Living in Seaton
In Seaton, unemployment is 2.2% (2023).
Owner occupation accounted for 73.6% of homes in March 2021. Seaton (East Devon), a city in the United Kingdom, had a population of 7,435 in March 2021. In 2025, annual PM2.5 was 5.96 µg/m³. The city covered 2.4 km² in December 2022. Population density was 3,124.7 people per km² in 2021. Gigabit broadband availability was 58.3%.
Lower unemployment than 94% of United Kingdom cities that publish it, less recorded crime than 95% of United Kingdom cities that publish it and cleaner air than 76% of United Kingdom cities that publish it.
Which United Kingdom-wide rules apply when you move to Seaton?
National rules stay on the country page instead of being relabelled as city data.
Housing and cost
No city-level rent figure is published for Seaton. The available city-level cost figures remain below.
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Internet, 60 Mbps unlimited | 24.02 EUR/month | 30 Sept 2026 | BT Full Fibre 1501Official · national market |
| Mobile plan, 10 GB | 12.87 EUR/month | 30 Sept 2026 | Three 100GB one-month data pack18Official · national market |
| Dwellings | 3,745 count | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Average monthly rent (whole dwelling) | 1,131 EUR/month | 31 Aug 2026 | ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price14Official · county |
Is Seaton a good place to live?
There is no universal answer. The profile scores below show who the available published evidence may suit; they are a decision aid, not a personal recommendation.
Work and income
The employment rate was 40.5% in March 2021.
What is the unemployment rate in Seaton?
The unemployment rate is 2.2 % (January 2023). Source: www.ons.gov.uk25
Seaton 2.2%
Unemployment rate (%)
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gigabit broadband availability | 58.33 % | Not stated | www.ofcom.org.uk26Supplemental estimate · Supplemental context |
| Employment rate | 40.52 % | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 towns and cities dataset Figure 9 individual BUA employment row for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley13Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Superfast broadband availability | 98.86 % | Not stated | www.ofcom.org.uk26Supplemental estimate · Supplemental context |
| Median gross salary (regional) | 2,866 EUR/month | 31 Dec 2024 | www.ons.gov.uk24Official |
| Unemployment rate | 2.2 %country median 3.4% | 31 Dec 2023 | www.ons.gov.uk25Official |
What does a salary buy in Seaton?
Take-home pay after tax, minus rent and the everyday bills this city publishes. Each line names its source.
RentInternetMobileLeft over
Line-by-line breakdown and sources
| Each month | € |
|---|---|
| Take-home payOECD Taxing Wages 2025, single, no children. Includes central and local income tax and employee social contributions; euro amounts at the ECB average for 2026-08. | €2,409 |
| Rentaverage rent of a whole dwelling · official · ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price · 2026-08-31 | − €1,131 |
| Internet€24 · official · BT Full Fibre 150 · 2026-09-30 | − €24 |
| Mobile plan€13 · official · Three 100GB one-month data pack · 2026-09-30 | − €13 |
| Other everyday billsnot published for this city: public transport pass, utilities | — |
| Left overbefore the bills this city does not publish | €1,241 |
Public employment service
No exact public employment office is currently linked to Seaton. The verified national service may still offer online registration, job search or an official office finder.
Jobcentre Plus — Public employment service
Country-level service information is not treated as proof of a physical office in Seaton. Sources checked through 10 Aug 2026.
Family and education
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Schools | 1 count | 7 Jul 2026 | DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract4Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Primary schools | 3 count | 3 Aug 2026 | Department for Education (GIAS)3Official |
| Schools | 3 count | 3 Aug 2026 | Department for Education (GIAS)3Official |
School for children who move here. School is compulsory from age 5 to 16, and public school is free.
A country-wide rule for United Kingdom; Seaton's school authority applies it locally.
Sources: legislation.gov.uk · 1996–2026.
Healthcare
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| GP practices | 2 count | 7 Jul 2026 | NHS ODS GP Practices report + ONSPD Live postcode coordinates7Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
Yes — migrants can receive medical care in Seaton under the national coverage rules.
Healthcare access follows the country-wide insurance rules; local capacity facts remain city data and are not used as proof of eligibility.
