Living in Hockley and Hawkwell
In Hockley and Hawkwell, unemployment is 3.6% (2023).
Hockley and Hawkwell had 15,425 residents in March 2021 and is a city in the United Kingdom. The employment rate was 57.3% in March 2021. Owner occupation accounted for 87% of homes in March 2021. Gigabit broadband availability was 94.9%.
Less recorded crime than 97% of United Kingdom cities that publish it and dirtier air than 75% of United Kingdom cities that publish it.
Which United Kingdom-wide rules apply when you move to Hockley and Hawkwell?
National rules stay on the country page instead of being relabelled as city data.
Housing and cost
No city-level rent figure is published for Hockley and Hawkwell. The available city-level cost figures remain below.
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Internet, 60 Mbps unlimited | 24.02 EUR/month | 30 Sept 2026 | BT Full Fibre 1501Official · national market |
| Mobile plan, 10 GB | 12.87 EUR/month | 30 Sept 2026 | Three 100GB one-month data pack13Official · national market |
| Dwellings | 6,275 count | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley5Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Average monthly rent (whole dwelling) | 1,519 EUR/month | 31 Aug 2026 | ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price11Official · county |
Is Hockley and Hawkwell a good place to live?
There is no universal answer. The profile scores below show who the available published evidence may suit; they are a decision aid, not a personal recommendation.
Work and income
What is the unemployment rate in Hockley and Hawkwell?
The unemployment rate is 3.6 % (January 2023). Source: www.ons.gov.uk15
Hockley and Hawkwell 3.6%
Unemployment rate (%)
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gigabit broadband availability | 94.91 % | Not stated | www.ofcom.org.uk16Supplemental estimate · Supplemental context |
| Employment rate | 57.29 % | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 towns and cities dataset Figure 9 individual BUA employment row for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley10Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Superfast broadband availability | 99.75 % | Not stated | www.ofcom.org.uk16Supplemental estimate · Supplemental context |
| Median gross salary (regional) | 3,573 EUR/month | 31 Dec 2024 | www.ons.gov.uk14Official |
| Unemployment rate | 3.6 %country median 3.4% | 31 Dec 2023 | www.ons.gov.uk15Official |
What does a salary buy in Hockley and Hawkwell?
Take-home pay after tax, minus rent and the everyday bills this city publishes. Each line names its source.
RentInternetMobileLeft over
Line-by-line breakdown and sources
| Each month | € |
|---|---|
| Take-home payOECD Taxing Wages 2025, single, no children. Includes central and local income tax and employee social contributions; euro amounts at the ECB average for 2026-08. | €2,913 |
| Rentaverage rent of a whole dwelling · official · ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price · 2026-08-31 | − €1,519 |
| Internet€24 · official · BT Full Fibre 150 · 2026-09-30 | − €24 |
| Mobile plan€13 · official · Three 100GB one-month data pack · 2026-09-30 | − €13 |
| Other everyday billsnot published for this city: public transport pass, utilities | — |
| Left overbefore the bills this city does not publish | €1,358 |
Public employment service
No exact public employment office is currently linked to Hockley and Hawkwell. The verified national service may still offer online registration, job search or an official office finder.
Jobcentre Plus — Public employment service
Country-level service information is not treated as proof of a physical office in Hockley and Hawkwell. Sources checked through 10 Aug 2026.
Family and education
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Schools | 4 count | 7 Jul 2026 | DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract3Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
School for children who move here. School is compulsory from age 5 to 16, and public school is free.
A country-wide rule for United Kingdom; Hockley and Hawkwell's school authority applies it locally.
Sources: legislation.gov.uk · 1996–2026.
Healthcare
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| GP practices | 2 count | 7 Jul 2026 | NHS ODS GP Practices report + ONSPD Live postcode coordinates6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
Yes — migrants can receive medical care in Hockley and Hawkwell under the national coverage rules.
Healthcare access follows the country-wide insurance rules; local capacity facts remain city data and are not used as proof of eligibility.
