Living in Warwick
In Warwick, the median rent tenants pay is €729 a month (2021) and unemployment is 5.5% (2021).
Population density was 102.0 people per km² in 2025. The city covered 158.7 km² in 2021.
Which Australia-wide rules apply when you move to Warwick?
National rules stay on the country page instead of being relabelled as city data.
Housing and cost
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Internet, 60 Mbps unlimited | 69.92 EUR/month | 31 Jul 2026 | Telstra nbn1005Official · national market |
| Mobile plan, 10 GB | 45.79 EUR/month | 31 Jul 2026 | Telstra Upfront Basic6Official · national market |
| Dwellings | 6,753 dwellings | 31 Dec 2021 | Australian Bureau of Statistics2Official |
| Main residence dwellings | 6,109 dwellings | 31 Dec 2021 | Australian Bureau of Statistics2Official |
| Median weekly rent (AUD) | 265 AUD/week | 10 Aug 2021 | 2021 Census General Community Profile — Significant Urban Areas, Australia2Official |
| Median monthly rent | 729.1 EUR/month | 31 Dec 2021 | 2021 Census General Community Profile, SUA, G022Official |
| Median monthly rent (whole dwelling) | 729.1 EUR/month | 31 Dec 2021 | 2021 Census General Community Profile, SUA, G022Official |
Is Warwick a good place to live?
There is no universal answer. The profile scores below show who the available published evidence may suit; they are a decision aid, not a personal recommendation.
Work and income
What is the unemployment rate in Warwick?
The unemployment rate is 5.5 % (August 2021). Source: 2021 Census GCP Significant Urban Areas for Australia (DataPack)2
Warwick 5.5%
Unemployment rate (%)
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| People in full-time employment | 3,687 people | 31 Dec 2021 | Australian Bureau of Statistics2Official |
| Employment rate | 50.5 % | 31 Dec 2021 | Australian Bureau of Statistics2Official |
| Median household income (AUD/week) | 1,117 AUD/week | 10 Aug 2021 | 2021 Census General Community Profile — Significant Urban Areas, Australia2Official |
| Median personal income (AUD/week) | 618 AUD/week | 10 Aug 2021 | 2021 Census General Community Profile — Significant Urban Areas, Australia2Official |
| Median gross salary (regional) | 1,662 EUR/month | 31 Dec 2021 | www.abs.gov.au8Official |
| Unemployment rate | 5.5 %country median 4.5% | 10 Aug 2021 | 2021 Census GCP Significant Urban Areas for Australia (DataPack)2Official |
What does a salary buy in Warwick?
Take-home pay after tax, minus rent and the everyday bills this city publishes. Each line names its source.
RentInternetMobile
Line-by-line breakdown and sources
| Each month | € |
|---|---|
| Take-home payOECD Taxing Wages 2025, single, no children. Includes central and local income tax and employee social contributions; euro amounts at the ECB average for 2026-08. | outside the model's range |
| Rentmedian rent of a whole dwelling · official · 2021 Census General Community Profile, SUA, G02 · 2021-12-31 | − €729 |
| Internet€70 · official · Telstra nbn100 · 2026-07-31 | − €70 |
| Mobile plan€46 · official · Telstra Upfront Basic · 2026-07-31 | − €46 |
| Other everyday billsnot published for this city: public transport pass, utilities | — |
| Left overbefore the bills this city does not publish | — |
Public employment service
No exact public employment office is currently linked to Warwick. The verified national service may still offer online registration, job search or an official office finder.
Workforce Australia — Public employment service
Country-level service information is not treated as proof of a physical office in Warwick. Sources checked through 11 Aug 2026.
Family and education
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| People who speak a language other than English at home | 3.83 % | 10 Aug 2021 | 2021 Census General Community Profile — Significant Urban Areas, Australia2Official |
Safety
How safe is Warwick?
Police recorded about 9,480 incidents per 100,000 (2025-09/2026-08). This counts all offences, so it is not comparable with a violent-crime-only rate from another source. Source: LGA Reported Offences Rates1
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Recorded incidents per 100,000 residents | 9,480 incidents per 100,000 | 31 Aug 2026 | LGA Reported Offences Rates1Official |
Language courses and integration
No exact city-level course record is currently published for Warwick. These verified national programmes may still apply; use the official programme page to check local availability.