Open the official coverage guideSafety
How safe is Seaton?
Police recorded about 4,563 incidents per 100,000 (2025-26). This counts all offences, so it is not comparable with a violent-crime-only rate from another source. Source: Police force area tables, year ending March 2026 (Table C4 or P3)17
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Recorded incidents per 100,000 residents | 4,563 incidents per 100,000 | 31 Dec 2025 | Police force area tables, year ending March 2026 (Table C4 or P3)17Official · county |
| Violent crime per 100,000 residents | 2,757 per 100,000 | Apr 2026 | data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary2Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Burglary per 100,000 residents | 148 per 100,000 | 30 Apr 2026 | data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary2Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
Mobility and administration
Climate and air quality
Annual NO₂ was 3.45 µg/m³ in 2025. Annual PM10 was 9.9 µg/m³ in 2025.
Is the air quality good in Seaton?
The annual PM2.5 mean is about 6 µg/m³ (2025) — above the WHO 2021 guideline of 5 µg/m³ but within the EU limit of 25 µg/m³.
Annual mean at the measuring site(s) serving the city; current-day readings differ.
- PM2.5 — annual mean: 5.96 µg/m³ · official estimated total annual mean background concentration12
Night-time low to daytime high
mm
Within WHO 2021 guidelineAbove WHO, within EU limitAbove EU legal limitCity annual mean · µg/m³
City values from the published air-quality observations. WHO 2021 guidelines and EU limit values are published constants.
Seaton 6.0
Annual PM2.5 (µg/m³)
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| NO₂ — annual mean | 3.45 µg/m³country median 7.2 | 2025 | official estimated total annual mean background concentration10Official |
| PM10 — annual mean | 9.94 µg/m³country median 11.3 | 2025 | official estimated total annual mean background concentration11Official |
| PM2.5 — annual mean | 5.96 µg/m³country median 6.5 | 2025 | official estimated total annual mean background concentration12Official |
| Average daytime high by month | Jan 7 · Feb 7.3 · Mar 9.5 · Apr 12.2 · May 15.3 · Jun 18.1 · Jul 19.9 · Aug 19.6 · Sep 17.3 · Oct 13.4 · Nov 9.9 · Dec 7.6 °C | 31 Dec 1991 | World Meteorological Organization / NOAA NCEI20Official · nearest-station reading |
| Average night-time low by month | Jan 2 · Feb 1.9 · Mar 2.9 · Apr 4.4 · May 7 · Jun 9.8 · Jul 11.8 · Aug 11.9 · Sep 9.9 · Oct 7.6 · Nov 4.7 · Dec 2.6 °C | 31 Dec 1991 | World Meteorological Organization / NOAA NCEI21Official · nearest-station reading |
| Average temperature by month | Jan 4.5 · Feb 4.6 · Mar 6.2 · Apr 8.3 · May 11.2 · Jun 14 · Jul 15.8 · Aug 15.7 · Sep 13.6 · Oct 10.5 · Nov 7.3 · Dec 5 °C | 31 Dec 1991 | World Meteorological Organization / NOAA NCEI22Official · nearest-station reading |
| Average precipitation by month | Jan 112.2 · Feb 86.1 · Mar 77.7 · Apr 75.5 · May 64.4 · Jun 72.8 · Jul 67.4 · Aug 86.4 · Sep 78.4 · Oct 119.3 · Nov 127.8 · Dec 119.5 mm | 31 Dec 1991 | World Meteorological Organization / NOAA NCEI23Official · nearest-station reading |
Similar climate. In United Kingdom: Bradford ±1.0 °C. Elsewhere: Cork (Ireland) ±0.7 °C, Saanich (Canada) ±1.3 °C, Neustadt in Holstein (Germany) ±1.5 °C, Heide (Germany) ±1.5 °C, Meldorf (Germany) ±1.5 °C. Twenty closest, compared month by month
Monthly highs and lows against the 1991–2020 station normals of the nearest station; ± is the average monthly difference.
Population and city profile
How many people live in Seaton?
