On this page

Living in Freshwater and Totland

Freshwater and Totland is a city in the United Kingdom. The employment rate was 39.8% in March 2021. In 2025, annual NO₂ was 5 µg/m³. Its population was 7,520 in March 2021. The city covered 3.6 km² in December 2022. Population density was 2,080.6 people per km² in 2021. Gigabit broadband availability was 85.1%. Owner occupation accounted for 72.5% of homes in March 2021.

Higher unemployment than 78% of United Kingdom cities that publish it and cleaner air than 87% of United Kingdom cities that publish it.

Which United Kingdom-wide rules apply when you move to Freshwater and Totland?

National rules stay on the country page instead of being relabelled as city data.

Housing and cost

No city-level rent or cost figure is published for Freshwater and Totland yet. United Kingdom has country-level context; it is not substituted for this city.

MetricValuePeriodSource
Dwellings3,630 count21 Mar 2021ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley4Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure

Work and income

What is the unemployment rate in Freshwater and Totland?

The unemployment rate is 4.9 % (2025-2026). Source: www.nomisweb.co.uk10

Unemployment across cities in United KingdomUnemployment in Freshwater and Totland is 4.9%. Of 384 cities with data, 230 have unemployment of 2 to under 4%.
unemployment rate, % · measured cities in United Kingdom per band9 cities: 0% to under 2%90–2230 cities: 2% to under 4%2302–4107 cities: 4% to under 6%1074–6Freshwater and Totland 4.9%30 cities: 6% to under 8%306–84 cities: 8% to under 10%48–103 cities: 10% to under 12%310–121 city: 16% to under 18%116–18

Unemployment rate (%)

MetricValuePeriodSource
Gigabit broadband availability85.12 %Not statedwww.ofcom.org.uk12Supplemental estimate · Supplemental context
Employment rate39.84 %21 Mar 2021ONS Census 2021 towns and cities dataset Figure 9 individual BUA employment row for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley9Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure
Superfast broadband availability97.81 %Not statedwww.ofcom.org.uk12Supplemental estimate · Supplemental context
Median gross salary (regional)3,260 EUR/month31 Dec 2024www.ons.gov.uk11Official
Unemployment rate4.9 %country median 3.5%31 Dec 2025www.nomisweb.co.uk10Official

Public employment service

No exact public employment office is currently linked to Freshwater and Totland. The verified national service may still offer online registration, job search or an official office finder.

Country-level information

Jobcentre Plus — Public employment service

Department for Work and Pensions

Job SearchUnemployment Claim

Country-level service information is not treated as proof of a physical office in Freshwater and Totland. Sources checked through 10 Aug 2026.

Family and education

MetricValuePeriodSource
Schools1 count7 Jul 2026DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract2Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure

Safety

Recorded crime across major citiesFreshwater and Totland highlighted among comparable cities
Recorded crime across major cities with Freshwater and Totland highlighted14,267Manchester13,099Bristol12,409Liverpool11,700Bradford11,462Leeds11,416Birmingham11,001Leicester9,693Sheffield9,379Cardiff8,836Coventry757Glasgow549Edinburghrecorded incidents per 100k residents
MetricValuePeriodSource
Violent crime per 100,000 residents2,660 per 100,000Apr 2026data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary1Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure
Burglary per 100,000 residents146.3 per 100,000Apr 2026data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary1Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure

Climate and air quality

Annual PM2.5 was 5.65 µg/m³ in 2025. Annual PM10 was 9 µg/m³ in 2025.

Is the air quality good in Freshwater and Totland?

The annual PM2.5 mean is about 5.7 µg/m³ (2025) — above the WHO 2021 guideline of 5 µg/m³ but within the EU limit of 25 µg/m³.

Annual mean at the measuring site(s) serving the city; current-day readings differ.

  • PM2.5 — annual mean: 5.65 µg/m³ · official estimated total annual mean background concentration8
Air quality vs health guidelinesAnnual means against WHO 2021 guidelines and EU legal limits
Freshwater and Totland annual air pollutant levels against WHO 2021 guidelines and EU legal limitsCity valueWHO guidelineEU limit5255.7PM2.515409.0PM1010405.0NO₂µg/m³

City values from the published air-quality observations. WHO 2021 guidelines and EU limit values are published constants.