Adult Migrant English Program (AMEP) — State Language Course
Australian Government Department of Home Affairs
For eligible migrants, humanitarian entrants.
Humanitarian Settlement Program (HSP) — Newcomer Adaptation
Australian Government Department of Home Affairs
For humanitarian entrants.
Climate and air quality
Night-time low to daytime high
mm
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Average daytime high by month | Jan 30.4 · Feb 29.6 · Mar 28 · Apr 25 · May 21.3 · Jun 18.4 · Jul 18.1 · Aug 20.1 · Sep 23.6 · Oct 26 · Nov 28.1 · Dec 29.5 °C | 1991–2020 | WMO Climatological Normals 1991-2020 — station WARWICK7Official · nearest-station reading |
| Average night-time low by month | Jan 17.1 · Feb 17 · Mar 15.3 · Apr 11.4 · May 7 · Jun 5 · Jul 3.2 · Aug 3.3 · Sep 7.1 · Oct 10.7 · Nov 13.7 · Dec 15.8 °C | 1991–2020 | WMO Climatological Normals 1991-2020 — station WARWICK7Official · nearest-station reading |
| Average temperature by month | Jan 23.8 · Feb 23.3 · Mar 21.6 · Apr 18.2 · May 14.2 · Jun 11.7 · Jul 10.7 · Aug 11.7 · Sep 15.4 · Oct 18.4 · Nov 20.9 · Dec 22.7 °C | 1991–2020 | WMO Climatological Normals 1991-2020 — station WARWICK7Official · nearest-station reading |
| Average precipitation by month | Jan 81.8 · Feb 69.1 · Mar 63.4 · Apr 26.2 · May 37.3 · Jun 32.6 · Jul 25.2 · Aug 25.8 · Sep 31.9 · Oct 70.5 · Nov 75.6 · Dec 96.6 mm | 1991–2020 | WMO Climatological Normals 1991-2020 — station WARWICK7Official · nearest-station reading |
Similar climate. Elsewhere: Ventura (United States) ±6.5 °C, Downey (United States) ±7.3 °C, Simi Valley (United States) ±8.2 °C, Leiria (Portugal) ±7.5 °C, Cascais (Portugal) ±7.3 °C. Twenty closest, compared month by month
Monthly highs and lows against the 1991–2020 station normals of the nearest station; ± is the average monthly difference.
Population and city profile
How many people live in Warwick?
The published population was 15,525 people in August 2021. Source: 2021 Census General Community Profile — Significant Urban Areas, Table G012
Foreign residents and their share come from different publications that count different groups (for example citizens of another country, or people born abroad, or of foreign origin), so 1,340 is not 16% of the population. Each row names its source.
By nationality
National passport91.4%
Calculated from the population and foreign-resident facts on this page.
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| City area | 158.7 km² | 31 Dec 2021 | Official ASGS2016 SUA area from ABS ArcGIS attributes, area albers sqkm. Exact queue geography; not GCCSA or LGA.3Official |
| Foreign-resident share | 16 % | 10 Aug 2021 | 2021 Census GCP Significant Urban Areas for Australia (DataPack)2Official |
| Foreign residents | 1,340 people | 10 Aug 2021 | Official 2021 Census GCP G01 Birthplace_Elsewhere_P: persons born outside Australia, at exact associated 2021 SUA grain. This is foreign-born, not foreign nationality.2Official |
| Population density | 102 people/km² | 31 Dec 2025 | Reproducible exact-ASGS2016-SUA density: ABS ERP at 30 June 2021 divided by ABS ASGS2016 SUA area. Existing local population baseline is only a recovered cross-check; no GCCSA/LGA observation.4Official |
| Female residents | 8,067 people | 31 Dec 2021 | Australian Bureau of Statistics2Official |
| Male residents | 7,455 people | 31 Dec 2021 | Australian Bureau of Statistics2Official |
| Population | 15,525 people | 10 Aug 2021 | 2021 Census General Community Profile — Significant Urban Areas, Table G012Official |
International community in Warwick
Named groups from exact city-grain official distributions. Citizenship, birthplace, language and ancestry answer different questions and stay separate.
