Living in Royston
In Royston (Yorkshire and the Humber), unemployment is 2.9% (2023).
The employment rate was 55.5% in March 2021. The population of Royston (Barnsley), in the United Kingdom, was 10,755 in March 2021. Gigabit broadband availability was 78.6%. The city had 4 schools in 2026. Owner occupation accounted for 66.8% of homes in March 2021.
Lower unemployment than 76% of United Kingdom cities that publish it and cleaner air than 65% of United Kingdom cities that publish it.
Which United Kingdom-wide rules apply when you move to Royston?
National rules stay on the country page instead of being relabelled as city data.
Housing and cost
No city-level rent figure is published for Royston. The available city-level cost figures remain below.
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Internet, 60 Mbps unlimited | 24.02 EUR/month | 30 Sept 2026 | BT Full Fibre 1501Official · national market |
| Mobile plan, 10 GB | 12.87 EUR/month | 30 Sept 2026 | Three 100GB one-month data pack19Official · national market |
| Dwellings | 4,650 count | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Average monthly rent (whole dwelling) | 813 EUR/month | 31 Aug 2026 | ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price15Official · county |
Is Royston a good place to live?
There is no universal answer. The profile scores below show who the available published evidence may suit; they are a decision aid, not a personal recommendation.
Work and income
What is the unemployment rate in Royston?
The unemployment rate is 2.9 % (January 2023). Source: www.ons.gov.uk22
Royston 2.9%
Unemployment rate (%)
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gigabit broadband availability | 78.56 % | Not stated | www.ofcom.org.uk30Supplemental estimate · Supplemental context |
| Employment rate | 55.47 % | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 towns and cities dataset Figure 9 individual BUA employment row for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley14Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Superfast broadband availability | 99.77 % | Not stated | www.ofcom.org.uk30Supplemental estimate · Supplemental context |
| Median gross salary (regional) | 2,918 EUR/month | 31 Dec 2024 | www.ons.gov.uk21Official |
| Unemployment rate | 2.9 %country median 3.4% | 31 Dec 2023 | www.ons.gov.uk22Official |
What does a salary buy in Royston?
Take-home pay after tax, minus rent and the everyday bills this city publishes. Each line names its source.
RentInternetMobileLeft over
Line-by-line breakdown and sources
| Each month | € |
|---|---|
| Take-home payOECD Taxing Wages 2025, single, no children. Includes central and local income tax and employee social contributions; euro amounts at the ECB average for 2026-08. | €2,445 |
| Rentaverage rent of a whole dwelling · official · ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price · 2026-08-31 | − €813 |
| Internet€24 · official · BT Full Fibre 150 · 2026-09-30 | − €24 |
| Mobile plan€13 · official · Three 100GB one-month data pack · 2026-09-30 | − €13 |
| Other everyday billsnot published for this city: public transport pass, utilities | — |
| Left overbefore the bills this city does not publish | €1,595 |
Public employment service
No exact public employment office is currently linked to Royston. The verified national service may still offer online registration, job search or an official office finder.
Jobcentre Plus — Public employment service
Country-level service information is not treated as proof of a physical office in Royston. Sources checked through 10 Aug 2026.
Family and education
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Schools | 4 count | 7 Jul 2026 | DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract4Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Primary schools | 15 count | 3 Aug 2026 | Department for Education (GIAS)3Official |
| Schools | 19 count | 3 Aug 2026 | Department for Education (GIAS)3Official |
School for children who move here. School is compulsory from age 5 to 16, and public school is free.
A country-wide rule for United Kingdom; Royston's school authority applies it locally.
Sources: legislation.gov.uk · 1996–2026.
Healthcare
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| GP practices | 2 count | 7 Jul 2026 | NHS ODS GP Practices report + ONSPD Live postcode coordinates8Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
Yes — migrants can receive medical care in Royston under the national coverage rules.
Healthcare access follows the country-wide insurance rules; local capacity facts remain city data and are not used as proof of eligibility.
Open the official coverage guideSafety
How safe is Royston?