PM2.5 across cities in United KingdomAnnual PM2.5 in Freshwater and Totland is 5.7 µg/m³. Of 104 cities with data, 52 have annual PM2.5 of 6 to under 7 µg/m³.
annual PM2.5, µg/m³ · measured cities in United Kingdom per band1 city: 4 µg/m³ to under 5 µg/m³14–522 cities: 5 µg/m³ to under 6 µg/m³225–6Freshwater and Totland 5.752 cities: 6 µg/m³ to under 7 µg/m³526–727 cities: 7 µg/m³ to under 8 µg/m³277–82 cities: 8 µg/m³ to under 9 µg/m³28–9

Annual PM2.5 (µg/m³)

MetricValuePeriodSource
NO₂ — annual mean5 µg/m³country median 7.82025official estimated total annual mean background concentration6Official
PM10 — annual mean9.01 µg/m³country median 11.52025official estimated total annual mean background concentration7Official
PM2.5 — annual mean5.65 µg/m³country median 6.62025official estimated total annual mean background concentration8Official

Cities of a similar size in United Kingdom

Closest published populations, for a like-for-like comparison.

All United Kingdom cities

Population and city profile

How many people live in Freshwater and Totland?

The published population was 7,520 people in March 2021. Source: Census 2021 usual resident population count for the exact Built Up Area (BUA), England excluding London or Wales.4

Who lives hereResidents by nationality, % of population
Freshwater and Totland residents by nationalityBy nationalityNational passport95%Foreign residents 5%

Calculated from the population and foreign-resident facts on this page.

MetricValuePeriodSource
Area3.61 km²Dec 2022ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley4Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure
City area3.61 km²Dec 2022Exact 2022 Built Up Area polygon area for BUA22CD in EPSG:27700, converted from square metres to km2.3Official
Foreign residents375 people21 Mar 2021Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts.4Official
GP practices per 10,000 residents1.33 per 10,000 people7 Jul 2026NHS ODS GP Practices report + ONSPD Live postcode coordinates5Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure
Schools per 10,000 residents1.33 per 10,000 people7 Jul 2026DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract2Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure
Population density2,081 people/km²21 Mar 2021www.ons.gov.uk4Official · built-up-area figure
Population7,520 people21 Mar 2021Census 2021 usual resident population count for the exact Built Up Area (BUA), England excluding London or Wales.4Official

Is Freshwater and Totland a good place to live?

There is no universal answer. The profile scores below show who the available published evidence may suit; they are a decision aid, not a personal recommendation.

Try your profile
Remote worker55%strong on work, weak on safety · range 44–66%
Skilled employee59%strong on work, weak on safety · range 48–70%
Student56%strong on legal route, weak on safety · range 44–68%
Family53%strong on family, weak on safety · range 41–65%
Retirement60%strong on air quality, weak on admin · range 47–73%
Foreign residents375 people21 Mar 2021Official source · Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts.
Population7,520 people21 Mar 2021Official source · Census 2021 usual resident population count for the exact Built Up Area (BUA), England excluding London or Wales.
Dwellings3,630 count21 Mar 2021Official source · ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley
Gigabit broadband availability85.12 %Not statedIndependent source · www.ofcom.org.uk
Employment rate39.84 %21 Mar 2021Official source · ONS Census 2021 towns and cities dataset Figure 9 individual BUA employment row for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley
Superfast broadband availability97.81 %Not statedIndependent source · www.ofcom.org.uk
Every value keeps its source, geographic scope and verification date · Last checked 2026-08-27

Additional context

MetricValuePeriodSource
Owner-occupied homes72.45 %21 Mar 2021ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley4Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure
GP practices1 count7 Jul 2026NHS ODS GP Practices report + ONSPD Live postcode coordinates5Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure
Residents born abroad5 %21 Mar 2021ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley4Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure
Median age59 years21 Mar 2021ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley4Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure

Yes — migrants can receive medical care in Freshwater and Totland under the national coverage rules.

