Living in Somercotes and Swanwick
The city had 7 schools in 2026. Owner occupation accounted for 68.6% of homes in March 2021. Somercotes and Swanwick is in the United Kingdom; its population was 15,100 in March 2021. The employment rate was 56.7% in March 2021. Gigabit broadband availability was 95%.
Which United Kingdom-wide rules apply when you move to Somercotes and Swanwick?
National rules stay on the country page instead of being relabelled as city data.
Housing and cost
No city-level rent figure is published for Somercotes and Swanwick. The available city-level cost figures remain below.
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Internet, 60 Mbps unlimited | 24.02 EUR/month | 30 Sept 2026 | BT Full Fibre 1501Official · national market |
| Mobile plan, 10 GB | 12.87 EUR/month | 30 Sept 2026 | Three 100GB one-month data pack13Official · national market |
| Dwellings | 6,775 count | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley5Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Average monthly rent (whole dwelling) | 933.4 EUR/month | 31 Aug 2026 | ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price12Official · county |
Is Somercotes and Swanwick a good place to live?
There is no universal answer. The profile scores below show who the available published evidence may suit; they are a decision aid, not a personal recommendation.
Worked out from these numbers
How international is the population?
3.9% of residents hold a foreign nationality — 585 of 15,100 people. This counts nationality, not place of birth, so long-settled residents who naturalised are not in it.
Work and income
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gigabit broadband availability | 94.98 % | Not stated | www.ofcom.org.uk15Supplemental estimate · Supplemental context |
| Employment rate | 56.7 % | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 towns and cities dataset Figure 9 individual BUA employment row for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley11Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Superfast broadband availability | 99.28 % | Not stated | www.ofcom.org.uk15Supplemental estimate · Supplemental context |
| Median gross salary (regional) | 3,756 EUR/month | 31 Dec 2025 | ONS ASHE Table 8.1a — Weekly pay - Gross (£), full-time employee jobs by local authority of residence, 2025 provisional10Official · county |
What does a salary buy in Somercotes and Swanwick?
Take-home pay after tax, minus rent and the everyday bills this city publishes. Each line names its source.
RentInternetMobileLeft over
Line-by-line breakdown and sources
| Each month | € |
|---|---|
| Take-home payOECD Taxing Wages 2025, single, no children. Includes central and local income tax and employee social contributions; euro amounts at the ECB average for 2026-08. | €3,050 |
| Rentaverage rent of a whole dwelling · official · ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price · 2026-08-31 | − €933 |
| Internet€24 · official · BT Full Fibre 150 · 2026-09-30 | − €24 |
| Mobile plan€13 · official · Three 100GB one-month data pack · 2026-09-30 | − €13 |
| Other everyday billsnot published for this city: public transport pass, utilities | — |
| Left overbefore the bills this city does not publish | €2,080 |
Public employment service
No exact public employment office is currently linked to Somercotes and Swanwick. The verified national service may still offer online registration, job search or an official office finder.
Jobcentre Plus — Public employment service
Country-level service information is not treated as proof of a physical office in Somercotes and Swanwick. Sources checked through 10 Aug 2026.
Family and education
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Schools | 7 count | 7 Jul 2026 | DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract3Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
School for children who move here. School is compulsory from age 5 to 16, and public school is free.
A country-wide rule for United Kingdom; Somercotes and Swanwick's school authority applies it locally.
Sources: legislation.gov.uk · 1996–2026.
Healthcare
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| GP practices | 2 count | 7 Jul 2026 | NHS ODS GP Practices report + ONSPD Live postcode coordinates6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
Yes — migrants can receive medical care in Somercotes and Swanwick under the national coverage rules.
Healthcare access follows the country-wide insurance rules; local capacity facts remain city data and are not used as proof of eligibility.
Open the official coverage guideSafety
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Violent crime per 100,000 residents | 4,219 per 100,000 | Apr 2026 | data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary2Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Burglary per 100,000 residents | 258.3 per 100,000 | 30 Apr 2026 | data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary2Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
Climate and air quality
Annual PM2.5 was 7.08 µg/m³ in 2025. Annual NO₂ was 9.6 µg/m³ in 2025. Annual PM10 was 11.9 µg/m³ in 2025.
Within WHO 2021 guidelineAbove WHO, within EU limitAbove EU legal limitCity annual mean · µg/m³
City values from the published air-quality observations. WHO 2021 guidelines and EU limit values are published constants.
Somercotes and Swanwick 7.1
Annual PM2.5 (µg/m³)
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| NO₂ — annual mean | 9.6 µg/m³country median 7.2 | 2025 | official estimated total annual mean background concentration7Official |
| PM10 — annual mean | 11.91 µg/m³country median 11.3 | 2025 | official estimated total annual mean background concentration8Official |
| PM2.5 — annual mean | 7.08 µg/m³country median 6.5 | 2025 | official estimated total annual mean background concentration9Official |
Population and city profile
The city covered 5.5 km² in December 2022. Population density was 2,769.1 people per km² in 2021.
By nationality
National passport96.1%
Calculated from the population and foreign-resident facts on this page.
