Living in Ruthin
In Ruthin, unemployment is 3.6% (2023).
The employment rate was 54.1% in March 2021. Annual NO₂ was 3.89 µg/m³ in 2025. In March 2021, Ruthin had a population of 5,700. The city covered 2.5 km² in December 2022. Population density was 2,286.9 people per km² in 2021. Gigabit broadband availability was 48.7%. Owner occupation accounted for 65.8% of homes in March 2021.
Which United Kingdom-wide rules apply when you move to Ruthin?
National rules stay on the country page instead of being relabelled as city data.
Housing and cost
No city-level rent figure is published for Ruthin. The available city-level cost figures remain below.
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Internet, 60 Mbps unlimited | 24.02 EUR/month | 30 Sept 2026 | BT Full Fibre 1501Official · national market |
| Mobile plan, 10 GB | 12.87 EUR/month | 30 Sept 2026 | Three 100GB one-month data pack14Official · national market |
| Dwellings | 2,635 count | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley4Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Average monthly rent (whole dwelling) | 838.7 EUR/month | 31 Aug 2026 | ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price10Official · county |
Is Ruthin a good place to live?
There is no universal answer. The profile scores below show who the available published evidence may suit; they are a decision aid, not a personal recommendation.
Work and income
What is the unemployment rate in Ruthin?
The unemployment rate is 3.6 % (January 2023). Source: www.ons.gov.uk24
Ruthin 3.6%
Unemployment rate (%)
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gigabit broadband availability | 48.66 % | Not stated | www.ofcom.org.uk25Supplemental estimate · Supplemental context |
| Employment rate | 54.1 % | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 towns and cities dataset Figure 9 individual BUA employment row for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley9Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Superfast broadband availability | 96.81 % | Not stated | www.ofcom.org.uk25Supplemental estimate · Supplemental context |
| Median gross salary (regional) | 2,599 EUR/month | 31 Dec 2024 | www.ons.gov.uk23Official |
| Unemployment rate | 3.6 %country median 3.4% | 31 Dec 2023 | www.ons.gov.uk24Official |
What does a salary buy in Ruthin?
Take-home pay after tax, minus rent and the everyday bills this city publishes. Each line names its source.
RentInternetMobile
Line-by-line breakdown and sources
| Each month | € |
|---|---|
| Take-home payOECD Taxing Wages 2025, single, no children. Includes central and local income tax and employee social contributions; euro amounts at the ECB average for 2026-08. | outside the model's range |
| Rentaverage rent of a whole dwelling · official · ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price · 2026-08-31 | − €839 |
| Internet€24 · official · BT Full Fibre 150 · 2026-09-30 | − €24 |
| Mobile plan€13 · official · Three 100GB one-month data pack · 2026-09-30 | − €13 |
| Other everyday billsnot published for this city: public transport pass, utilities | — |
| Left overbefore the bills this city does not publish | — |
Public employment service
No exact public employment office is currently linked to Ruthin. The verified national service may still offer online registration, job search or an official office finder.
Jobcentre Plus — Public employment service
Country-level service information is not treated as proof of a physical office in Ruthin. Sources checked through 10 Aug 2026.
Family and education
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Schools | 4 count | 7 Jul 2026 | Welsh Government DataMapWales maintained schools WFS18Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Primary schools | 9 count | 3 Aug 2026 | Welsh Government (My Local School)16Official |
| Schools | 10 count | 3 Aug 2026 | Welsh Government (My Local School)16Official |
School for children who move here. School is compulsory from age 5 to 16, and public school is free.
A country-wide rule for United Kingdom; Ruthin's school authority applies it locally.
Sources: legislation.gov.uk · 1996–2026.
Healthcare
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| GP practices | 2 count | 7 Jul 2026 | Welsh Government DataMapWales active GP main sites17Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
Yes — migrants can receive medical care in Ruthin under the national coverage rules.
Healthcare access follows the country-wide insurance rules; local capacity facts remain city data and are not used as proof of eligibility.
Open the official coverage guideSafety
How safe is Ruthin?
Police recorded about 9,471 incidents per 100,000 (2025-26). This counts all offences, so it is not comparable with a violent-crime-only rate from another source. Source: Police force area tables, year ending March 2026, Table C413
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Recorded incidents per 100,000 residents | 9,471 incidents per 100,000 | 31 Dec 2025 | Police force area tables, year ending March 2026, Table C413Official · county |
| Violent crime per 100,000 residents | 3,947 per 100,000 | Apr 2026 | data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary2Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Burglary per 100,000 residents | 315.8 per 100,000 | 30 Apr 2026 | data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary2Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
Mobility and administration
Climate and air quality
Annual PM2.5 was 4.95 µg/m³ in 2025. Annual PM10 was 8.5 µg/m³ in 2025.
Is the air quality good in Ruthin?
The annual PM2.5 mean is about 4.9 µg/m³ (2025) — within the WHO 2021 guideline.
