Living in Blackwater (Hart)
In Blackwater (Hart), unemployment is 2.9% (2023).
Blackwater (Hart), a city in the United Kingdom, had a population of 7,170 in March 2021. For Blackwater (Hart), annual NO₂ was 8.48 µg/m³ in 2025. The city covered 1.4 km² in December 2022. Population density was 4,957.5 people per km² in 2021. Gigabit broadband availability was 95.7%. The employment rate was 61.9% in March 2021. Owner occupation accounted for 84.3% of homes in March 2021.
Lower unemployment than 76% of United Kingdom cities that publish it and dirtier air than 91% of United Kingdom cities that publish it.
Which United Kingdom-wide rules apply when you move to Blackwater (Hart)?
National rules stay on the country page instead of being relabelled as city data.
Housing and cost
No city-level rent figure is published for Blackwater (Hart). The available city-level cost figures remain below.
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Internet, 60 Mbps unlimited | 24.02 EUR/month | 30 Sept 2026 | BT Full Fibre 1501Official · national market |
| Mobile plan, 10 GB | 12.87 EUR/month | 30 Sept 2026 | Three 100GB one-month data pack13Official · national market |
| Dwellings | 2,735 count | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley5Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Average monthly rent (whole dwelling) | 1,652 EUR/month | 31 Aug 2026 | ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price12Official · county |
Is Blackwater (Hart) a good place to live?
There is no universal answer. The profile scores below show who the available published evidence may suit; they are a decision aid, not a personal recommendation.
Work and income
What is the unemployment rate in Blackwater (Hart)?
The unemployment rate is 2.9 % (January 2023). Source: www.ons.gov.uk14
Blackwater (Hart) 2.9%
Unemployment rate (%)
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gigabit broadband availability | 95.68 % | Not stated | www.ofcom.org.uk15Supplemental estimate · Supplemental context |
| Employment rate | 61.95 % | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 towns and cities dataset Figure 9 individual BUA employment row for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley11Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Superfast broadband availability | 99.86 % | Not stated | www.ofcom.org.uk15Supplemental estimate · Supplemental context |
| Median gross salary (regional) | 4,693 EUR/month | 31 Dec 2025 | ONS ASHE Table 8.1a — Weekly pay - Gross (£), full-time employee jobs by local authority of residence, 2025 provisional10Official · county |
| Unemployment rate | 2.9 %country median 3.4% | 31 Dec 2023 | www.ons.gov.uk14Official |
What does a salary buy in Blackwater (Hart)?
Take-home pay after tax, minus rent and the everyday bills this city publishes. Each line names its source.
RentInternetMobileLeft over
Line-by-line breakdown and sources
| Each month | € |
|---|---|
| Take-home payOECD Taxing Wages 2025, single, no children. Includes central and local income tax and employee social contributions; euro amounts at the ECB average for 2026-08. | €3,719 |
| Rentaverage rent of a whole dwelling · official · ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price · 2026-08-31 | − €1,652 |
| Internet€24 · official · BT Full Fibre 150 · 2026-09-30 | − €24 |
| Mobile plan€13 · official · Three 100GB one-month data pack · 2026-09-30 | − €13 |
| Other everyday billsnot published for this city: public transport pass, utilities | — |
| Left overbefore the bills this city does not publish | €2,031 |
Public employment service
No exact public employment office is currently linked to Blackwater (Hart). The verified national service may still offer online registration, job search or an official office finder.
Jobcentre Plus — Public employment service
Country-level service information is not treated as proof of a physical office in Blackwater (Hart). Sources checked through 10 Aug 2026.
Family and education
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Schools | 2 count | 7 Jul 2026 | DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract3Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
School for children who move here. School is compulsory from age 5 to 16, and public school is free.
A country-wide rule for United Kingdom; Blackwater (Hart)'s school authority applies it locally.
Sources: legislation.gov.uk · 1996–2026.
Healthcare
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| GP practices | 1 count | 7 Jul 2026 | NHS ODS GP Practices report + ONSPD Live postcode coordinates6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
Yes — migrants can receive medical care in Blackwater (Hart) under the national coverage rules.
Healthcare access follows the country-wide insurance rules; local capacity facts remain city data and are not used as proof of eligibility.
Open the official coverage guideSafety
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Violent crime per 100,000 residents | 2,232 per 100,000 | Apr 2026 | data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary2Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Burglary per 100,000 residents | 69.74 per 100,000 | 30 Apr 2026 | data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary2Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
Climate and air quality
Annual PM2.5 was 7.39 µg/m³ in 2025. Annual PM10 was 11.5 µg/m³ in 2025.
Is the air quality good in Blackwater (Hart)?
The annual PM2.5 mean is about 7.4 µg/m³ (2025) — above the WHO 2021 guideline of 5 µg/m³ but within the EU limit of 25 µg/m³.
Annual mean at the measuring site(s) serving the city; current-day readings differ.
- PM2.5 — annual mean: 7.39 µg/m³ · official estimated total annual mean background concentration9
Within WHO 2021 guidelineAbove WHO, within EU limitAbove EU legal limitCity annual mean · µg/m³
City values from the published air-quality observations. WHO 2021 guidelines and EU limit values are published constants.
Blackwater (Hart) 7.4
Annual PM2.5 (µg/m³)
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| NO₂ — annual mean | 8.48 µg/m³country median 7.2 | 2025 | official estimated total annual mean background concentration7Official |
| PM10 — annual mean | 11.49 µg/m³country median 11.3 — about the same | 2025 | official estimated total annual mean background concentration8Official |
| PM2.5 — annual mean | 7.39 µg/m³country median 6.5 | 2025 | official estimated total annual mean background concentration9Official |
Population and city profile
How many people live in Blackwater (Hart)?
