Living in Blackheath
Blackheath's population was 6,950 in March 2021. The city covered 1.4 km² in December 2022. Population density was 5,100.9 people per km² in 2021. The foreign population count was 895 in March 2021.
Which United Kingdom-wide rules apply when you move to Blackheath?
National rules stay on the country page instead of being relabelled as city data.
Housing and cost
Owner occupation accounted for 54% of homes in March 2021.
No city-level rent figure is published for Blackheath. The available city-level cost figures remain below.
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Internet, 60 Mbps unlimited | 24.02 EUR/month | 30 Sept 2026 | BT Full Fibre 1501Official · national market |
| Mobile plan, 10 GB | 12.87 EUR/month | 30 Sept 2026 | Three 100GB one-month data pack17Official · national market |
| Dwellings | 2,990 count | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Average monthly rent (whole dwelling) | 1,113 EUR/month | 31 Aug 2026 | ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price14Official · county |
Is Blackheath a good place to live?
There is no universal answer. The profile scores below show who the available published evidence may suit; they are a decision aid, not a personal recommendation.
Worked out from these numbers
How international is the population?
12.9% of residents hold a foreign nationality — 895 of 6,950 people. This counts nationality, not place of birth, so long-settled residents who naturalised are not in it.
Work and income
The employment rate was 52.2% in March 2021.
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gigabit broadband availability | 99.26 % | Not stated | www.ofcom.org.uk23Supplemental estimate · Supplemental context |
| Employment rate | 52.24 % | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 towns and cities dataset Figure 9 individual BUA employment row for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley13Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Superfast broadband availability | 99.97 % | Not stated | www.ofcom.org.uk23Supplemental estimate · Supplemental context |
| Median gross salary (regional) | 3,393 EUR/month | 31 Dec 2025 | ONS ASHE Table 8.1a — Weekly pay - Gross (£), full-time employee jobs by local authority of residence, 2025 provisional12Official · county |
What does a salary buy in Blackheath?
Take-home pay after tax, minus rent and the everyday bills this city publishes. Each line names its source.
RentInternetMobileLeft over
Line-by-line breakdown and sources
| Each month | € |
|---|---|
| Take-home payOECD Taxing Wages 2025, single, no children. Includes central and local income tax and employee social contributions; euro amounts at the ECB average for 2026-08. | €2,783 |
| Rentaverage rent of a whole dwelling · official · ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price · 2026-08-31 | − €1,113 |
| Internet€24 · official · BT Full Fibre 150 · 2026-09-30 | − €24 |
| Mobile plan€13 · official · Three 100GB one-month data pack · 2026-09-30 | − €13 |
| Other everyday billsnot published for this city: public transport pass, utilities | — |
| Left overbefore the bills this city does not publish | €1,633 |
Public employment service
No exact public employment office is currently linked to Blackheath. The verified national service may still offer online registration, job search or an official office finder.
Jobcentre Plus — Public employment service
Country-level service information is not treated as proof of a physical office in Blackheath. Sources checked through 10 Aug 2026.
Family and education
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Schools | 1 count | 7 Jul 2026 | DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract4Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Primary schools | 2 count | 3 Aug 2026 | Department for Education (GIAS)3Official |
| Schools | 9 count | 3 Aug 2026 | Department for Education (GIAS)3Official |
School for children who move here. School is compulsory from age 5 to 16, and public school is free.
A country-wide rule for United Kingdom; Blackheath's school authority applies it locally.
Sources: legislation.gov.uk · 1996–2026.
Healthcare
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| GP practices | 1 count | 7 Jul 2026 | NHS ODS GP Practices report + ONSPD Live postcode coordinates7Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
Yes — migrants can receive medical care in Blackheath under the national coverage rules.
Healthcare access follows the country-wide insurance rules; local capacity facts remain city data and are not used as proof of eligibility.
Open the official coverage guideSafety
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Violent crime per 100,000 residents | 5,568 per 100,000 | Apr 2026 | data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary2Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Burglary per 100,000 residents | 460.4 per 100,000 | 30 Apr 2026 | data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary2Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
Mobility and administration
Climate and air quality
Annual PM2.5 was 8.16 µg/m³ in 2025. Annual NO₂ was 12.8 µg/m³ in 2025. Annual PM10 was 13.7 µg/m³ in 2025.
Night-time low to daytime high
mm
Within WHO 2021 guidelineAbove WHO, within EU limitAbove EU legal limitCity annual mean · µg/m³
City values from the published air-quality observations. WHO 2021 guidelines and EU limit values are published constants.
