Living in Clayton-le-Moors
In Clayton-le-Moors, unemployment is 4.2% (2023).
The employment rate was 56.7% in March 2021. Gigabit broadband availability was 95.8%. The city had 4 schools in 2026. Owner occupation accounted for 65.6% of homes in March 2021. Clayton-le-Moors is in the United Kingdom; its population was 7,970 in March 2021.
Higher unemployment than 72% of United Kingdom cities that publish it and cleaner air than 68% of United Kingdom cities that publish it.
Which United Kingdom-wide rules apply when you move to Clayton-le-Moors?
National rules stay on the country page instead of being relabelled as city data.
Housing and cost
No city-level rent figure is published for Clayton-le-Moors. The available city-level cost figures remain below.
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Internet, 60 Mbps unlimited | 24.02 EUR/month | 30 Sept 2026 | BT Full Fibre 1501Official · national market |
| Mobile plan, 10 GB | 12.87 EUR/month | 30 Sept 2026 | Three 100GB one-month data pack17Official · national market |
| Dwellings | 3,445 count | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Average monthly rent (whole dwelling) | 757 EUR/month | 31 Aug 2026 | ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price14Official · county |
Is Clayton-le-Moors a good place to live?
There is no universal answer. The profile scores below show who the available published evidence may suit; they are a decision aid, not a personal recommendation.
Work and income
What is the unemployment rate in Clayton-le-Moors?
The unemployment rate is 4.2 % (January 2023). Source: www.ons.gov.uk20
Clayton-le-Moors 4.2%
Unemployment rate (%)
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gigabit broadband availability | 95.83 % | Not stated | www.ofcom.org.uk21Supplemental estimate · Supplemental context |
| Employment rate | 56.74 % | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 towns and cities dataset Figure 9 individual BUA employment row for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley13Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Superfast broadband availability | 99.37 % | Not stated | www.ofcom.org.uk21Supplemental estimate · Supplemental context |
| Median gross salary (regional) | 2,956 EUR/month | 31 Dec 2024 | www.ons.gov.uk19Official |
| Unemployment rate | 4.2 %country median 3.4% | 31 Dec 2023 | www.ons.gov.uk20Official |
What does a salary buy in Clayton-le-Moors?
Take-home pay after tax, minus rent and the everyday bills this city publishes. Each line names its source.
RentInternetMobileLeft over
Line-by-line breakdown and sources
| Each month | € |
|---|---|
| Take-home payOECD Taxing Wages 2025, single, no children. Includes central and local income tax and employee social contributions; euro amounts at the ECB average for 2026-08. | €2,474 |
| Rentaverage rent of a whole dwelling · official · ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price · 2026-08-31 | − €757 |
| Internet€24 · official · BT Full Fibre 150 · 2026-09-30 | − €24 |
| Mobile plan€13 · official · Three 100GB one-month data pack · 2026-09-30 | − €13 |
| Other everyday billsnot published for this city: public transport pass, utilities | — |
| Left overbefore the bills this city does not publish | €1,680 |
Public employment service
No exact public employment office is currently linked to Clayton-le-Moors. The verified national service may still offer online registration, job search or an official office finder.
Jobcentre Plus — Public employment service
Country-level service information is not treated as proof of a physical office in Clayton-le-Moors. Sources checked through 10 Aug 2026.
Family and education
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Schools | 4 count | 7 Jul 2026 | DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract4Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Primary schools | 3 count | 3 Aug 2026 | Department for Education (GIAS)3Official |
| Schools | 4 count | 3 Aug 2026 | Department for Education (GIAS)3Official |
School for children who move here. School is compulsory from age 5 to 16, and public school is free.
A country-wide rule for United Kingdom; Clayton-le-Moors's school authority applies it locally.
Sources: legislation.gov.uk · 1996–2026.