Country of birth
Persons usually resident in the ABS Significant Urban Area; 2021 Census G09 PERSONS total across age groups and sex · 2021 Census
| Published group | People | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Total | 15,525 | 100.0% |
| Australia | 13,034 | 84.0% |
| Country of birth not stated | 1,159 | 7.5% |
| England | 322 | 2.1% |
| New Zealand | 233 | 1.5% |
| Philippines | 167 | 1.1% |
| Born elsewhere(d) | 109 | 0.7% |
| India | 50 | 0.3% |
| South Africa | 47 | 0.3% |
| Scotland | 39 | 0.3% |
| Netherlands | 34 | 0.2% |
Show 30 more groups
| Published group | People | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Korea, Republic of (South) | 32 | 0.2% |
| United States of America | 30 | 0.2% |
| Germany | 29 | 0.2% |
| China (excludes SARs and Taiwan)(c) | 27 | 0.2% |
| Taiwan | 23 | 0.1% |
| Ireland | 18 | 0.1% |
| Papua New Guinea | 16 | 0.1% |
| Thailand | 15 | 0.1% |
| Fiji | 14 | 0.1% |
| Brazil | 13 | 0.1% |
| Indonesia | 11 | 0.1% |
| Canada | 10 | 0.1% |
| Zimbabwe | 10 | 0.1% |
| Malaysia | 9 | 0.1% |
| Chile | 7 | 0.0% |
| Sri Lanka | 6 | 0.0% |
| Vietnam | 6 | 0.0% |
| Wales | 6 | 0.0% |
| Japan | 5 | 0.0% |
| Poland | 5 | 0.0% |
| Singapore | 4 | 0.0% |
| Bosnia and Herzegovina | 3 | 0.0% |
| France | 3 | 0.0% |
| Hong Kong (SAR of China)(c) | 3 | 0.0% |
| Iran | 3 | 0.0% |
| Italy | 3 | 0.0% |
| Lebanon | 3 | 0.0% |
| Mauritius | 3 | 0.0% |
| Nepal | 3 | 0.0% |
| Pakistan | 3 | 0.0% |
Largest published groups; zero-count groups are omitted. Dimensions are source-native and are never merged. Official source2
Country of birth
Persons usually resident in the ABS Significant Urban Area; 2021 Census G01 total persons denominator · 2021 Census
| Published group | People | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Total persons | 15,525 | 100.0% |
| Australia | 13,034 | 84.0% |
| Elsewhere (excludes country of birth not stated) | 1,340 | 8.6% |
Largest published groups; zero-count groups are omitted. Dimensions are source-native and are never merged. Official source2
Citizenship
Persons usually resident in the ABS Significant Urban Area; 2021 Census G01 total persons denominator · 2021 Census
| Published group | People | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Total persons | 15,525 | 100.0% |
| Australian citizen | 13,942 | 89.8% |
Largest published groups; zero-count groups are omitted. Dimensions are source-native and are never merged. Official source2
Additional context
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Residents born abroad | 8.63 % | 10 Aug 2021 | 2021 Census General Community Profile — Significant Urban Areas, Australia2Official |
| Households | 6,109 households | 31 Dec 2021 | Australian Bureau of Statistics2Official |
| Labour force participation rate | 53.4 % | 31 Dec 2021 | Australian Bureau of Statistics2Official |
| Median age | 44 years | 10 Aug 2021 | 2021 Census General Community Profile — Significant Urban Areas, Australia2Official |
| Median monthly mortgage repayment (AUD) | 1,222 AUD/month | 10 Aug 2021 | 2021 Census General Community Profile — Significant Urban Areas, Australia2Official |
Alternatives for people set on Warwick
Three places for the three reasons people leave a city on the shortlist: stay in the region, stay in the country, or keep the budget and change the country. A percentage appears only where both cities publish that metric from the same source, period and grain. Distances are straight lines — travel times are not collected yet.
Port Macquarie as a Warwick alternative in the same country
Better on 3 of 3 metrics measured the same way, worse on 0.
- Median gross pay, region: €1,847 Port Macquarie vs €1,662 Warwick+11%
- Unemployment: 4.8% Port Macquarie vs 5.5% Warwick−13%
- Foreign residents: 19.1% Port Macquarie vs 16.0% Warwick+19%
Alternative cities in Australia
Other cities in Australia to compare with Warwick, nearest in population first.
How does Warwick compare?
Pick a city. The answer appears here and the address bar keeps it, so the comparison can be shared; the page stays Warwick's.
Yes — migrants can receive medical care in Warwick when the national insurance or residence conditions are met.
