Living in Rothwell
In Rothwell, tenants pay an average rent of €1,159 a month (2026) and unemployment is 4% (2025).
At the end of 2021, Rothwell had a population of 20,965. At the end of 2024, the regional median gross salary stood at €3,138 per month. Rothwell recorded annual PM2.5 of 7 µg/m³ at the end of 2016.
Higher unemployment than 68% of United Kingdom cities that publish it, less recorded crime than 84% of United Kingdom cities that publish it and dirtier air than 77% of United Kingdom cities that publish it.
Which United Kingdom-wide rules apply when you move to Rothwell?
National rules stay on the country page instead of being relabelled as city data.
Housing and cost
No city-level rent figure is published for Rothwell. The available city-level cost figures remain below.
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Internet, 60 Mbps unlimited | 24.02 EUR/month | 30 Sept 2026 | BT Full Fibre 1501Official · national market |
| Mobile plan, 10 GB | 12.87 EUR/month | 30 Sept 2026 | Three 100GB one-month data pack20Official · national market |
| Dwellings | 9,150 count | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley7Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Average monthly rent (whole dwelling) | 1,159 EUR/month | 31 Aug 2026 | ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price16Official |
Is Rothwell a good place to live?
There is no universal answer. The profile scores below show who the available published evidence may suit; they are a decision aid, not a personal recommendation.
Work and income
What is the unemployment rate in Rothwell?
The unemployment rate is 4 % (2025-2026). Source: www.nomisweb.co.uk21
Rothwell 4.0%
Unemployment rate (%)
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gigabit broadband availability | 97.68 % | Not stated | www.ofcom.org.uk22Supplemental estimate · Supplemental context |
| Employment rate | 58.94 % | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 towns and cities dataset Figure 9 individual BUA employment row for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley15Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Superfast broadband availability | 99.72 % | Not stated | www.ofcom.org.uk22Supplemental estimate · Supplemental context |
| Median gross salary (regional) | 3,138 EUR/month | 31 Dec 2024 | Office for National Statistics (ONS)11Official · regional context |
| Unemployment rate | 4 %country median 3.4% | 31 Dec 2025 | www.nomisweb.co.uk21Official |
What does a salary buy in Rothwell?
Take-home pay after tax, minus rent and the everyday bills this city publishes. Each line names its source.
RentInternetMobileLeft over
Line-by-line breakdown and sources
| Each month | € |
|---|---|
| Take-home payOECD Taxing Wages 2025, single, no children. Includes central and local income tax and employee social contributions; euro amounts at the ECB average for 2026-08. | €2,603 |
| Rentaverage rent of a whole dwelling · official · ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price · 2026-08-31 | − €1,159 |
| Internet€24 · official · BT Full Fibre 150 · 2026-09-30 | − €24 |
| Mobile plan€13 · official · Three 100GB one-month data pack · 2026-09-30 | − €13 |
| Other everyday billsnot published for this city: public transport pass, utilities | — |
| Left overbefore the bills this city does not publish | €1,408 |
Public employment service
No exact public employment office is currently linked to Rothwell. The verified national service may still offer online registration, job search or an official office finder.
Jobcentre Plus — Public employment service
Country-level service information is not treated as proof of a physical office in Rothwell. Sources checked through 10 Aug 2026.
Family and education
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Schools | 7 count | 7 Jul 2026 | DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract4Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Primary schools | 6 count | 3 Aug 2026 | Department for Education (GIAS)3Official |
| Schools | 7 count | 3 Aug 2026 | Department for Education (GIAS)3Official |
School for children who move here. School is compulsory from age 5 to 16, and public school is free.
A country-wide rule for United Kingdom; Rothwell's school authority applies it locally.
Sources: legislation.gov.uk · 1996–2026.
Healthcare
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| GP practices | 1 count | 7 Jul 2026 | NHS ODS GP Practices report + ONSPD Live postcode coordinates9Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
Yes — migrants can receive medical care in Rothwell under the national coverage rules.
Healthcare access follows the country-wide insurance rules; local capacity facts remain city data and are not used as proof of eligibility.
Open the official coverage guideSafety
How safe is Rothwell?
Police recorded about 7,332 incidents per 100,000 (2025-26). This counts all offences, so it is not comparable with a violent-crime-only rate from another source. Source: Police force area tables, year ending March 2026 (Table C4 or P3)19
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Recorded incidents per 100,000 residents | 7,332 incidents per 100,000 | 31 Dec 2025 | Police force area tables, year ending March 2026 (Table C4 or P3)19Official · county |
| Violent crime per 100,000 residents | 3,248 per 100,000 | Apr 2026 | data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary2Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Burglary per 100,000 residents | 434.1 per 100,000 | 30 Apr 2026 | data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary2Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
Mobility and administration
Rothwell's nearest airport was EMA, 58 km away and offered 57 direct destinations.