Blackheath 8.2
Annual PM2.5 (µg/m³)
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| NO₂ — annual mean | 12.75 µg/m³country median 7.2 | 2025 | official estimated total annual mean background concentration9Official |
| PM10 — annual mean | 13.75 µg/m³country median 11.3 | 2025 | official estimated total annual mean background concentration10Official |
| PM2.5 — annual mean | 8.16 µg/m³country median 6.5 | 2025 | official estimated total annual mean background concentration11Official |
| Average daytime high by month | Jan 8.6 · Feb 9.1 · Mar 11.9 · Apr 15.1 · May 18.4 · Jun 21.4 · Jul 23.6 · Aug 23.3 · Sep 20.2 · Oct 15.9 · Nov 11.6 · Dec 9 °C | 31 Dec 1991 | World Meteorological Organization / NOAA NCEI19Official |
| Average night-time low by month | Jan 3.5 · Feb 3.5 · Mar 5.1 · Apr 6.9 · May 9.7 · Jun 12.5 · Jul 14.7 · Aug 14.6 · Sep 12.3 · Oct 9.5 · Nov 6.1 · Dec 3.9 °C | 31 Dec 1991 | World Meteorological Organization / NOAA NCEI20Official |
| Average temperature by month | Jan 6 · Feb 6.3 · Mar 8.5 · Apr 11 · May 14 · Jun 17 · Jul 19.2 · Aug 18.9 · Sep 16.2 · Oct 12.7 · Nov 8.8 · Dec 6.4 °C | 31 Dec 1991 | World Meteorological Organization / NOAA NCEI21Official |
| Average precipitation by month | Jan 58.1 · Feb 43.6 · Mar 37 · Apr 42.5 · May 44.7 · Jun 50.5 · Jul 43.1 · Aug 54.9 · Sep 49.8 · Oct 66.9 · Nov 65.7 · Dec 58.6 mm | 31 Dec 1991 | World Meteorological Organization / NOAA NCEI22Official |
Annual PM2.5 fell 49.0% between 2013 and 2025, from 16.0 to 8.2.
Similar climate. In United Kingdom: Slough ±0.4 °C. Elsewhere: Saanich (Canada) ±1.2 °C, Argenteuil (France) ±0.9 °C, Saint-Denis (France) ±0.9 °C, Saint-Quentin-en-Yvelines (France) ±0.9 °C, Reims (France) ±1.7 °C. Twenty closest, compared month by month
Monthly highs and lows against the 1991–2020 station normals of the nearest station; ± is the average monthly difference.
Population and city profile
By nationality
National passport87.1%Foreign residents12.9%
Calculated from the population and foreign-resident facts on this page.
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Area | 1.36 km² | Dec 2022 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| City area | 1.36 km² | Dec 2022 | Exact 2022 Built Up Area polygon area for BUA22CD in EPSG:27700, converted from square metres to km2.5Official |
| Foreign residents | 895 people | 21 Mar 2021 | Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts.6Official |
| GP practices per 10,000 residents | 1.44 per 10,000 people | 7 Jul 2026 | NHS ODS GP Practices report + ONSPD Live postcode coordinates7Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Schools per 10,000 residents | 1.44 per 10,000 people | 7 Jul 2026 | DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract4Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Population density | 5,101 people/km² | 21 Mar 2021 | www.ons.gov.uk6Official · built-up-area figure |
| Population | 6,950 people | 21 Mar 2021 | Census 2021 usual resident population count for the exact Built Up Area (BUA), England excluding London or Wales.6Official |
Additional context
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Owner-occupied homes | 54.01 % | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Residents born abroad | 12.9 % | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Median age | 39 years | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Universities | 0 count | 3 Aug 2026 | Office for Students8Official |
Alternatives for people set on Blackheath
Three places for the three reasons people leave a city on the shortlist: stay in the region, stay in the country, or keep the budget and change the country. A percentage appears only where both cities publish that metric from the same source, period and grain. Distances are straight lines — travel times are not collected yet.
Dudley as a Blackheath alternative in the same region
Better on 1 of 2 metrics measured the same way, worse on 0. Median gross pay, region cannot be compared like for like.
- Residents: 64,270 Dudley vs 6,950 Blackheath+825%
- Median gross pay, region: €2,781 (2024) Dudley vs €3,393 (2025) Blackheathno percentage
- Annual PM2.5: 7.9 µg/m³ Dudley vs 8.2 µg/m³ Blackheath−3%
Crosby (Sefton) as a Blackheath alternative in the same country
Better on 1 of 2 metrics measured the same way, worse on 0. Median gross pay, region cannot be compared like for like.
- Residents: 50,215 Crosby (Sefton) vs 6,950 Blackheath+623%
- Median gross pay, region: €2,812 (2024) Crosby (Sefton) vs €3,393 (2025) Blackheathno percentage
- Annual PM2.5: 7.7 µg/m³ Crosby (Sefton) vs 8.2 µg/m³ Blackheath−6%
Alternative cities in United Kingdom
Other cities in United Kingdom to compare with Blackheath, nearest in population first.
How does Blackheath compare?