The published population was 7,170 people in March 2021. Source: Census 2021 usual resident population count for the exact Built Up Area (BUA), England excluding London or Wales.5
By nationality
National passport87%Foreign residents13%
Calculated from the population and foreign-resident facts on this page.
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Area | 1.45 km² | Dec 2022 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley5Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| City area | 1.45 km² | Dec 2022 | Exact 2022 Built Up Area polygon area for BUA22CD in EPSG:27700, converted from square metres to km2.4Official |
| Foreign residents | 935 people | 21 Mar 2021 | Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts.5Official |
| GP practices per 10,000 residents | 1.39 per 10,000 people | 7 Jul 2026 | NHS ODS GP Practices report + ONSPD Live postcode coordinates6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Schools per 10,000 residents | 2.79 per 10,000 people | 7 Jul 2026 | DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract3Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Population density | 4,957 people/km² | 21 Mar 2021 | www.ons.gov.uk5Official · built-up-area figure |
| Population | 7,170 people | 21 Mar 2021 | Census 2021 usual resident population count for the exact Built Up Area (BUA), England excluding London or Wales.5Official |
Additional context
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Owner-occupied homes | 84.28 % | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley5Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Residents born abroad | 13 % | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley5Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Median age | 44 years | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley5Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
Alternatives for people set on Blackwater (Hart)
Nothing here reaches an argued comparison yet: no other published city shares enough metrics with Blackwater (Hart) from the same source, period and grain. What is collected is below.
Alternative cities in United Kingdom
Other cities in United Kingdom to compare with Blackwater (Hart), nearest in population first.
How does Blackwater (Hart) compare?
Pick a city. The answer appears here and the address bar keeps it, so the comparison can be shared; the page stays Blackwater (Hart)'s.
Common questions
Answered from the published values on this page, each with its source and date.
How many people live in Blackwater (Hart)?
The published population was 7,170 people in March 2021. Source: Census 2021 usual resident population count for the exact Built Up Area (BUA), England excluding London or Wales..
Is the air quality good in Blackwater (Hart)?
The annual PM2.5 mean is about 7.4 µg/m³ (2025) — above the WHO 2021 guideline of 5 µg/m³ but within the EU limit of 25 µg/m³. Source: official estimated total annual mean background concentration.
What is the unemployment rate in Blackwater (Hart)?
The unemployment rate is 2.9 % (January 2023). Source: www.ons.gov.uk.
What is the typical salary around Blackwater (Hart)?
The median gross salary is 4,693 EUR/month. Source: ONS ASHE Table 8.1a — Weekly pay - Gross (£), full-time employee jobs by local authority of residence, 2025 provisional.
How many foreign residents live in Blackwater (Hart)?
935 residents hold a foreign nationality. Source: Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts..
Is Blackwater (Hart) a good place to live?
Blackwater (Hart) may suit different people for different reasons. The page's profile scores compare published cost, work, housing, safety, healthcare and other available factors; they are a decision aid, not a universal recommendation.
Cite this page
Open a format to select or copy this ImmigrationDB compilation citation. The native disclosure and text fallback work without JavaScript.
APA citation
ImmigrationDB. (2026, October 16). Blackwater (Hart), United Kingdom: population, rent, salary [ImmigrationDB compilation; version c2e5957105aa5c4d088a99e2d2fb248b]. ImmigrationDB. https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/blackwater-hart/ Retrieved 2026-10-16. Compilation license: CC BY 4.0, https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/BibTeX citation
@misc{immigrationdb_immigrationdb_blackwater-hart-united-kingdom-population-rent-salary_c08b985b9857,
author = {ImmigrationDB},
title = {Blackwater (Hart), United Kingdom: population, rent, salary},
publisher = {ImmigrationDB},
year = {2026},
date = {2026-10-16},
version = {c2e5957105aa5c4d088a99e2d2fb248b},
url = {https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/blackwater-hart/},
note = {Retrieved 2026-10-16. ImmigrationDB compilation. Compilation license: CC BY 4.0, https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/},
}Markdown citation
[Blackwater (Hart), United Kingdom: population, rent, salary](https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/blackwater-hart/) — ImmigrationDB; ImmigrationDB; version c2e5957105aa5c4d088a99e2d2fb248b; retrieved 2026-10-16; built 2026-10-16.This citation identifies the ImmigrationDB compilation/page. Underlying source publishers and datasets retain their own terms; inspect the Sources section and cite those records separately. View the underlying source records.
Sources
- BT Full Fibre 150 bt.com · checked 2026-09-15
- data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary data.police.uk · checked 2026-07-07
- DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract get-information-schools.service.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-07
- Exact 2022 Built Up Area polygon area for BUA22CD in EPSG:27700, converted from square metres to km2. services1.arcgis.com · checked 2026-07-15
- Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts. ons.gov.uk · checked 2021-03-21
- NHS ODS GP Practices report + ONSPD Live postcode coordinates digital.nhs.uk · checked 2026-07-07
- official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
- official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
- official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
- ONS ASHE Table 8.1a — Weekly pay - Gross (£), full-time employee jobs by local authority of residence, 2025 provisional ONS ASHE Table 8.1a · ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-09-24
Show 5 more sources
- ONS Census 2021 towns and cities dataset Figure 9 individual BUA employment row for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-05
- ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-09-24
- Three 100GB one-month data pack three.co.uk · checked 2026-09-15
- www.ons.gov.uk ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-08-26
- www.ofcom.org.uk ofcom.org.uk · checked 2026-07-15
Spotted a number that looks wrong? Every value here carries its source and date — tell us what you found and we will re-check it against the source.