Climate and air quality
Monthly mean temperatures were 3.7°C in January and 16.9°C in July.
Is the air quality good in Rothwell?
The annual PM2.5 mean is 7 µg/m³ (2016) — above the WHO 2021 guideline of 5 µg/m³ but within the EU limit of 25 µg/m³. Source: European Environment Agency5
Annual mean at the measuring site(s) serving the city; current-day readings differ.
Within WHO 2021 guidelineAbove WHO, within EU limitAbove EU legal limitCity annual mean · µg/m³
City values from the published air-quality observations. WHO 2021 guidelines and EU limit values are published constants.
Rothwell 7.0
Annual PM2.5 (µg/m³)
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| NO₂ — annual mean | 11.58 µg/m³country median 7.2 | 2025 | official estimated total annual mean background concentration13Official |
| PM10 — annual mean | 12.68 µg/m³country median 11.3 | 2025 | official estimated total annual mean background concentration14Official |
| PM2.5 — annual mean | 7 µg/m³ | 31 Dec 2016 | European Environment Agency5Official · nearest-station reading |
| Monthly extreme high temperature | Jan 13.2 · Feb 16.82 · Mar 19.54 · Apr 24.6 · May 26.18 · Jun 28.7 · Jul 33.21 · Aug 31.17 · Sep 28.76 · Oct 26.7 · Nov 18.69 · Dec 14.34 °C | 31 Dec 2001 | NASA POWER / NASA Langley Research Center8Official · coordinate grid |
| Monthly extreme low temperature | Jan -7.35 · Feb -8.48 · Mar -5.26 · Apr -3.76 · May -0.26 · Jun 3.11 · Jul 6.44 · Aug 5.3 · Sep 2.75 · Oct -3.46 · Nov -4.97 · Dec -7.75 °C | 31 Dec 2001 | NASA POWER / NASA Langley Research Center8Official · coordinate grid |
| Average temperature by month | Jan 3.67 · Feb 3.89 · Mar 5.68 · Apr 8.55 · May 11.76 · Jun 14.89 · Jul 16.88 · Aug 16.53 · Sep 13.94 · Oct 10.62 · Nov 6.71 · Dec 4.3 °C | 31 Dec 2001 | NASA POWER / NASA Langley Research Center8Official · coordinate grid |
Population and city profile
How many people live in Rothwell?
The published population was 20,965 people in 2021. Source: Office for National Statistics10
By nationality
National passport95.1%
Calculated from the population and foreign-resident facts on this page.
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Area | 4.59 km² | Dec 2022 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley7Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| City area | 4.59 km² | Dec 2022 | Exact 2022 Built Up Area polygon area for BUA22CD in EPSG:27700, converted from square metres to km2.6Official |
| Foreign residents | 1,020 people | 21 Mar 2021 | Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts.7Official |
| GP practices per 10,000 residents | 0.477 per 10,000 people | 7 Jul 2026 | NHS ODS GP Practices report + ONSPD Live postcode coordinates9Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Schools per 10,000 residents | 3.34 per 10,000 people | 7 Jul 2026 | DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract4Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Population density | 4,564 people/km² | 21 Mar 2021 | www.ons.gov.uk7Official · built-up-area figure |
| Population | 20,965 people | 31 Dec 2021 | Office for National Statistics10Official |
Additional context
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Owner-occupied homes | 72.02 % | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley7Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Residents born abroad | 4.9 % | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley7Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Median age | 43 years | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley7Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Universities | 0 count | 3 Aug 2026 | Office for Students12Official |
Alternatives for people set on Rothwell
Three places for the three reasons people leave a city on the shortlist: stay in the region, stay in the country, or keep the budget and change the country. A percentage appears only where both cities publish that metric from the same source, period and grain. Distances are straight lines — travel times are not collected yet.
Wokingham as a Rothwell alternative in the same country
Better on 2 of 3 metrics measured the same way, worse on 0.
- Recorded crime, per 100k: 3,921 Wokingham vs 7,332 Rothwell−47%
- Residents: 50,325 Wokingham vs 20,965 Rothwell+140%
- Median gross pay, region: €3,866 Wokingham vs €3,138 Rothwell+23%
Alternative cities in United Kingdom
Other cities in United Kingdom to compare with Rothwell, nearest in population first.