Open the official coverage guideSafety
How safe is Hockley and Hawkwell?
Police recorded about 4,346 incidents per 100,000 (2025-26). This counts all offences, so it is not comparable with a violent-crime-only rate from another source. Source: Police force area tables, year ending March 2026, Table C412
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Recorded incidents per 100,000 residents | 4,346 incidents per 100,000 | 31 Dec 2025 | Police force area tables, year ending March 2026, Table C412Official · county |
| Violent crime per 100,000 residents | 1,310 per 100,000 | Apr 2026 | data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary2Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Burglary per 100,000 residents | 84.28 per 100,000 | 30 Apr 2026 | data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary2Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
Climate and air quality
Annual PM2.5 was 6.96 µg/m³ in 2025. Annual NO₂ was 9.71 µg/m³ in 2025. Annual PM10 was 11.3 µg/m³ in 2025.
Is the air quality good in Hockley and Hawkwell?
The annual PM2.5 mean is about 7 µg/m³ (2025) — above the WHO 2021 guideline of 5 µg/m³ but within the EU limit of 25 µg/m³.
Annual mean at the measuring site(s) serving the city; current-day readings differ.
- PM2.5 — annual mean: 6.96 µg/m³ · official estimated total annual mean background concentration9
Within WHO 2021 guidelineAbove WHO, within EU limitAbove EU legal limitCity annual mean · µg/m³
City values from the published air-quality observations. WHO 2021 guidelines and EU limit values are published constants.
Hockley and Hawkwell 7.0
Annual PM2.5 (µg/m³)
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| NO₂ — annual mean | 9.71 µg/m³country median 7.2 | 2025 | official estimated total annual mean background concentration7Official |
| PM10 — annual mean | 11.33 µg/m³country median 11.3 — about the same | 2025 | official estimated total annual mean background concentration8Official |
| PM2.5 — annual mean | 6.96 µg/m³country median 6.5 | 2025 | official estimated total annual mean background concentration9Official |
Population and city profile
The city covered 4.7 km² in December 2022. Population density was 3,282.8 people per km² in 2021.
How many people live in Hockley and Hawkwell?
The published population was 15,425 people in March 2021. Source: Census 2021 usual resident population count for the exact Built Up Area (BUA), England excluding London or Wales.5
By nationality
National passport96.2%
Calculated from the population and foreign-resident facts on this page.
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Area | 4.7 km² | Dec 2022 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley5Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| City area | 4.7 km² | Dec 2022 | Exact 2022 Built Up Area polygon area for BUA22CD in EPSG:27700, converted from square metres to km2.4Official |
| Foreign residents | 585 people | 21 Mar 2021 | Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts.5Official |
| GP practices per 10,000 residents | 1.3 per 10,000 people | 7 Jul 2026 | NHS ODS GP Practices report + ONSPD Live postcode coordinates6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Schools per 10,000 residents | 2.59 per 10,000 people | 7 Jul 2026 | DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract3Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Population density | 3,283 people/km² | 21 Mar 2021 | www.ons.gov.uk5Official · built-up-area figure |
| Population | 15,425 people | 21 Mar 2021 | Census 2021 usual resident population count for the exact Built Up Area (BUA), England excluding London or Wales.5Official |
Additional context
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Owner-occupied homes | 87 % | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley5Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Residents born abroad | 3.8 % | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley5Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Median age | 47 years | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley5Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
Alternatives for people set on Hockley and Hawkwell
Nothing here reaches an argued comparison yet: no other published city shares enough metrics with Hockley and Hawkwell from the same source, period and grain. What is collected is below.
Alternative cities in United Kingdom
Other cities in United Kingdom to compare with Hockley and Hawkwell, nearest in population first.
How does Hockley and Hawkwell compare?
Pick a city. The answer appears here and the address bar keeps it, so the comparison can be shared; the page stays Hockley and Hawkwell's.
Common questions
Answered from the published values on this page, each with its source and date.