Healthcare access follows the country-wide insurance rules; local capacity facts remain city data and are not used as proof of eligibility.
Open the official coverage guideCommon questions
Answered from the published values on this page, each with its source and date.
How many people live in Warwick?
The published population was 15,525 people in August 2021. Source: 2021 Census General Community Profile — Significant Urban Areas, Table G01.
How safe is Warwick?
Police recorded about 9,480 incidents per 100,000 (2025-09/2026-08). This counts all offences, so it is not comparable with a violent-crime-only rate from another source. Source: LGA Reported Offences Rates.
What is the unemployment rate in Warwick?
The unemployment rate is 5.5 % (August 2021). Source: 2021 Census GCP Significant Urban Areas for Australia (DataPack).
What is the typical salary around Warwick?
The median gross salary is 1,662 EUR/month. Source: www.abs.gov.au.
How many foreign residents live in Warwick?
1,340 residents hold a foreign nationality. Source: Official 2021 Census GCP G01 Birthplace_Elsewhere_P: persons born outside Australia, at exact associated 2021 SUA grain. This is foreign-born, not foreign nationality..
Is Warwick a good place to live?
Warwick may suit different people for different reasons. The page's profile scores compare published cost, work, housing, safety, healthcare and other available factors; they are a decision aid, not a universal recommendation.
How many people born in Australia live in Warwick?
The official country of birth distribution records 13,034 people (84.0%) in the source-defined population for 2021 Census. This is a country of birth measure, not a general estimate of ethnicity or migration status.
Cite this page
Open a format to select or copy this ImmigrationDB compilation citation. The native disclosure and text fallback work without JavaScript.
APA citation
ImmigrationDB. (2026, October 16). Warwick, Australia: population, rent, salary, cost of living [ImmigrationDB compilation; version 3b16fae98f8cdd154cb41e17276dca8d]. ImmigrationDB. https://immigrationdb.com/cities/au/warwick/ Retrieved 2026-10-16. Compilation license: CC BY 4.0, https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/BibTeX citation
@misc{immigrationdb_immigrationdb_warwick-australia-population-rent-salary-cost-of-living_3b82d81628d2,
author = {ImmigrationDB},
title = {Warwick, Australia: population, rent, salary, cost of living},
publisher = {ImmigrationDB},
year = {2026},
date = {2026-10-16},
version = {3b16fae98f8cdd154cb41e17276dca8d},
url = {https://immigrationdb.com/cities/au/warwick/},
note = {Retrieved 2026-10-16. ImmigrationDB compilation. Compilation license: CC BY 4.0, https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/},
}Markdown citation
[Warwick, Australia: population, rent, salary, cost of living](https://immigrationdb.com/cities/au/warwick/) — ImmigrationDB; ImmigrationDB; version 3b16fae98f8cdd154cb41e17276dca8d; retrieved 2026-10-16; built 2026-10-16.This citation identifies the ImmigrationDB compilation/page. Underlying source publishers and datasets retain their own terms; inspect the Sources section and cite those records separately. View the underlying source records.
Sources
- LGA Reported Offences Rates open-crime-data.s3-ap-southeast-2.amazonaws.com · checked 2026-10-07
- Official 2021 Census GCP G01 Birthplace_Elsewhere_P: persons born outside Australia, at exact associated 2021 SUA grain. This is foreign-born, not foreign nationality. abs.gov.au · checked 2021-08-10
- Official ASGS2016 SUA area from ABS ArcGIS attributes, area albers sqkm. Exact queue geography; not GCCSA or LGA. geo.abs.gov.au · checked 2016-07-01
- Reproducible exact-ASGS2016-SUA density: ABS ERP at 30 June 2021 divided by ABS ASGS2016 SUA area. Existing local population baseline is only a recovered cross-check; no GCCSA/LGA observation. abs.gov.au · checked 2021-06-30
- Telstra nbn100 telstra.com.au · checked 2026-09-15
- Telstra Upfront Basic telstra.com.au · checked 2026-09-15
- WMO Climatological Normals 1991-2020 — station WARWICK WMO Climatological Normals 1991-2020 · ncei.noaa.gov · checked 2026-07-31
- www.abs.gov.au abs.gov.au · checked 2026-08-27
Spotted a number that looks wrong? Every value here carries its source and date — tell us what you found and we will re-check it against the source.