Living in Blackfield and Langley
In Blackfield and Langley, unemployment is 3.2% (2023).
Blackfield and Langley had 5,845 residents in March 2021 and is a city in the United Kingdom. The employment rate was 49.9% in March 2021. For Blackfield and Langley, owner occupation accounted for 70.8% of homes in March 2021.
Lower unemployment than 63% of United Kingdom cities that publish it and less recorded crime than 95% of United Kingdom cities that publish it.
Which United Kingdom-wide rules apply when you move to Blackfield and Langley?
National rules stay on the country page instead of being relabelled as city data.
Housing and cost
No city-level rent figure is published for Blackfield and Langley. The available city-level cost figures remain below.
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Internet, 60 Mbps unlimited | 24.02 EUR/month | 30 Sept 2026 | BT Full Fibre 1501Official · national market |
| Mobile plan, 10 GB | 12.87 EUR/month | 30 Sept 2026 | Three 100GB one-month data pack13Official · national market |
| Dwellings | 2,515 count | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley5Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Average monthly rent (whole dwelling) | 1,453 EUR/month | 31 Aug 2026 | ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price11Official · county |
Is Blackfield and Langley a good place to live?
There is no universal answer. The profile scores below show who the available published evidence may suit; they are a decision aid, not a personal recommendation.
Work and income
What is the unemployment rate in Blackfield and Langley?
The unemployment rate is 3.2 % (January 2023). Source: www.ons.gov.uk16
Blackfield and Langley 3.2%
Unemployment rate (%)
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gigabit broadband availability | 71.9 % | Not stated | www.ofcom.org.uk17Supplemental estimate · Supplemental context |
| Employment rate | 49.95 % | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 towns and cities dataset Figure 9 individual BUA employment row for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley10Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Superfast broadband availability | 98.94 % | Not stated | www.ofcom.org.uk17Supplemental estimate · Supplemental context |
| Median gross salary (regional) | 2,997 EUR/month | 31 Dec 2024 | www.ons.gov.uk15Official |
| Unemployment rate | 3.2 %country median 3.4% | 31 Dec 2023 | www.ons.gov.uk16Official |
What does a salary buy in Blackfield and Langley?
Take-home pay after tax, minus rent and the everyday bills this city publishes. Each line names its source.
RentInternetMobileLeft over
Line-by-line breakdown and sources
| Each month | € |
|---|---|
| Take-home payOECD Taxing Wages 2025, single, no children. Includes central and local income tax and employee social contributions; euro amounts at the ECB average for 2026-08. | €2,503 |
| Rentaverage rent of a whole dwelling · official · ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price · 2026-08-31 | − €1,453 |
| Internet€24 · official · BT Full Fibre 150 · 2026-09-30 | − €24 |
| Mobile plan€13 · official · Three 100GB one-month data pack · 2026-09-30 | − €13 |
| Other everyday billsnot published for this city: public transport pass, utilities | — |
| Left overbefore the bills this city does not publish | €1,013 |
Public employment service
No exact public employment office is currently linked to Blackfield and Langley. The verified national service may still offer online registration, job search or an official office finder.
Jobcentre Plus — Public employment service
Country-level service information is not treated as proof of a physical office in Blackfield and Langley. Sources checked through 10 Aug 2026.
Family and education
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Schools | 1 count | 7 Jul 2026 | DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract3Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
School for children who move here. School is compulsory from age 5 to 16, and public school is free.
A country-wide rule for United Kingdom; Blackfield and Langley's school authority applies it locally.
Sources: legislation.gov.uk · 1996–2026.
Healthcare
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| GP practices | 0 count | 7 Jul 2026 | NHS ODS GP Practices report + ONSPD Live postcode coordinates6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
Yes — migrants can receive medical care in Blackfield and Langley under the national coverage rules.
Healthcare access follows the country-wide insurance rules; local capacity facts remain city data and are not used as proof of eligibility.
Open the official coverage guideSafety
How safe is Blackfield and Langley?