Police recorded about 9,507 incidents per 100,000 (2025-26). This counts all offences, so it is not comparable with a violent-crime-only rate from another source. Source: Police force area tables, year ending March 2026 (Table C4 or P3)18
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Recorded incidents per 100,000 residents | 9,507 incidents per 100,000 | 31 Dec 2025 | Police force area tables, year ending March 2026 (Table C4 or P3)18Official · county |
| Violent crime per 100,000 residents | 3,477 per 100,000 | Apr 2026 | data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary2Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Burglary per 100,000 residents | 251.1 per 100,000 | 30 Apr 2026 | data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary2Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
Mobility and administration
Climate and air quality
Annual PM2.5 was 6.24 µg/m³ in 2025. Annual NO₂ was 8.1 µg/m³ in 2025. Annual PM10 was 11.2 µg/m³ in 2025.
Is the air quality good in Royston?
The annual PM2.5 mean is about 6.2 µg/m³ (2025) — above the WHO 2021 guideline of 5 µg/m³ but within the EU limit of 25 µg/m³.
Annual mean at the measuring site(s) serving the city; current-day readings differ.
- PM2.5 — annual mean: 6.24 µg/m³ · official estimated total annual mean background concentration13
Within WHO 2021 guidelineAbove WHO, within EU limitAbove EU legal limitCity annual mean · µg/m³
City values from the published air-quality observations. WHO 2021 guidelines and EU limit values are published constants.
Royston 6.2
Annual PM2.5 (µg/m³)
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| NO₂ — annual mean | 8.1 µg/m³country median 7.2 | 2025 | official estimated total annual mean background concentration11Official |
| PM10 — annual mean | 11.21 µg/m³country median 11.3 — about the same | 2025 | official estimated total annual mean background concentration12Official |
| PM2.5 — annual mean | 6.24 µg/m³country median 6.5 | 2025 | official estimated total annual mean background concentration13Official |
| Monthly extreme high temperature | Jan 13.23 · Feb 16.78 · Mar 19.81 · Apr 23.29 · May 24.88 · Jun 27.96 · Jul 31.26 · Aug 28.69 · Sep 26.65 · Oct 25.73 · Nov 18.05 · Dec 13.8 °C | 31 Dec 2001 | NASA POWER / NASA Langley Research Center7Official · coordinate grid |
| Monthly extreme low temperature | Jan -6.21 · Feb -8.69 · Mar -4.66 · Apr -3.21 · May -0.84 · Jun 2.94 · Jul 5.38 · Aug 4.56 · Sep 2.77 · Oct -2.23 · Nov -4.23 · Dec -8.75 °C | 31 Dec 2001 | NASA POWER / NASA Langley Research Center7Official · coordinate grid |
| Average temperature by month | Jan 3.42 · Feb 3.61 · Mar 5.37 · Apr 8.11 · May 11.27 · Jun 14.35 · Jul 16.17 · Aug 15.81 · Sep 13.33 · Oct 10.08 · Nov 6.36 · Dec 3.94 °C | 31 Dec 2001 | NASA POWER / NASA Langley Research Center7Official · coordinate grid |
Population and city profile
The city covered 2.6 km² in December 2022. Population density was 4,126.5 people per km² in 2021.
How many people live in Royston?
The published population was 10,755 people in March 2021. Source: Census 2021 usual resident population count for the exact Built Up Area (BUA), England excluding London or Wales.6
By nationality
National passport96.9%
Calculated from the population and foreign-resident facts on this page.
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Area | 2.61 km² | Dec 2022 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| City area | 2.61 km² | Dec 2022 | Exact 2022 Built Up Area polygon area for BUA22CD in EPSG:27700, converted from square metres to km2.5Official |
| Foreign residents | 330 people | 21 Mar 2021 | Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts.6Official |
| GP practices per 10,000 residents | 1.86 per 10,000 people | 7 Jul 2026 | NHS ODS GP Practices report + ONSPD Live postcode coordinates8Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Schools per 10,000 residents | 3.72 per 10,000 people | 7 Jul 2026 | DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract4Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Population density | 4,127 people/km² | 21 Mar 2021 | www.ons.gov.uk6Official · built-up-area figure |
| Population | 10,755 people | 21 Mar 2021 | Census 2021 usual resident population count for the exact Built Up Area (BUA), England excluding London or Wales.6Official |
International community in Royston
Named groups from exact city-grain official distributions. Citizenship, birthplace, language and ancestry answer different questions and stay separate.