How many people live in Hockley and Hawkwell?
The published population was 15,425 people in March 2021. Source: Census 2021 usual resident population count for the exact Built Up Area (BUA), England excluding London or Wales..
Is the air quality good in Hockley and Hawkwell?
The annual PM2.5 mean is about 7 µg/m³ (2025) — above the WHO 2021 guideline of 5 µg/m³ but within the EU limit of 25 µg/m³. Source: official estimated total annual mean background concentration.
How safe is Hockley and Hawkwell?
Police recorded about 4,346 incidents per 100,000 (2025-26). This counts all offences, so it is not comparable with a violent-crime-only rate from another source. Source: Police force area tables, year ending March 2026, Table C4.
What is the unemployment rate in Hockley and Hawkwell?
The unemployment rate is 3.6 % (January 2023). Source: www.ons.gov.uk.
What is the typical salary around Hockley and Hawkwell?
The median gross salary is 3,573 EUR/month. Source: www.ons.gov.uk.
How many foreign residents live in Hockley and Hawkwell?
585 residents hold a foreign nationality. Source: Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts..
Is Hockley and Hawkwell a good place to live?
Hockley and Hawkwell may suit different people for different reasons. The page's profile scores compare published cost, work, housing, safety, healthcare and other available factors; they are a decision aid, not a universal recommendation.
Cite this page
Open a format to select or copy this ImmigrationDB compilation citation. The native disclosure and text fallback work without JavaScript.
APA citation
ImmigrationDB. (2026, October 16). Hockley and Hawkwell, United Kingdom: population, rent, jobs [ImmigrationDB compilation; version 96371ebb299cc2c1056ee33be80e6cd1]. ImmigrationDB. https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/hockley-and-hawkwell/ Retrieved 2026-10-16. Compilation license: CC BY 4.0, https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/BibTeX citation
@misc{immigrationdb_immigrationdb_hockley-and-hawkwell-united-kingdom-population-rent-jobs_c4b958199161,
author = {ImmigrationDB},
title = {Hockley and Hawkwell, United Kingdom: population, rent, jobs},
publisher = {ImmigrationDB},
year = {2026},
date = {2026-10-16},
version = {96371ebb299cc2c1056ee33be80e6cd1},
url = {https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/hockley-and-hawkwell/},
note = {Retrieved 2026-10-16. ImmigrationDB compilation. Compilation license: CC BY 4.0, https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/},
}Markdown citation
[Hockley and Hawkwell, United Kingdom: population, rent, jobs](https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/hockley-and-hawkwell/) — ImmigrationDB; ImmigrationDB; version 96371ebb299cc2c1056ee33be80e6cd1; retrieved 2026-10-16; built 2026-10-16.This citation identifies the ImmigrationDB compilation/page. Underlying source publishers and datasets retain their own terms; inspect the Sources section and cite those records separately. View the underlying source records.
Sources
- BT Full Fibre 150 bt.com · checked 2026-09-15
- data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary data.police.uk · checked 2026-07-07
- DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract get-information-schools.service.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-07
- Exact 2022 Built Up Area polygon area for BUA22CD in EPSG:27700, converted from square metres to km2. services1.arcgis.com · checked 2026-07-15
- Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts. ons.gov.uk · checked 2021-03-21
- NHS ODS GP Practices report + ONSPD Live postcode coordinates digital.nhs.uk · checked 2026-07-07
- official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
- official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
- official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
- ONS Census 2021 towns and cities dataset Figure 9 individual BUA employment row for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-05
Show 6 more sources
- ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-09-24
- Police force area tables, year ending March 2026, Table C4 ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-10-05
- Three 100GB one-month data pack three.co.uk · checked 2026-09-15
- www.ons.gov.uk ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-08-27
- www.ons.gov.uk ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-08-26
- www.ofcom.org.uk ofcom.org.uk · checked 2026-07-15
Spotted a number that looks wrong? Every value here carries its source and date — tell us what you found and we will re-check it against the source.