Healthcare
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| GP practices | 1 count | 7 Jul 2026 | NHS ODS GP Practices report + ONSPD Live postcode coordinates8Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
Yes — migrants can receive medical care in Clayton-le-Moors under the national coverage rules.
Healthcare access follows the country-wide insurance rules; local capacity facts remain city data and are not used as proof of eligibility.
Open the official coverage guideSafety
How safe is Clayton-le-Moors?
Police recorded about 9,697 incidents per 100,000 (2025-26). This counts all offences, so it is not comparable with a violent-crime-only rate from another source. Source: Police force area tables, year ending March 2026, Table C416
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Recorded incidents per 100,000 residents | 9,697 incidents per 100,000 | 31 Dec 2025 | Police force area tables, year ending March 2026, Table C416Official · county |
| Violent crime per 100,000 residents | 4,442 per 100,000 | Apr 2026 | data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary2Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Burglary per 100,000 residents | 489.3 per 100,000 | 30 Apr 2026 | data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary2Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
Mobility and administration
Climate and air quality
Annual PM2.5 was 6.17 µg/m³ in 2025. Annual NO₂ was 8.53 µg/m³ in 2025. Annual PM10 was 10.9 µg/m³ in 2025.
Is the air quality good in Clayton-le-Moors?
The annual PM2.5 mean is about 6.2 µg/m³ (2025) — above the WHO 2021 guideline of 5 µg/m³ but within the EU limit of 25 µg/m³.
Annual mean at the measuring site(s) serving the city; current-day readings differ.
- PM2.5 — annual mean: 6.17 µg/m³ · official estimated total annual mean background concentration12
Within WHO 2021 guidelineAbove WHO, within EU limitAbove EU legal limitCity annual mean · µg/m³
City values from the published air-quality observations. WHO 2021 guidelines and EU limit values are published constants.
Clayton-le-Moors 6.2
Annual PM2.5 (µg/m³)
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| NO₂ — annual mean | 8.53 µg/m³country median 7.2 | 2025 | official estimated total annual mean background concentration10Official |
| PM10 — annual mean | 10.92 µg/m³country median 11.3 | 2025 | official estimated total annual mean background concentration11Official |
| PM2.5 — annual mean | 6.17 µg/m³country median 6.5 | 2025 | official estimated total annual mean background concentration12Official |
| Monthly extreme high temperature | Jan 11.69 · Feb 14.68 · Mar 17.4 · Apr 20.94 · May 24.37 · Jun 25.59 · Jul 27.45 · Aug 26.7 · Sep 23.24 · Oct 21.94 · Nov 15.73 · Dec 12.56 °C | 31 Dec 2001 | NASA POWER / NASA Langley Research Center7Official |
| Monthly extreme low temperature | Jan -5.79 · Feb -6.56 · Mar -6.38 · Apr -2.96 · May -1.32 · Jun 3.13 · Jul 6.37 · Aug 5.07 · Sep 2.59 · Oct -1.43 · Nov -4.07 · Dec -7.75 °C | 31 Dec 2001 | NASA POWER / NASA Langley Research Center7Official |
| Average temperature by month | Jan 3.35 · Feb 3.3 · Mar 4.69 · Apr 7.26 · May 10.34 · Jun 13.34 · Jul 14.93 · Aug 14.63 · Sep 12.55 · Oct 9.57 · Nov 6.25 · Dec 4.02 °C | 31 Dec 2001 | NASA POWER / NASA Langley Research Center7Official |
Annual PM2.5 fell 48.6% between 2013 and 2025, from 12.0 to 6.2.
Population and city profile
The city covered 2.1 km² in December 2022. Population density was 3,708 people per km² in 2021.
How many people live in Clayton-le-Moors?
The published population was 7,970 people in March 2021. Source: Census 2021 usual resident population count for the exact Built Up Area (BUA), England excluding London or Wales.6
By nationality
National passport95.4%
Calculated from the population and foreign-resident facts on this page.