Country of birth
Usual residents living in the individual ONS Built-up Area on Census Day 21 March 2021 · 2021 Census
| Published group | People | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Europe: United Kingdom | 10,425 | 96.9% |
| Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) | 170 | 1.6% |
| Europe: EU countries | 160 | 1.5% |
Largest published groups; zero-count groups are omitted. Dimensions are source-native and are never merged. Official source6
Additional context
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Owner-occupied homes | 66.77 % | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Residents born abroad | 3.1 % | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Residents with a bachelor's degree or higher | 22.2 % | 31 Dec 2021 | Office for National Statistics9Official |
| Workers aged 16 and over | 4,815 workers | 31 Dec 2021 | Office for National Statistics9Official |
| Median age | 41 years | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Universities | 0 count | 3 Aug 2026 | Office for Students10Official |
Alternatives for people set on Royston
Three places for the three reasons people leave a city on the shortlist: stay in the region, stay in the country, or keep the budget and change the country. A percentage appears only where both cities publish that metric from the same source, period and grain. Distances are straight lines — travel times are not collected yet.
Crosby (Sefton) as a Royston alternative in the same country
A move, not a commute, at 105 km, better on 1 of 4 metrics measured the same way, worse on 2.
- Residents: 50,215 Crosby (Sefton) vs 10,755 Royston+367%
- Recorded crime, per 100k: 7,552 Crosby (Sefton) vs 9,507 Royston−21%
- Annual PM2.5: 7.7 µg/m³ Crosby (Sefton) vs 6.2 µg/m³ Royston+23%
- Median gross pay, region: €2,812 Crosby (Sefton) vs €2,918 Royston−4%
Cities near Royston
Published cities within 25 km, nearest first. Distances are straight-line.
Alternative cities in United Kingdom
Other cities in United Kingdom to compare with Royston, nearest in population first.
How does Royston compare?
Pick a city. The answer appears here and the address bar keeps it, so the comparison can be shared; the page stays Royston's.
Is Royston part of Barnsley?
Royston is in the published commuting zone of Barnsley; this does not mean it is administratively part of the hub. Barnsley city profile
Relationship type: Commuting Zone Of. Source20
Common questions
Answered from the published values on this page, each with its source and date.
How many people live in Royston?
The published population was 10,755 people in March 2021. Source: Census 2021 usual resident population count for the exact Built Up Area (BUA), England excluding London or Wales..
Is the air quality good in Royston?
The annual PM2.5 mean is about 6.2 µg/m³ (2025) — above the WHO 2021 guideline of 5 µg/m³ but within the EU limit of 25 µg/m³. Source: official estimated total annual mean background concentration.
How safe is Royston?
Police recorded about 9,507 incidents per 100,000 (2025-26). This counts all offences, so it is not comparable with a violent-crime-only rate from another source. Source: Police force area tables, year ending March 2026 (Table C4 or P3).
What is the unemployment rate in Royston?
The unemployment rate is 2.9 % (January 2023). Source: www.ons.gov.uk.
What is the typical salary around Royston?
The median gross salary is 2,918 EUR/month. Source: www.ons.gov.uk.
How many foreign residents live in Royston?
330 residents hold a foreign nationality. Source: Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts..
Is Royston a good place to live?
Royston may suit different people for different reasons. The page's profile scores compare published cost, work, housing, safety, healthcare and other available factors; they are a decision aid, not a universal recommendation.
Is Royston part of Barnsley?
Royston is in the published commuting zone of Barnsley; this does not mean it is administratively part of the hub.
Which cities are near Royston?
Barnsley, Havercroft and Ryhill, Ryhill, Cudworth and Shafton, Cudworth are near Royston. Typed relationship labels are shown where published; other rows use straight-line distance from admitted coordinates.