Pick a city. The answer appears here and the address bar keeps it, so the comparison can be shared; the page stays Blackheath's.
Is Blackheath part of Dudley?
Blackheath is in the published commuting zone of Dudley; this does not mean it is administratively part of the hub. Dudley city profile
Relationship type: Commuting Zone Of. Source18
Common questions
Answered from the published values on this page, each with its source and date.
What is the typical salary around Blackheath?
The median gross salary is 3,393 EUR/month. Source: ONS ASHE Table 8.1a — Weekly pay - Gross (£), full-time employee jobs by local authority of residence, 2025 provisional.
Is the air quality good in Blackheath?
The annual PM2.5 mean is 8.16 µg/m³. The WHO 2021 guideline is 5 µg/m³ and the EU limit value is 25 µg/m³, so this reading is above the WHO guideline but within the EU limit. Source: official estimated total annual mean background concentration.
How many people live in Blackheath?
The published population is 6,950 people. Source: Census 2021 usual resident population count for the exact Built Up Area (BUA), England excluding London or Wales..
How many foreign residents live in Blackheath?
895 residents hold a foreign nationality. Source: Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts..
Is Blackheath a good place to live?
Blackheath may suit different people for different reasons. The page's profile scores compare published cost, work, housing, safety, healthcare and other available factors; they are a decision aid, not a universal recommendation.
Is Blackheath part of Dudley?
Blackheath is in the published commuting zone of Dudley; this does not mean it is administratively part of the hub.
Cite this page
Open a format to select or copy this ImmigrationDB compilation citation. The native disclosure and text fallback work without JavaScript.
APA citation
ImmigrationDB. (2026, October 16). Blackheath, United Kingdom: population, rent, salary, jobs [ImmigrationDB compilation; version 8af8b6c9a477c38e78bf26839850b09d]. ImmigrationDB. https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/blackheath/ Retrieved 2026-10-16. Compilation license: CC BY 4.0, https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/BibTeX citation
@misc{immigrationdb_immigrationdb_blackheath-united-kingdom-population-rent-salary-jobs_7f9ffbc83f9b,
author = {ImmigrationDB},
title = {Blackheath, United Kingdom: population, rent, salary, jobs},
publisher = {ImmigrationDB},
year = {2026},
date = {2026-10-16},
version = {8af8b6c9a477c38e78bf26839850b09d},
url = {https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/blackheath/},
note = {Retrieved 2026-10-16. ImmigrationDB compilation. Compilation license: CC BY 4.0, https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/},
}Markdown citation
[Blackheath, United Kingdom: population, rent, salary, jobs](https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/blackheath/) — ImmigrationDB; ImmigrationDB; version 8af8b6c9a477c38e78bf26839850b09d; retrieved 2026-10-16; built 2026-10-16.This citation identifies the ImmigrationDB compilation/page. Underlying source publishers and datasets retain their own terms; inspect the Sources section and cite those records separately. View the underlying source records.
Sources
- BT Full Fibre 150 bt.com · checked 2026-09-15
- data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary data.police.uk · checked 2026-07-07
- Department for Education (GIAS) get-information-schools.service.gov.uk · checked 2026-08-03
- DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract get-information-schools.service.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-07
- Exact 2022 Built Up Area polygon area for BUA22CD in EPSG:27700, converted from square metres to km2. services1.arcgis.com · checked 2026-07-15
- Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts. ons.gov.uk · checked 2021-03-21
- NHS ODS GP Practices report + ONSPD Live postcode coordinates digital.nhs.uk · checked 2026-07-07
- Office for Students officeforstudents.org.uk · checked 2026-08-03
- official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
- official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
Show 13 more sources
- official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
- ONS ASHE Table 8.1a — Weekly pay - Gross (£), full-time employee jobs by local authority of residence, 2025 provisional ONS ASHE Table 8.1a · ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-09-24
- ONS Census 2021 towns and cities dataset Figure 9 individual BUA employment row for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-05
- ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-09-24
- OpenFlights raw.githubusercontent.com · checked 2026-08-03
- OurAirports davidmegginson.github.io · checked 2026-08-03
- Three 100GB one-month data pack three.co.uk · checked 2026-09-15
- Travel to Work Areas (December 2011) full extent boundaries in the United Kingdom services1.arcgis.com · checked 2026-09-19
- World Meteorological Organization / NOAA NCEI nodc.noaa.gov · checked 2026-08-03
- World Meteorological Organization / NOAA NCEI nodc.noaa.gov · checked 2026-08-03
- World Meteorological Organization / NOAA NCEI nodc.noaa.gov · checked 2026-08-03
- World Meteorological Organization / NOAA NCEI nodc.noaa.gov · checked 2026-08-03
- www.ofcom.org.uk ofcom.org.uk · checked 2026-07-15
Spotted a number that looks wrong? Every value here carries its source and date — tell us what you found and we will re-check it against the source.