Living in Paddock Wood
Gigabit broadband availability was 88.1%. The employment rate was 59.2% in March 2021. Owner occupation accounted for 71.7% of homes in March 2021. Paddock Wood is in the United Kingdom; its population was 7,610 in March 2021. For Paddock Wood, annual NO₂ was 7.61 µg/m³ in 2025. The city covered 3.2 km² in December 2022. Population density was 2,393.1 people per km² in 2021.
Which United Kingdom-wide rules apply when you move to Paddock Wood?
National rules stay on the country page instead of being relabelled as city data.
Housing and cost
No city-level rent figure is published for Paddock Wood. The available city-level cost figures remain below.
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Internet, 60 Mbps unlimited | 24.02 EUR/month | 30 Sept 2026 | BT Full Fibre 1501Official · national market |
| Mobile plan, 10 GB | 12.87 EUR/month | 30 Sept 2026 | Three 100GB one-month data pack16Official · national market |
| Dwellings | 3,195 count | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Average monthly rent (whole dwelling) | 1,791 EUR/month | 31 Aug 2026 | ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price14Official · county |
Is Paddock Wood a good place to live?
There is no universal answer. The profile scores below show who the available published evidence may suit; they are a decision aid, not a personal recommendation.
Worked out from these numbers
How international is the population?
6.8% of residents hold a foreign nationality — 515 of 7,610 people. This counts nationality, not place of birth, so long-settled residents who naturalised are not in it.
Work and income
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gigabit broadband availability | 88.08 % | Not stated | www.ofcom.org.uk21Supplemental estimate · Supplemental context |
| Employment rate | 59.23 % | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 towns and cities dataset Figure 9 individual BUA employment row for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley13Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Superfast broadband availability | 98.01 % | Not stated | www.ofcom.org.uk21Supplemental estimate · Supplemental context |
| Median gross salary (regional) | 4,406 EUR/month | 31 Dec 2025 | ONS ASHE Table 8.1a — Weekly pay - Gross (£), full-time employee jobs by local authority of residence, 2025 provisional12Official |
What does a salary buy in Paddock Wood?
Take-home pay after tax, minus rent and the everyday bills this city publishes. Each line names its source.
RentInternetMobileLeft over
Line-by-line breakdown and sources
| Each month | € |
|---|---|
| Take-home payOECD Taxing Wages 2025, single, no children. Includes central and local income tax and employee social contributions; euro amounts at the ECB average for 2026-08. | €3,518 |
| Rentaverage rent of a whole dwelling · official · ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price · 2026-08-31 | − €1,791 |
| Internet€24 · official · BT Full Fibre 150 · 2026-09-30 | − €24 |
| Mobile plan€13 · official · Three 100GB one-month data pack · 2026-09-30 | − €13 |
| Other everyday billsnot published for this city: public transport pass, utilities | — |
| Left overbefore the bills this city does not publish | €1,690 |
Public employment service
No exact public employment office is currently linked to Paddock Wood. The verified national service may still offer online registration, job search or an official office finder.
Jobcentre Plus — Public employment service
Country-level service information is not treated as proof of a physical office in Paddock Wood. Sources checked through 10 Aug 2026.
Family and education
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Schools | 2 count | 7 Jul 2026 | DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract4Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Primary schools | 0 count | 3 Aug 2026 | Department for Education (GIAS)3Official |
| Schools | 1 count | 3 Aug 2026 | Department for Education (GIAS)3Official |
School for children who move here. School is compulsory from age 5 to 16, and public school is free.
A country-wide rule for United Kingdom; Paddock Wood's school authority applies it locally.
Sources: legislation.gov.uk · 1996–2026.
Healthcare
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| GP practices | 1 count | 7 Jul 2026 | NHS ODS GP Practices report + ONSPD Live postcode coordinates7Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
Yes — migrants can receive medical care in Paddock Wood under the national coverage rules.
Healthcare access follows the country-wide insurance rules; local capacity facts remain city data and are not used as proof of eligibility.