Annual mean at the measuring site(s) serving the city; current-day readings differ.
- PM2.5 — annual mean: 4.95 µg/m³ · official estimated total annual mean background concentration8
Night-time low to daytime high
mm
Within WHO 2021 guidelineAbove WHO, within EU limitAbove EU legal limitCity annual mean · µg/m³
City values from the published air-quality observations. WHO 2021 guidelines and EU limit values are published constants.
Ruthin 5.0
Annual PM2.5 (µg/m³)
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| NO₂ — annual mean | 3.89 µg/m³country median 7.2 | 2025 | official estimated total annual mean background concentration6Official |
| PM10 — annual mean | 8.45 µg/m³country median 11.3 | 2025 | official estimated total annual mean background concentration7Official |
| PM2.5 — annual mean | 4.95 µg/m³country median 6.5 | 2025 | official estimated total annual mean background concentration8Official |
| Average daytime high by month | Jan 8 · Feb 8.4 · Mar 10.1 · Apr 12.6 · May 15.6 · Jun 18.2 · Jul 19.8 · Aug 19.5 · Sep 17.5 · Oct 14.2 · Nov 10.8 · Dec 8.6 °C | 31 Dec 1991 | World Meteorological Organization / NOAA NCEI19Official |
| Average night-time low by month | Jan 2.8 · Feb 2.9 · Mar 3.9 · Apr 5.3 · May 7.7 · Jun 10.5 · Jul 12.5 · Aug 12.4 · Sep 10.6 · Oct 8.1 · Nov 5.4 · Dec 3.2 °C | 31 Dec 1991 | World Meteorological Organization / NOAA NCEI20Official |
| Average temperature by month | Jan 5.4 · Feb 5.6 · Mar 7 · Apr 9 · May 11.7 · Jun 14.3 · Jul 16.1 · Aug 15.9 · Sep 14 · Oct 11.1 · Nov 8.1 · Dec 5.9 °C | 31 Dec 1991 | World Meteorological Organization / NOAA NCEI21Official |
| Average precipitation by month | Jan 74.2 · Feb 61.7 · Mar 52.2 · Apr 49.1 · May 52.2 · Jun 60.3 · Jul 63 · Aug 68.9 · Sep 72.9 · Oct 89.3 · Nov 88.2 · Dec 96.6 mm | 31 Dec 1991 | World Meteorological Organization / NOAA NCEI22Official |
Annual PM2.5 fell 50.5% between 2013 and 2025, from 10.0 to 4.9.
Similar climate. In United Kingdom: Birkenhead ±0.4 °C. Elsewhere: Cork (Ireland) ±0.5 °C, Saanich (Canada) ±1.0 °C, Brugge (Belgium) ±0.9 °C, Neustadt in Holstein (Germany) ±1.8 °C, Bremerhaven (Germany) ±1.8 °C. Twenty closest, compared month by month
Monthly highs and lows against the 1991–2020 station normals of the nearest station; ± is the average monthly difference.
Population and city profile
How many people live in Ruthin?
The published population was 5,700 people in March 2021. Source: Census 2021 usual resident population count for the exact Built Up Area (BUA), England excluding London or Wales.4
By nationality
National passport93.5%
Calculated from the population and foreign-resident facts on this page.
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Area | 2.49 km² | Dec 2022 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley4Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| City area | 2.49 km² | Dec 2022 | Exact 2022 Built Up Area polygon area for BUA22CD in EPSG:27700, converted from square metres to km2.3Official |
| Foreign residents | 370 people | 21 Mar 2021 | Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts.4Official |
| GP practices per 10,000 residents | 3.51 per 10,000 people | 7 Jul 2026 | Welsh Government DataMapWales active GP main sites17Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Schools per 10,000 residents | 7.02 per 10,000 people | 7 Jul 2026 | Welsh Government DataMapWales maintained schools WFS18Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Population density | 2,287 people/km² | 21 Mar 2021 | www.ons.gov.uk4Official · built-up-area figure |
| Population | 5,700 people | 21 Mar 2021 | Census 2021 usual resident population count for the exact Built Up Area (BUA), England excluding London or Wales.4Official |
Additional context
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Owner-occupied homes | 65.84 % | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley4Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Residents born abroad | 6.5 % | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley4Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Median age | 46 years | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley4Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Universities | 0 count | 3 Aug 2026 | Medr (Wales)5Official |
Alternatives for people set on Ruthin
Nothing here reaches an argued comparison yet: no other published city shares enough metrics with Ruthin from the same source, period and grain. What is collected is below.
Alternative cities in United Kingdom
Other cities in United Kingdom to compare with Ruthin, nearest in population first.
How does Ruthin compare?
Pick a city. The answer appears here and the address bar keeps it, so the comparison can be shared; the page stays Ruthin's.
Is Ruthin part of Rhyl?