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Area | 2.15 km² | Dec 2022 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| City area | 2.15 km² | Dec 2022 | Exact 2022 Built Up Area polygon area for BUA22CD in EPSG:27700, converted from square metres to km2.5Official |
| Foreign residents | 365 people | 21 Mar 2021 | Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts.6Official |
| GP practices per 10,000 residents | 1.25 per 10,000 people | 7 Jul 2026 | NHS ODS GP Practices report + ONSPD Live postcode coordinates8Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Schools per 10,000 residents | 5.02 per 10,000 people | 7 Jul 2026 | DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract4Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Population density | 3,708 people/km² | 21 Mar 2021 | www.ons.gov.uk6Official · built-up-area figure |
| Population | 7,970 people | 21 Mar 2021 | Census 2021 usual resident population count for the exact Built Up Area (BUA), England excluding London or Wales.6Official |
Additional context
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Owner-occupied homes | 65.6 % | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Residents born abroad | 4.6 % | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Median age | 42 years | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Universities | 0 count | 3 Aug 2026 | Office for Students9Official |
Alternatives for people set on Clayton-le-Moors
Three places for the three reasons people leave a city on the shortlist: stay in the region, stay in the country, or keep the budget and change the country. A percentage appears only where both cities publish that metric from the same source, period and grain. Distances are straight lines — travel times are not collected yet.
Blackburn as a Clayton-le-Moors alternative in the same region
Better on 1 of 4 metrics measured the same way, worse on 1. Median gross pay, region cannot be compared like for like.
- Residents: 124,955 Blackburn vs 7,970 Clayton-le-Moors+1468%
- Median gross pay, region: €3,113 Blackburn vs €2,956 Clayton-le-Moorsno percentage
- Unemployment: 4.8% Blackburn vs 4.2% Clayton-le-Moors+14%
- Recorded crime, per 100k: 8,418 Blackburn vs 9,697 Clayton-le-Moors−13%
- Annual PM2.5: 6.0 µg/m³ Blackburn vs 6.2 µg/m³ Clayton-le-Moorssame level
Crosby (Sefton) as a Clayton-le-Moors alternative in the same country
Better on 1 of 4 metrics measured the same way, worse on 2.
- Residents: 50,215 Crosby (Sefton) vs 7,970 Clayton-le-Moors+530%
- Recorded crime, per 100k: 7,552 Crosby (Sefton) vs 9,697 Clayton-le-Moors−22%
- Annual PM2.5: 7.7 µg/m³ Crosby (Sefton) vs 6.2 µg/m³ Clayton-le-Moors+24%
- Median gross pay, region: €2,812 Crosby (Sefton) vs €2,956 Clayton-le-Moors−5%
Alternative cities in United Kingdom
Other cities in United Kingdom to compare with Clayton-le-Moors, nearest in population first.
How does Clayton-le-Moors compare?
Pick a city. The answer appears here and the address bar keeps it, so the comparison can be shared; the page stays Clayton-le-Moors's.
Is Clayton-le-Moors part of Blackburn?
Clayton-le-Moors is in the published commuting zone of Blackburn; this does not mean it is administratively part of the hub. Blackburn city profile
Relationship type: Commuting Zone Of. Source18
Common questions
Answered from the published values on this page, each with its source and date.
How many people live in Clayton-le-Moors?
The published population was 7,970 people in March 2021. Source: Census 2021 usual resident population count for the exact Built Up Area (BUA), England excluding London or Wales..
Is the air quality good in Clayton-le-Moors?
The annual PM2.5 mean is about 6.2 µg/m³ (2025) — above the WHO 2021 guideline of 5 µg/m³ but within the EU limit of 25 µg/m³. Source: official estimated total annual mean background concentration.
How safe is Clayton-le-Moors?
Police recorded about 9,697 incidents per 100,000 (2025-26). This counts all offences, so it is not comparable with a violent-crime-only rate from another source. Source: Police force area tables, year ending March 2026, Table C4.