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Area | 5.45 km² | Dec 2022 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley5Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| City area | 5.45 km² | Dec 2022 | Exact 2022 Built Up Area polygon area for BUA22CD in EPSG:27700, converted from square metres to km2.4Official |
| Foreign residents | 585 people | 21 Mar 2021 | Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts.5Official |
| GP practices per 10,000 residents | 1.32 per 10,000 people | 7 Jul 2026 | NHS ODS GP Practices report + ONSPD Live postcode coordinates6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Schools per 10,000 residents | 4.64 per 10,000 people | 7 Jul 2026 | DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract3Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Population density | 2,769 people/km² | 21 Mar 2021 | www.ons.gov.uk5Official · built-up-area figure |
| Population | 15,100 people | 21 Mar 2021 | Census 2021 usual resident population count for the exact Built Up Area (BUA), England excluding London or Wales.5Official |
Additional context
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Owner-occupied homes | 68.63 % | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley5Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Residents born abroad | 3.9 % | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley5Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Median age | 44 years | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley5Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
Alternatives for people set on Somercotes and Swanwick
Nothing here reaches an argued comparison yet: no other published city shares enough metrics with Somercotes and Swanwick from the same source, period and grain. What is collected is below.
Alternative cities in United Kingdom
Other cities in United Kingdom to compare with Somercotes and Swanwick, nearest in population first.
How does Somercotes and Swanwick compare?
Pick a city. The answer appears here and the address bar keeps it, so the comparison can be shared; the page stays Somercotes and Swanwick's.
Is Somercotes and Swanwick part of Derby?
Somercotes and Swanwick is in the published commuting zone of Derby; this does not mean it is administratively part of the hub. Derby city profile
Relationship type: Commuting Zone Of. Source14
Common questions
Answered from the published values on this page, each with its source and date.
What is the typical salary around Somercotes and Swanwick?
The median gross salary is 3,756 EUR/month. Source: ONS ASHE Table 8.1a — Weekly pay - Gross (£), full-time employee jobs by local authority of residence, 2025 provisional.
Is the air quality good in Somercotes and Swanwick?
The annual PM2.5 mean is 7.08 µg/m³. The WHO 2021 guideline is 5 µg/m³ and the EU limit value is 25 µg/m³, so this reading is above the WHO guideline but within the EU limit. Source: official estimated total annual mean background concentration.
How many people live in Somercotes and Swanwick?
The published population is 15,100 people. Source: Census 2021 usual resident population count for the exact Built Up Area (BUA), England excluding London or Wales..
How many foreign residents live in Somercotes and Swanwick?
585 residents hold a foreign nationality. Source: Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts..
Is Somercotes and Swanwick a good place to live?
Somercotes and Swanwick may suit different people for different reasons. The page's profile scores compare published cost, work, housing, safety, healthcare and other available factors; they are a decision aid, not a universal recommendation.
Is Somercotes and Swanwick part of Derby?
Somercotes and Swanwick is in the published commuting zone of Derby; this does not mean it is administratively part of the hub.
Cite this page
Open a format to select or copy this ImmigrationDB compilation citation. The native disclosure and text fallback work without JavaScript.
APA citation
ImmigrationDB. (2026, October 16). Somercotes and Swanwick, United Kingdom: population, rent [ImmigrationDB compilation; version c5c78174e1852b6d8177e379a7e3ba53]. ImmigrationDB. https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/somercotes-and-swanwick/ Retrieved 2026-10-16. Compilation license: CC BY 4.0, https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/BibTeX citation
@misc{immigrationdb_immigrationdb_somercotes-and-swanwick-united-kingdom-population-rent_f5d0f1a110cd,
author = {ImmigrationDB},
title = {Somercotes and Swanwick, United Kingdom: population, rent},
publisher = {ImmigrationDB},
year = {2026},
date = {2026-10-16},
version = {c5c78174e1852b6d8177e379a7e3ba53},
url = {https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/somercotes-and-swanwick/},
note = {Retrieved 2026-10-16. ImmigrationDB compilation. Compilation license: CC BY 4.0, https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/},
}Markdown citation
[Somercotes and Swanwick, United Kingdom: population, rent](https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/somercotes-and-swanwick/) — ImmigrationDB; ImmigrationDB; version c5c78174e1852b6d8177e379a7e3ba53; retrieved 2026-10-16; built 2026-10-16.This citation identifies the ImmigrationDB compilation/page. Underlying source publishers and datasets retain their own terms; inspect the Sources section and cite those records separately. View the underlying source records.
Sources
- BT Full Fibre 150 bt.com · checked 2026-09-15
- data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary data.police.uk · checked 2026-07-07
- DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract get-information-schools.service.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-07
- Exact 2022 Built Up Area polygon area for BUA22CD in EPSG:27700, converted from square metres to km2. services1.arcgis.com · checked 2026-07-15
- Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts. ons.gov.uk · checked 2021-03-21
- NHS ODS GP Practices report + ONSPD Live postcode coordinates digital.nhs.uk · checked 2026-07-07
- official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
- official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
- official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
- ONS ASHE Table 8.1a — Weekly pay - Gross (£), full-time employee jobs by local authority of residence, 2025 provisional ONS ASHE Table 8.1a · ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-09-24
Show 5 more sources
- ONS Census 2021 towns and cities dataset Figure 9 individual BUA employment row for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-05
- ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-09-24
- Three 100GB one-month data pack three.co.uk · checked 2026-09-15
- Travel to Work Areas (December 2011) full extent boundaries in the United Kingdom services1.arcgis.com · checked 2026-09-19
- www.ofcom.org.uk ofcom.org.uk · checked 2026-07-15
Spotted a number that looks wrong? Every value here carries its source and date — tell us what you found and we will re-check it against the source.