95.78 % | Not stated | www.ofcom.org.uk20Supplemental estimate · Supplemental context |
| Employment rate | 56.69 % | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 towns and cities dataset Figure 9 individual BUA employment row for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley11Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Superfast broadband availability | 97.82 % | Not stated | www.ofcom.org.uk20Supplemental estimate · Supplemental context |
| Median gross salary (regional) | 3,533 EUR/month | 31 Dec 2025 | ONS ASHE Table 8.1a — Weekly pay - Gross (£), full-time employee jobs by local authority of residence, 2025 provisional10Official |
What does a salary buy in Harworth and Bircotes?
Take-home pay after tax, minus rent and the everyday bills this city publishes. Each line names its source.
RentInternetMobileLeft over
Line-by-line breakdown and sources
| Each month | € |
|---|---|
| Take-home payOECD Taxing Wages 2025, single, no children. Includes central and local income tax and employee social contributions; euro amounts at the ECB average for 2026-08. | €2,884 |
| Rentaverage rent of a whole dwelling · official · ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price · 2026-08-31 | − €849 |
| Internet€24 · official · BT Full Fibre 150 · 2026-09-30 | − €24 |
| Mobile plan€13 · official · Three 100GB one-month data pack · 2026-09-30 | − €13 |
| Other everyday billsnot published for this city: public transport pass, utilities | — |
| Left overbefore the bills this city does not publish | €1,998 |
Public employment service
No exact public employment office is currently linked to Harworth and Bircotes. The verified national service may still offer online registration, job search or an official office finder.
Jobcentre Plus — Public employment service
Country-level service information is not treated as proof of a physical office in Harworth and Bircotes. Sources checked through 10 Aug 2026.
Family and education
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Schools | 3 count | 7 Jul 2026 | DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract3Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
School for children who move here. School is compulsory from age 5 to 16, and public school is free.
A country-wide rule for United Kingdom; Harworth and Bircotes's school authority applies it locally.
Sources: legislation.gov.uk · 1996–2026.
Healthcare
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| GP practices | 0 count | 7 Jul 2026 | NHS ODS GP Practices report + ONSPD Live postcode coordinates6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
Yes — migrants can receive medical care in Harworth and Bircotes under the national coverage rules.
Healthcare access follows the country-wide insurance rules; local capacity facts remain city data and are not used as proof of eligibility.
Open the official coverage guideSafety
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Violent crime per 100,000 residents | 3,073 per 100,000 | Apr 2026 | data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary2Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Burglary per 100,000 residents | 832.9 per 100,000 | 30 Apr 2026 | data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary2Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
Climate and air quality
Annual PM2.5 was 6.47 µg/m³ in 2025. Annual NO₂ was 6.94 µg/m³ in 2025. Annual PM10 was 13 µg/m³ in 2025.
Within WHO 2021 guidelineAbove WHO, within EU limitAbove EU legal limitCity annual mean · µg/m³
City values from the published air-quality observations. WHO 2021 guidelines and EU limit values are published constants.
Harworth and Bircotes 6.5
Annual PM2.5 (µg/m³)
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| NO₂ — annual mean | 6.94 µg/m³country median 7.2 | 2025 | official estimated total annual mean background concentration7Official |
| PM10 — annual mean | 12.95 µg/m³country median 11.3 | 2025 | official estimated total annual mean background concentration8Official |
| PM2.5 — annual mean | 6.47 µg/m³country median 6.5 — about the same | 2025 | official estimated total annual mean background concentration9Official |
Population and city profile
The city covered 2.6 km² in December 2022. Population density was 3,399.3 people per km² in 2021.
By nationality
National passport95%
Calculated from the population and foreign-resident facts on this page.
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Area | 2.61 km² | Dec 2022 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley5Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| City area | 2.61 km² | Dec 2022 | Exact 2022 Built Up Area polygon area for BUA22CD in EPSG:27700, converted from square metres to km2.4Official |
| Foreign residents | 445 people | 21 Mar 2021 | Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts.5Official |
| GP practices per 10,000 residents | 0 per 10,000 people | 7 Jul 2026 | NHS ODS GP Practices report + ONSPD Live postcode coordinates6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Schools per 10,000 residents | 3.38 per 10,000 people | 7 Jul 2026 | DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract3Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Population density | 3,399 people/km² | 21 Mar 2021 | www.ons.gov.uk5Official · built-up-area figure |
| Population | 8,885 people | 21 Mar 2021 | Census 2021 usual resident population count for the exact Built Up Area (BUA), England excluding London or Wales.5Official |
Additional context
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Owner-occupied homes | 65.82 % | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley5Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Residents born abroad | 5 % | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley5Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Median age | 39 years | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley5Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
Alternatives for people set on Harworth and Bircotes
Three places for the three reasons people leave a city on the shortlist: stay in the region, stay in the country, or keep the budget and change the country. A percentage appears only where both cities publish that metric from the same source, period and grain. Distances are straight lines — travel times are not collected yet.
Bentley as a Harworth and Bircotes alternative in the same region
16 km away, better on 0 of 2 metrics measured the same way, worse on 0. Median gross pay, region cannot be compared like for like.