Police recorded about 5,286 incidents per 100,000 (2025-26). This counts all offences, so it is not comparable with a violent-crime-only rate from another source. Source: Police force area tables, year ending March 2026, Table C412
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Recorded incidents per 100,000 residents | 5,286 incidents per 100,000 | 31 Dec 2025 | Police force area tables, year ending March 2026, Table C412Official · county |
| Violent crime per 100,000 residents | 3,165 per 100,000 | Apr 2026 | data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary2Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Burglary per 100,000 residents | 85.54 per 100,000 | 30 Apr 2026 | data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary2Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
Climate and air quality
Annual PM2.5 was 6.45 µg/m³ in 2025. Annual NO₂ was 8.22 µg/m³ in 2025. Annual PM10 was 10.2 µg/m³ in 2025.
Is the air quality good in Blackfield and Langley?
The annual PM2.5 mean is about 6.5 µg/m³ (2025) — above the WHO 2021 guideline of 5 µg/m³ but within the EU limit of 25 µg/m³.
Annual mean at the measuring site(s) serving the city; current-day readings differ.
- PM2.5 — annual mean: 6.45 µg/m³ · official estimated total annual mean background concentration9
Within WHO 2021 guidelineAbove WHO, within EU limitAbove EU legal limitCity annual mean · µg/m³
City values from the published air-quality observations. WHO 2021 guidelines and EU limit values are published constants.
Blackfield and Langley 6.5
Annual PM2.5 (µg/m³)
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| NO₂ — annual mean | 8.22 µg/m³country median 7.2 | 2025 | official estimated total annual mean background concentration7Official |
| PM10 — annual mean | 10.16 µg/m³country median 11.3 | 2025 | official estimated total annual mean background concentration8Official |
| PM2.5 — annual mean | 6.45 µg/m³country median 6.5 — about the same | 2025 | official estimated total annual mean background concentration9Official |
Population and city profile
The city covered 1.7 km² in December 2022. Population density was 3,392.1 people per km² in 2021.
How many people live in Blackfield and Langley?
The published population was 5,845 people in March 2021. Source: Census 2021 usual resident population count for the exact Built Up Area (BUA), England excluding London or Wales.5
By nationality
National passport95.3%
Calculated from the population and foreign-resident facts on this page.
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Area | 1.72 km² | Dec 2022 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley5Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| City area | 1.72 km² | Dec 2022 | Exact 2022 Built Up Area polygon area for BUA22CD in EPSG:27700, converted from square metres to km2.4Official |
| Foreign residents | 275 people | 21 Mar 2021 | Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts.5Official |
| GP practices per 10,000 residents | 0 per 10,000 people | 7 Jul 2026 | NHS ODS GP Practices report + ONSPD Live postcode coordinates6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Schools per 10,000 residents | 1.71 per 10,000 people | 7 Jul 2026 | DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract3Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Population density | 3,392 people/km² | 21 Mar 2021 | www.ons.gov.uk5Official · built-up-area figure |
| Population | 5,845 people | 21 Mar 2021 | Census 2021 usual resident population count for the exact Built Up Area (BUA), England excluding London or Wales.5Official |
Additional context
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Owner-occupied homes | 70.78 % | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley5Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Residents born abroad | 4.7 % | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley5Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Median age | 49 years | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley5Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
Alternatives for people set on Blackfield and Langley
Nothing here reaches an argued comparison yet: no other published city shares enough metrics with Blackfield and Langley from the same source, period and grain. What is collected is below.
Alternative cities in United Kingdom
Other cities in United Kingdom to compare with Blackfield and Langley, nearest in population first.
How does Blackfield and Langley compare?
Pick a city. The answer appears here and the address bar keeps it, so the comparison can be shared; the page stays Blackfield and Langley's.
Is Blackfield and Langley part of Southampton?
Blackfield and Langley is in the published commuting zone of Southampton; this does not mean it is administratively part of the hub. Southampton city profile
Relationship type: Commuting Zone Of. Source14
Common questions
Answered from the published values on this page, each with its source and date.
How many people live in Blackfield and Langley?