The published population was 7,435 people in March 2021. Source: Census 2021 usual resident population count for the exact Built Up Area (BUA), England excluding London or Wales.6
By nationality
National passport93.3%
Calculated from the population and foreign-resident facts on this page.
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Area | 2.38 km² | Dec 2022 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| City area | 2.38 km² | Dec 2022 | Exact 2022 Built Up Area polygon area for BUA22CD in EPSG:27700, converted from square metres to km2.5Official |
| Foreign residents | 495 people | 21 Mar 2021 | Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts.6Official |
| GP practices per 10,000 residents | 2.69 per 10,000 people | 7 Jul 2026 | NHS ODS GP Practices report + ONSPD Live postcode coordinates7Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Schools per 10,000 residents | 1.35 per 10,000 people | 7 Jul 2026 | DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract4Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Population density | 3,125 people/km² | 21 Mar 2021 | www.ons.gov.uk6Official · built-up-area figure |
| Population | 7,435 people | 21 Mar 2021 | Census 2021 usual resident population count for the exact Built Up Area (BUA), England excluding London or Wales.6Official |
International community in Seaton
Named groups from exact city-grain official distributions. Citizenship, birthplace, language and ancestry answer different questions and stay separate.
Country of birth
Usual residents living in the individual ONS Built-up Area on Census Day 21 March 2021 · 2021 Census
| Published group | People | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Europe: United Kingdom | 6,940 | 93.3% |
| Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) | 285 | 3.8% |
| Europe: EU countries | 210 | 2.8% |
Largest published groups; zero-count groups are omitted. Dimensions are source-native and are never merged. Official source6
Additional context
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Owner-occupied homes | 73.56 % | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Residents born abroad | 6.7 % | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Residents with a bachelor's degree or higher | 28.7 % | 31 Dec 2021 | Office for National Statistics8Official |
| Workers aged 16 and over | 2,705 workers | 31 Dec 2021 | Office for National Statistics8Official |
| Median age | 61 years | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Universities | 0 count | 3 Aug 2026 | Office for Students9Official |
Alternatives for people set on Seaton
Three places for the three reasons people leave a city on the shortlist: stay in the region, stay in the country, or keep the budget and change the country. A percentage appears only where both cities publish that metric from the same source, period and grain. Distances are straight lines — travel times are not collected yet.
Sidmouth as a Seaton alternative in the same region
Better on 1 of 5 metrics measured the same way, worse on 0.
- Residents: 13,265 Sidmouth vs 7,435 Seaton+78%
- Annual PM2.5: 5.7 µg/m³ Sidmouth vs 6.0 µg/m³ Seaton−4%
- Recorded crime, per 100k: 4,563 Sidmouth vs 4,563 Seatonsame level
- Median gross pay, region: €2,866 Sidmouth vs €2,866 Seatonsame level
- Unemployment: 2.2% Sidmouth vs 2.2% Seatonsame level
Alternative cities in United Kingdom
Other cities in United Kingdom to compare with Seaton, nearest in population first.
How does Seaton compare?
Pick a city. The answer appears here and the address bar keeps it, so the comparison can be shared; the page stays Seaton's.
Is Seaton part of Sidmouth?
Seaton is in the published commuting zone of Sidmouth; this does not mean it is administratively part of the hub. Sidmouth city profile
Relationship type: Commuting Zone Of. Source19
Common questions
Answered from the published values on this page, each with its source and date.
How many people live in Seaton?
The published population was 7,435 people in March 2021. Source: Census 2021 usual resident population count for the exact Built Up Area (BUA), England excluding London or Wales..
Is the air quality good in Seaton?
The annual PM2.5 mean is about 6 µg/m³ (2025) — above the WHO 2021 guideline of 5 µg/m³ but within the EU limit of 25 µg/m³. Source: official estimated total annual mean background concentration.
How safe is Seaton?
Police recorded about 4,563 incidents per 100,000 (2025-26). This counts all offences, so it is not comparable with a violent-crime-only rate from another source. Source: Police force area tables, year ending March 2026 (Table C4 or P3).
What is the unemployment rate in Seaton?
The unemployment rate is 2.2 % (January 2023). Source: www.ons.gov.uk.
What is the typical salary around Seaton?