How many people born in Europe: United Kingdom live in Royston?
The official country of birth distribution records 10,425 people (96.9%) in the source-defined population for 2021 Census. This is a country of birth measure, not a general estimate of ethnicity or migration status.
Cite this page
Open a format to select or copy this ImmigrationDB compilation citation. The native disclosure and text fallback work without JavaScript.
APA citation
ImmigrationDB. (2026, October 16). Royston (Yorkshire and the Humber), United Kingdom: rent [ImmigrationDB compilation; version 14f8a8f64e6966a2072b293eaea48229]. ImmigrationDB. https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/royston/ Retrieved 2026-10-16. Compilation license: CC BY 4.0, https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/BibTeX citation
@misc{immigrationdb_immigrationdb_royston-yorkshire-and-the-humber-united-kingdom-rent_91b064153865,
author = {ImmigrationDB},
title = {Royston (Yorkshire and the Humber), United Kingdom: rent},
publisher = {ImmigrationDB},
year = {2026},
date = {2026-10-16},
version = {14f8a8f64e6966a2072b293eaea48229},
url = {https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/royston/},
note = {Retrieved 2026-10-16. ImmigrationDB compilation. Compilation license: CC BY 4.0, https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/},
}Markdown citation
[Royston (Yorkshire and the Humber), United Kingdom: rent](https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/royston/) — ImmigrationDB; ImmigrationDB; version 14f8a8f64e6966a2072b293eaea48229; retrieved 2026-10-16; built 2026-10-16.This citation identifies the ImmigrationDB compilation/page. Underlying source publishers and datasets retain their own terms; inspect the Sources section and cite those records separately. View the underlying source records.
Sources
- BT Full Fibre 150 bt.com · checked 2026-09-15
- data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary data.police.uk · checked 2026-07-07
- Department for Education (GIAS) get-information-schools.service.gov.uk · checked 2026-08-03
- DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract get-information-schools.service.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-07
- Exact 2022 Built Up Area polygon area for BUA22CD in EPSG:27700, converted from square metres to km2. services1.arcgis.com · checked 2026-07-15
- Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts. ons.gov.uk · checked 2021-03-21
- NASA POWER / NASA Langley Research Center power.larc.nasa.gov · checked 2026-08-05
- NHS ODS GP Practices report + ONSPD Live postcode coordinates digital.nhs.uk · checked 2026-07-07
- Office for National Statistics ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-08-07
- Office for Students officeforstudents.org.uk · checked 2026-08-03
Show 20 more sources
- official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
- official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
- official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
- ONS Census 2021 towns and cities dataset Figure 9 individual BUA employment row for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-05
- ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-09-24
- OpenFlights raw.githubusercontent.com · checked 2026-08-03
- OurAirports davidmegginson.github.io · checked 2026-08-03
- Police force area tables, year ending March 2026 (Table C4 or P3) ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-09-24
- Three 100GB one-month data pack three.co.uk · checked 2026-09-15
- Travel to Work Areas (December 2011) full extent boundaries in the United Kingdom services1.arcgis.com · checked 2026-09-19
- www.ons.gov.uk ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-08-27
- www.ons.gov.uk ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-08-26
- Coordinate identity evidence wikidata.org · checked 2026-09-06
- Coordinate identity evidence wikidata.org · checked 2026-09-06
- Coordinate identity evidence wikidata.org · checked 2026-09-06
- Coordinate identity evidence wikidata.org · checked 2026-09-06
- Coordinate identity evidence wikidata.org · checked 2026-09-06
- Wikidata identity and coordinates — Q2065618 Wikidata identity and coordinates · wikidata.org · checked 2026-09-05
- Wikidata identity and coordinates — Q216638 Wikidata identity and coordinates · wikidata.org · checked 2026-09-05
- www.ofcom.org.uk ofcom.org.uk · checked 2026-07-15
Spotted a number that looks wrong? Every value here carries its source and date — tell us what you found and we will re-check it against the source.