- Median gross pay, region: €2,966 (2024) Bentley vs €3,533 (2025) Harworth and Bircotesno percentage
- Residents: 12,045 Bentley vs 8,885 Harworth and Bircotes+36%
- Annual PM2.5: 6.5 µg/m³ Bentley vs 6.5 µg/m³ Harworth and Bircotessame level
Cities near Harworth and Bircotes
Published cities within 25 km, nearest first. Distances are straight-line.
Alternative cities in United Kingdom
Other cities in United Kingdom to compare with Harworth and Bircotes, nearest in population first.
How does Harworth and Bircotes compare?
Pick a city. The answer appears here and the address bar keeps it, so the comparison can be shared; the page stays Harworth and Bircotes's.
Common questions
Answered from the published values on this page, each with its source and date.
What is the typical salary around Harworth and Bircotes?
The median gross salary is 3,533 EUR/month. Source: ONS ASHE Table 8.1a — Weekly pay - Gross (£), full-time employee jobs by local authority of residence, 2025 provisional.
Is the air quality good in Harworth and Bircotes?
The annual PM2.5 mean is 6.47 µg/m³. The WHO 2021 guideline is 5 µg/m³ and the EU limit value is 25 µg/m³, so this reading is above the WHO guideline but within the EU limit. Source: official estimated total annual mean background concentration.
How many people live in Harworth and Bircotes?
The published population is 8,885 people. Source: Census 2021 usual resident population count for the exact Built Up Area (BUA), England excluding London or Wales..
How many foreign residents live in Harworth and Bircotes?
445 residents hold a foreign nationality. Source: Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts..
Is Harworth and Bircotes a good place to live?
Harworth and Bircotes may suit different people for different reasons. The page's profile scores compare published cost, work, housing, safety, healthcare and other available factors; they are a decision aid, not a universal recommendation.
Which cities are near Harworth and Bircotes?
Bircotes, Dinnington, Doncaster, Worksop, Retford are near Harworth and Bircotes. Typed relationship labels are shown where published; other rows use straight-line distance from admitted coordinates.
Cite this page
Open a format to select or copy this ImmigrationDB compilation citation. The native disclosure and text fallback work without JavaScript.
APA citation
ImmigrationDB. (2026, October 16). Harworth and Bircotes, United Kingdom: population, rent [ImmigrationDB compilation; version b53819f8bd2ba1286f412874a8a7af56]. ImmigrationDB. https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/harworth-and-bircotes/ Retrieved 2026-10-16. Compilation license: CC BY 4.0, https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/BibTeX citation
@misc{immigrationdb_immigrationdb_harworth-and-bircotes-united-kingdom-population-rent_902b41ce1e09,
author = {ImmigrationDB},
title = {Harworth and Bircotes, United Kingdom: population, rent},
publisher = {ImmigrationDB},
year = {2026},
date = {2026-10-16},
version = {b53819f8bd2ba1286f412874a8a7af56},
url = {https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/harworth-and-bircotes/},
note = {Retrieved 2026-10-16. ImmigrationDB compilation. Compilation license: CC BY 4.0, https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/},
}Markdown citation
[Harworth and Bircotes, United Kingdom: population, rent](https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/harworth-and-bircotes/) — ImmigrationDB; ImmigrationDB; version b53819f8bd2ba1286f412874a8a7af56; retrieved 2026-10-16; built 2026-10-16.This citation identifies the ImmigrationDB compilation/page. Underlying source publishers and datasets retain their own terms; inspect the Sources section and cite those records separately. View the underlying source records.
Sources
- BT Full Fibre 150 bt.com · checked 2026-09-15
- data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary data.police.uk · checked 2026-07-07
- DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract get-information-schools.service.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-07
- Exact 2022 Built Up Area polygon area for BUA22CD in EPSG:27700, converted from square metres to km2. services1.arcgis.com · checked 2026-07-15
- Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts. ons.gov.uk · checked 2021-03-21
- NHS ODS GP Practices report + ONSPD Live postcode coordinates digital.nhs.uk · checked 2026-07-07
- official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
- official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
- official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
- ONS ASHE Table 8.1a — Weekly pay - Gross (£), full-time employee jobs by local authority of residence, 2025 provisional ONS ASHE Table 8.1a · ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-09-24
Show 10 more sources
- ONS Census 2021 towns and cities dataset Figure 9 individual BUA employment row for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-05
- ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-09-24
- Three 100GB one-month data pack three.co.uk · checked 2026-09-15
- Coordinate identity evidence wikidata.org · checked 2026-09-06
- Coordinate identity evidence wikidata.org · checked 2026-09-06
- Coordinate identity evidence wikidata.org · checked 2026-09-06
- Coordinate identity evidence wikidata.org · checked 2026-09-06
- Coordinate identity evidence wikidata.org · checked 2026-09-06
- Coordinate identity evidence wikidata.org · checked 2026-09-06
- www.ofcom.org.uk ofcom.org.uk · checked 2026-07-15
Spotted a number that looks wrong? Every value here carries its source and date — tell us what you found and we will re-check it against the source.