The published population was 5,845 people in March 2021. Source: Census 2021 usual resident population count for the exact Built Up Area (BUA), England excluding London or Wales..
Is the air quality good in Blackfield and Langley?
The annual PM2.5 mean is about 6.5 µg/m³ (2025) — above the WHO 2021 guideline of 5 µg/m³ but within the EU limit of 25 µg/m³. Source: official estimated total annual mean background concentration.
How safe is Blackfield and Langley?
Police recorded about 5,286 incidents per 100,000 (2025-26). This counts all offences, so it is not comparable with a violent-crime-only rate from another source. Source: Police force area tables, year ending March 2026, Table C4.
What is the unemployment rate in Blackfield and Langley?
The unemployment rate is 3.2 % (January 2023). Source: www.ons.gov.uk.
What is the typical salary around Blackfield and Langley?
The median gross salary is 2,997 EUR/month. Source: www.ons.gov.uk.
How many foreign residents live in Blackfield and Langley?
275 residents hold a foreign nationality. Source: Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts..
Is Blackfield and Langley a good place to live?
Blackfield and Langley may suit different people for different reasons. The page's profile scores compare published cost, work, housing, safety, healthcare and other available factors; they are a decision aid, not a universal recommendation.
Is Blackfield and Langley part of Southampton?
Blackfield and Langley is in the published commuting zone of Southampton; this does not mean it is administratively part of the hub.
Cite this page
Open a format to select or copy this ImmigrationDB compilation citation. The native disclosure and text fallback work without JavaScript.
APA citation
ImmigrationDB. (2026, October 16). Blackfield and Langley, United Kingdom: population, rent [ImmigrationDB compilation; version 8d6cd1ada716c60d134c4bbded6321f9]. ImmigrationDB. https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/blackfield-and-langley/ Retrieved 2026-10-16. Compilation license: CC BY 4.0, https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/BibTeX citation
@misc{immigrationdb_immigrationdb_blackfield-and-langley-united-kingdom-population-rent_6a76bfa87ffb,
author = {ImmigrationDB},
title = {Blackfield and Langley, United Kingdom: population, rent},
publisher = {ImmigrationDB},
year = {2026},
date = {2026-10-16},
version = {8d6cd1ada716c60d134c4bbded6321f9},
url = {https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/blackfield-and-langley/},
note = {Retrieved 2026-10-16. ImmigrationDB compilation. Compilation license: CC BY 4.0, https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/},
}Markdown citation
[Blackfield and Langley, United Kingdom: population, rent](https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/blackfield-and-langley/) — ImmigrationDB; ImmigrationDB; version 8d6cd1ada716c60d134c4bbded6321f9; retrieved 2026-10-16; built 2026-10-16.This citation identifies the ImmigrationDB compilation/page. Underlying source publishers and datasets retain their own terms; inspect the Sources section and cite those records separately. View the underlying source records.
Sources
- BT Full Fibre 150 bt.com · checked 2026-09-15
- data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary data.police.uk · checked 2026-07-07
- DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract get-information-schools.service.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-07
- Exact 2022 Built Up Area polygon area for BUA22CD in EPSG:27700, converted from square metres to km2. services1.arcgis.com · checked 2026-07-15
- Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts. ons.gov.uk · checked 2021-03-21
- NHS ODS GP Practices report + ONSPD Live postcode coordinates digital.nhs.uk · checked 2026-07-07
- official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
- official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
- official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
- ONS Census 2021 towns and cities dataset Figure 9 individual BUA employment row for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-05
Show 7 more sources
- ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-09-24
- Police force area tables, year ending March 2026, Table C4 ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-10-05
- Three 100GB one-month data pack three.co.uk · checked 2026-09-15
- Travel to Work Areas (December 2011) full extent boundaries in the United Kingdom services1.arcgis.com · checked 2026-09-19
- www.ons.gov.uk ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-08-27
- www.ons.gov.uk ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-08-26
- www.ofcom.org.uk ofcom.org.uk · checked 2026-07-15
Spotted a number that looks wrong? Every value here carries its source and date — tell us what you found and we will re-check it against the source.