The median gross salary is 2,866 EUR/month. Source: www.ons.gov.uk.
How many foreign residents live in Seaton?
495 residents hold a foreign nationality. Source: Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts..
Is Seaton a good place to live?
Seaton may suit different people for different reasons. The page's profile scores compare published cost, work, housing, safety, healthcare and other available factors; they are a decision aid, not a universal recommendation.
Is Seaton part of Sidmouth?
Seaton is in the published commuting zone of Sidmouth; this does not mean it is administratively part of the hub.
How many people born in Europe: United Kingdom live in Seaton?
The official country of birth distribution records 6,940 people (93.3%) in the source-defined population for 2021 Census. This is a country of birth measure, not a general estimate of ethnicity or migration status.
Cite this page
Open a format to select or copy this ImmigrationDB compilation citation. The native disclosure and text fallback work without JavaScript.
APA citation
ImmigrationDB. (2026, October 16). Seaton, United Kingdom: population, rent, salary, jobs [ImmigrationDB compilation; version 577a3ad74903796776d42bb129cf95b9]. ImmigrationDB. https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/seaton/ Retrieved 2026-10-16. Compilation license: CC BY 4.0, https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/BibTeX citation
@misc{immigrationdb_immigrationdb_seaton-united-kingdom-population-rent-salary-jobs_b6a688c18b94,
author = {ImmigrationDB},
title = {Seaton, United Kingdom: population, rent, salary, jobs},
publisher = {ImmigrationDB},
year = {2026},
date = {2026-10-16},
version = {577a3ad74903796776d42bb129cf95b9},
url = {https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/seaton/},
note = {Retrieved 2026-10-16. ImmigrationDB compilation. Compilation license: CC BY 4.0, https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/},
}Markdown citation
[Seaton, United Kingdom: population, rent, salary, jobs](https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/seaton/) — ImmigrationDB; ImmigrationDB; version 577a3ad74903796776d42bb129cf95b9; retrieved 2026-10-16; built 2026-10-16.This citation identifies the ImmigrationDB compilation/page. Underlying source publishers and datasets retain their own terms; inspect the Sources section and cite those records separately. View the underlying source records.
Sources
- BT Full Fibre 150 bt.com · checked 2026-09-15
- data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary data.police.uk · checked 2026-07-07
- Department for Education (GIAS) get-information-schools.service.gov.uk · checked 2026-08-03
- DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract get-information-schools.service.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-07
- Exact 2022 Built Up Area polygon area for BUA22CD in EPSG:27700, converted from square metres to km2. services1.arcgis.com · checked 2026-07-15
- Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts. ons.gov.uk · checked 2021-03-21
- NHS ODS GP Practices report + ONSPD Live postcode coordinates digital.nhs.uk · checked 2026-07-07
- Office for National Statistics ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-08-07
- Office for Students officeforstudents.org.uk · checked 2026-08-03
- official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
Show 16 more sources
- official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
- official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
- ONS Census 2021 towns and cities dataset Figure 9 individual BUA employment row for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-05
- ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-09-24
- OpenFlights raw.githubusercontent.com · checked 2026-08-03
- OurAirports davidmegginson.github.io · checked 2026-08-03
- Police force area tables, year ending March 2026 (Table C4 or P3) ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-09-24
- Three 100GB one-month data pack three.co.uk · checked 2026-09-15
- Travel to Work Areas (December 2011) full extent boundaries in the United Kingdom services1.arcgis.com · checked 2026-09-19
- World Meteorological Organization / NOAA NCEI nodc.noaa.gov · checked 2026-08-05
- World Meteorological Organization / NOAA NCEI nodc.noaa.gov · checked 2026-08-05
- World Meteorological Organization / NOAA NCEI nodc.noaa.gov · checked 2026-08-05
- World Meteorological Organization / NOAA NCEI nodc.noaa.gov · checked 2026-08-05
- www.ons.gov.uk ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-08-27
- www.ons.gov.uk ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-08-26
- www.ofcom.org.uk ofcom.org.uk · checked 2026-07-15
Spotted a number that looks wrong? Every value here carries its source and date — tell us what you found and we will re-check it against the source.