What is the unemployment rate in Clayton-le-Moors?
The unemployment rate is 4.2 % (January 2023). Source: www.ons.gov.uk.
What is the typical salary around Clayton-le-Moors?
The median gross salary is 2,956 EUR/month. Source: www.ons.gov.uk.
How many foreign residents live in Clayton-le-Moors?
365 residents hold a foreign nationality. Source: Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts..
Is Clayton-le-Moors a good place to live?
Clayton-le-Moors may suit different people for different reasons. The page's profile scores compare published cost, work, housing, safety, healthcare and other available factors; they are a decision aid, not a universal recommendation.
Is Clayton-le-Moors part of Blackburn?
Clayton-le-Moors is in the published commuting zone of Blackburn; this does not mean it is administratively part of the hub.
Cite this page
Open a format to select or copy this ImmigrationDB compilation citation. The native disclosure and text fallback work without JavaScript.
APA citation
ImmigrationDB. (2026, October 16). Clayton-le-Moors, United Kingdom: population, rent, salary [ImmigrationDB compilation; version dd05d3359b2a8a3650e5499298434d46]. ImmigrationDB. https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/clayton-le-moors/ Retrieved 2026-10-16. Compilation license: CC BY 4.0, https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/BibTeX citation
@misc{immigrationdb_immigrationdb_clayton-le-moors-united-kingdom-population-rent-salary_4abf849f2c98,
author = {ImmigrationDB},
title = {Clayton-le-Moors, United Kingdom: population, rent, salary},
publisher = {ImmigrationDB},
year = {2026},
date = {2026-10-16},
version = {dd05d3359b2a8a3650e5499298434d46},
url = {https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/clayton-le-moors/},
note = {Retrieved 2026-10-16. ImmigrationDB compilation. Compilation license: CC BY 4.0, https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/},
}Markdown citation
[Clayton-le-Moors, United Kingdom: population, rent, salary](https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/clayton-le-moors/) — ImmigrationDB; ImmigrationDB; version dd05d3359b2a8a3650e5499298434d46; retrieved 2026-10-16; built 2026-10-16.This citation identifies the ImmigrationDB compilation/page. Underlying source publishers and datasets retain their own terms; inspect the Sources section and cite those records separately. View the underlying source records.
Sources
- BT Full Fibre 150 bt.com · checked 2026-09-15
- data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary data.police.uk · checked 2026-07-07
- Department for Education (GIAS) get-information-schools.service.gov.uk · checked 2026-08-03
- DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract get-information-schools.service.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-07
- Exact 2022 Built Up Area polygon area for BUA22CD in EPSG:27700, converted from square metres to km2. services1.arcgis.com · checked 2026-07-15
- Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts. ons.gov.uk · checked 2021-03-21
- NASA POWER / NASA Langley Research Center power.larc.nasa.gov · checked 2026-08-03
- NHS ODS GP Practices report + ONSPD Live postcode coordinates digital.nhs.uk · checked 2026-07-07
- Office for Students officeforstudents.org.uk · checked 2026-08-03
- official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
Show 11 more sources
- official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
- official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
- ONS Census 2021 towns and cities dataset Figure 9 individual BUA employment row for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-05
- ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-09-24
- OurAirports davidmegginson.github.io · checked 2026-08-03
- Police force area tables, year ending March 2026, Table C4 ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-10-05
- Three 100GB one-month data pack three.co.uk · checked 2026-09-15
- Travel to Work Areas (December 2011) full extent boundaries in the United Kingdom services1.arcgis.com · checked 2026-09-19
- www.ons.gov.uk ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-08-27
- www.ons.gov.uk ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-08-26
- www.ofcom.org.uk ofcom.org.uk · checked 2026-07-15
Spotted a number that looks wrong? Every value here carries its source and date — tell us what you found and we will re-check it against the source.