Healthcare access follows the country-wide insurance rules; local capacity facts remain city data and are not used as proof of eligibility.

Open the official coverage guide
Country rule verified 2026-08-03.

Common questions

Answered from the published values on this page, each with its source and date.

How many people live in Freshwater and Totland?

The published population was 7,520 people in March 2021. Source: Census 2021 usual resident population count for the exact Built Up Area (BUA), England excluding London or Wales..

Is the air quality good in Freshwater and Totland?

The annual PM2.5 mean is about 5.7 µg/m³ (2025) — above the WHO 2021 guideline of 5 µg/m³ but within the EU limit of 25 µg/m³. Source: official estimated total annual mean background concentration.

What is the unemployment rate in Freshwater and Totland?

The unemployment rate is 4.9 % (2025-2026). Source: www.nomisweb.co.uk.

What is the typical salary around Freshwater and Totland?

The median gross salary is 3,260 EUR/month. Source: www.ons.gov.uk.

How many foreign residents live in Freshwater and Totland?

375 people residents hold a foreign nationality. Source: Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts..

Is Freshwater and Totland a good place to live?

Freshwater and Totland may suit different people for different reasons. The page's profile scores compare published cost, work, housing, safety, healthcare and other available factors; they are a decision aid, not a universal recommendation.

Cite this page

Open a format to select or copy this ImmigrationDB compilation citation. The native disclosure and text fallback work without JavaScript.

APA citation
ImmigrationDB. (2026, September 12). Freshwater and Totland, United Kingdom: jobs [ImmigrationDB compilation; snapshot approved-static-d7ed373c115d60d0; version approved-static-d7ed373c115d60d0]. ImmigrationDB. https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/freshwater-and-totland/ Retrieved 2026-09-12. Compilation license: CC BY 4.0, https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/
BibTeX citation
@misc{immigrationdb_immigrationdb_freshwater-and-totland-united-kingdom-jobs_b2e86563278a,
  author = {ImmigrationDB},
  title = {Freshwater and Totland, United Kingdom: jobs},
  publisher = {ImmigrationDB},
  year = {2026},
  date = {2026-09-12},
  version = {approved-static-d7ed373c115d60d0},
  snapshot = {approved-static-d7ed373c115d60d0},
  url = {https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/freshwater-and-totland/},
  note = {Retrieved 2026-09-12. ImmigrationDB compilation. Compilation license: CC BY 4.0, https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/},
}
Markdown citation
[Freshwater and Totland, United Kingdom: jobs](https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/freshwater-and-totland/) — ImmigrationDB; ImmigrationDB; snapshot approved-static-d7ed373c115d60d0; version approved-static-d7ed373c115d60d0; retrieved 2026-09-12; built 2026-09-12.

This citation identifies the ImmigrationDB compilation/page. Underlying source publishers and datasets retain their own terms; inspect the Sources section and cite those records separately. View the underlying source records.

Sources

JSON Markdown
  1. data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary data.police.uk · checked 2026-07-07
  2. DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract get-information-schools.service.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-07
  3. Exact 2022 Built Up Area polygon area for BUA22CD in EPSG:27700, converted from square metres to km2. services1.arcgis.com · checked 2026-07-15
  4. Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts. ons.gov.uk · checked 2021-03-21
  5. NHS ODS GP Practices report + ONSPD Live postcode coordinates digital.nhs.uk · checked 2026-07-07
  6. official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
  7. official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
  8. official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
  9. ONS Census 2021 towns and cities dataset Figure 9 individual BUA employment row for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-05
  10. www.nomisweb.co.uk nomisweb.co.uk · checked 2026-08-26
Show 2 more sources
  1. www.ons.gov.uk ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-08-27
  2. www.ofcom.org.uk ofcom.org.uk · checked 2026-07-15

Spotted a number that looks wrong? Every value here carries its source and date — tell us what you found and we will re-check it against the source.