Ruthin is in the published commuting zone of Rhyl; this does not mean it is administratively part of the hub. Rhyl city profile
Relationship type: Commuting Zone Of. Source15
Common questions
Answered from the published values on this page, each with its source and date.
How many people live in Ruthin?
The published population was 5,700 people in March 2021. Source: Census 2021 usual resident population count for the exact Built Up Area (BUA), England excluding London or Wales..
Is the air quality good in Ruthin?
The annual PM2.5 mean is about 4.9 µg/m³ (2025) — within the WHO 2021 guideline. Source: official estimated total annual mean background concentration.
How safe is Ruthin?
Police recorded about 9,471 incidents per 100,000 (2025-26). This counts all offences, so it is not comparable with a violent-crime-only rate from another source. Source: Police force area tables, year ending March 2026, Table C4.
What is the unemployment rate in Ruthin?
The unemployment rate is 3.6 % (January 2023). Source: www.ons.gov.uk.
What is the typical salary around Ruthin?
The median gross salary is 2,599 EUR/month. Source: www.ons.gov.uk.
How many foreign residents live in Ruthin?
370 residents hold a foreign nationality. Source: Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts..
Is Ruthin a good place to live?
Ruthin may suit different people for different reasons. The page's profile scores compare published cost, work, housing, safety, healthcare and other available factors; they are a decision aid, not a universal recommendation.
Is Ruthin part of Rhyl?
Ruthin is in the published commuting zone of Rhyl; this does not mean it is administratively part of the hub.
Cite this page
Open a format to select or copy this ImmigrationDB compilation citation. The native disclosure and text fallback work without JavaScript.
APA citation
ImmigrationDB. (2026, October 16). Ruthin, United Kingdom: population, rent, salary, jobs [ImmigrationDB compilation; version 3970cf6ab08a775021b02f9dba8967db]. ImmigrationDB. https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/ruthin/ Retrieved 2026-10-16. Compilation license: CC BY 4.0, https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/BibTeX citation
@misc{immigrationdb_immigrationdb_ruthin-united-kingdom-population-rent-salary-jobs_1dc67acdce6c,
author = {ImmigrationDB},
title = {Ruthin, United Kingdom: population, rent, salary, jobs},
publisher = {ImmigrationDB},
year = {2026},
date = {2026-10-16},
version = {3970cf6ab08a775021b02f9dba8967db},
url = {https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/ruthin/},
note = {Retrieved 2026-10-16. ImmigrationDB compilation. Compilation license: CC BY 4.0, https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/},
}Markdown citation
[Ruthin, United Kingdom: population, rent, salary, jobs](https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/ruthin/) — ImmigrationDB; ImmigrationDB; version 3970cf6ab08a775021b02f9dba8967db; retrieved 2026-10-16; built 2026-10-16.This citation identifies the ImmigrationDB compilation/page. Underlying source publishers and datasets retain their own terms; inspect the Sources section and cite those records separately. View the underlying source records.
Sources
- BT Full Fibre 150 bt.com · checked 2026-09-15
- data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary data.police.uk · checked 2026-07-07
- Exact 2022 Built Up Area polygon area for BUA22CD in EPSG:27700, converted from square metres to km2. services1.arcgis.com · checked 2026-07-15
- Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts. ons.gov.uk · checked 2021-03-21
- Medr (Wales) medr.cymru · checked 2026-08-03
- official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
- official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
- official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
- ONS Census 2021 towns and cities dataset Figure 9 individual BUA employment row for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-05
- ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-09-24
Show 15 more sources
- OpenFlights raw.githubusercontent.com · checked 2026-08-03
- OurAirports davidmegginson.github.io · checked 2026-08-03
- Police force area tables, year ending March 2026, Table C4 ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-10-05
- Three 100GB one-month data pack three.co.uk · checked 2026-09-15
- Travel to Work Areas (December 2011) full extent boundaries in the United Kingdom services1.arcgis.com · checked 2026-09-19
- Welsh Government (My Local School) mylocalschool.gov.wales · checked 2026-08-03
- Welsh Government DataMapWales active GP main sites datamap.gov.wales · checked 2026-07-07
- Welsh Government DataMapWales maintained schools WFS datamap.gov.wales · checked 2026-07-07
- World Meteorological Organization / NOAA NCEI nodc.noaa.gov · checked 2026-08-03
- World Meteorological Organization / NOAA NCEI nodc.noaa.gov · checked 2026-08-03
- World Meteorological Organization / NOAA NCEI nodc.noaa.gov · checked 2026-08-03
- World Meteorological Organization / NOAA NCEI nodc.noaa.gov · checked 2026-08-03
- www.ons.gov.uk ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-08-27
- www.ons.gov.uk ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-08-26
- www.ofcom.org.uk ofcom.org.uk · checked 2026-07-15
Spotted a number that looks wrong? Every value here carries its source and date — tell us what you found and we will re-check it against the source.