How does Rothwell compare?
Pick a city. The answer appears here and the address bar keeps it, so the comparison can be shared; the page stays Rothwell's.
Common questions
Answered from the published values on this page, each with its source and date.
How many people live in Rothwell?
The published population was 20,965 people in 2021. Source: Office for National Statistics.
Is the air quality good in Rothwell?
The annual PM2.5 mean is 7 µg/m³ (2016) — above the WHO 2021 guideline of 5 µg/m³ but within the EU limit of 25 µg/m³. Source: European Environment Agency.
How safe is Rothwell?
Police recorded about 7,332 incidents per 100,000 (2025-26). This counts all offences, so it is not comparable with a violent-crime-only rate from another source. Source: Police force area tables, year ending March 2026 (Table C4 or P3).
What is the unemployment rate in Rothwell?
The unemployment rate is 4 % (2025-2026). Source: www.nomisweb.co.uk.
What is the typical salary around Rothwell?
The median gross salary is 3,138 EUR/month. Source: Office for National Statistics (ONS).
How many foreign residents live in Rothwell?
1,020 residents hold a foreign nationality. Source: Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts..
Is Rothwell a good place to live?
Rothwell may suit different people for different reasons. The page's profile scores compare published cost, work, housing, safety, healthcare and other available factors; they are a decision aid, not a universal recommendation.
Cite this page
Open a format to select or copy this ImmigrationDB compilation citation. The native disclosure and text fallback work without JavaScript.
APA citation
ImmigrationDB. (2026, October 16). Rothwell, United Kingdom: population, rent, salary, jobs [ImmigrationDB compilation; version 50092720a27863c0320d404910b7c016]. ImmigrationDB. https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/rothwell/ Retrieved 2026-10-16. Compilation license: CC BY 4.0, https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/BibTeX citation
@misc{immigrationdb_immigrationdb_rothwell-united-kingdom-population-rent-salary-jobs_e52b8db22421,
author = {ImmigrationDB},
title = {Rothwell, United Kingdom: population, rent, salary, jobs},
publisher = {ImmigrationDB},
year = {2026},
date = {2026-10-16},
version = {50092720a27863c0320d404910b7c016},
url = {https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/rothwell/},
note = {Retrieved 2026-10-16. ImmigrationDB compilation. Compilation license: CC BY 4.0, https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/},
}Markdown citation
[Rothwell, United Kingdom: population, rent, salary, jobs](https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/rothwell/) — ImmigrationDB; ImmigrationDB; version 50092720a27863c0320d404910b7c016; retrieved 2026-10-16; built 2026-10-16.This citation identifies the ImmigrationDB compilation/page. Underlying source publishers and datasets retain their own terms; inspect the Sources section and cite those records separately. View the underlying source records.
Sources
- BT Full Fibre 150 bt.com · checked 2026-09-15
- data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary data.police.uk · checked 2026-07-07
- Department for Education (GIAS) get-information-schools.service.gov.uk · checked 2026-08-03
- DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract get-information-schools.service.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-07
- European Environment Agency air.discomap.eea.europa.eu · checked 2026-08-05
- Exact 2022 Built Up Area polygon area for BUA22CD in EPSG:27700, converted from square metres to km2. services1.arcgis.com · checked 2026-07-15
- Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts. ons.gov.uk · checked 2021-03-21
- NASA POWER / NASA Langley Research Center power.larc.nasa.gov · checked 2026-08-05
- NHS ODS GP Practices report + ONSPD Live postcode coordinates digital.nhs.uk · checked 2026-07-07
- Office for National Statistics ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-08-04
Show 12 more sources
- Office for National Statistics (ONS) ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-08-06
- Office for Students officeforstudents.org.uk · checked 2026-08-03
- official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
- official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
- ONS Census 2021 towns and cities dataset Figure 9 individual BUA employment row for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-05
- ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-09-24
- OpenFlights raw.githubusercontent.com · checked 2026-08-03
- OurAirports davidmegginson.github.io · checked 2026-08-03
- Police force area tables, year ending March 2026 (Table C4 or P3) ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-09-24
- Three 100GB one-month data pack three.co.uk · checked 2026-09-15
- www.nomisweb.co.uk nomisweb.co.uk · checked 2026-08-26
- www.ofcom.org.uk ofcom.org.uk · checked 2026-07-15
Spotted a number that looks wrong? Every value here carries its source and date — tell us what you found and we will re-check it against the source.