Open the official coverage guideSafety
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Violent crime per 100,000 residents | 2,996 per 100,000 | Apr 2026 | data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary2Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Burglary per 100,000 residents | 315.4 per 100,000 | 30 Apr 2026 | data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary2Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
Mobility and administration
Climate and air quality
Annual PM2.5 was 6.07 µg/m³ in 2025. Annual PM10 was 10 µg/m³ in 2025.
Night-time low to daytime high
mm
Within WHO 2021 guidelineAbove WHO, within EU limitAbove EU legal limitCity annual mean · µg/m³
City values from the published air-quality observations. WHO 2021 guidelines and EU limit values are published constants.
Paddock Wood 6.1
Annual PM2.5 (µg/m³)
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| NO₂ — annual mean | 7.61 µg/m³country median 7.2 | 2025 | official estimated total annual mean background concentration9Official |
| PM10 — annual mean | 10.01 µg/m³country median 11.3 | 2025 | official estimated total annual mean background concentration10Official |
| PM2.5 — annual mean | 6.07 µg/m³country median 6.5 | 2025 | official estimated total annual mean background concentration11Official |
| Average daytime high by month | Jan 8 · Feb 8.5 · Mar 11 · Apr 14.2 · May 17.3 · Jun 20.4 · Jul 22.8 · Aug 22.6 · Sep 19.5 · Oct 15.4 · Nov 11.2 · Dec 8.5 °C | 31 Dec 1991 | World Meteorological Organization / NOAA NCEI17Official |
| Average night-time low by month | Jan 2.2 · Feb 2.1 · Mar 3.6 · Apr 5.1 · May 8 · Jun 10.8 · Jul 13 · Aug 12.9 · Sep 10.4 · Oct 7.8 · Nov 4.6 · Dec 2.5 °C | 31 Dec 1991 | World Meteorological Organization / NOAA NCEI18Official |
| Average temperature by month | Jan 5.1 · Feb 5.3 · Mar 7.3 · Apr 9.6 · May 12.6 · Jun 15.6 · Jul 17.9 · Aug 17.8 · Sep 14.9 · Oct 11.6 · Nov 7.9 · Dec 5.5 °C | 31 Dec 1991 | World Meteorological Organization / NOAA NCEI19Official |
| Average precipitation by month | Jan 69.3 · Feb 51.2 · Mar 43.5 · Apr 45.5 · May 46.2 · Jun 47.5 · Jul 41.7 · Aug 55.5 · Sep 50.3 · Oct 73.4 · Nov 75.1 · Dec 71 mm | 31 Dec 1991 | World Meteorological Organization / NOAA NCEI20Official |
Annual PM2.5 fell 53.3% between 2013 and 2025, from 13.0 to 6.1.
Similar climate. In United Kingdom: Harrow ±0.3 °C. Elsewhere: Saanich (Canada) ±0.6 °C, Reims (France) ±1.1 °C, Werl (Germany) ±1.1 °C, Cork (Ireland) ±1.4 °C, Neustadt in Holstein (Germany) ±1.5 °C. Twenty closest, compared month by month
Monthly highs and lows against the 1991–2020 station normals of the nearest station; ± is the average monthly difference.
Population and city profile
By nationality
National passport93.2%
Calculated from the population and foreign-resident facts on this page.
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Area | 3.18 km² | Dec 2022 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| City area | 3.18 km² | Dec 2022 | Exact 2022 Built Up Area polygon area for BUA22CD in EPSG:27700, converted from square metres to km2.5Official |
| Foreign residents | 515 people | 21 Mar 2021 | Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts.6Official |
| GP practices per 10,000 residents | 1.31 per 10,000 people | 7 Jul 2026 | NHS ODS GP Practices report + ONSPD Live postcode coordinates7Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Schools per 10,000 residents | 2.63 per 10,000 people | 7 Jul 2026 | DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract4Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Population density | 2,393 people/km² | 21 Mar 2021 | www.ons.gov.uk6Official · built-up-area figure |
| Population | 7,610 people | 21 Mar 2021 | Census 2021 usual resident population count for the exact Built Up Area (BUA), England excluding London or Wales.6Official |
Additional context
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Owner-occupied homes | 71.67 % | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Residents born abroad | 6.8 % | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Median age | 44 years | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley6Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Universities | 0 count | 3 Aug 2026 | Office for Students8Official |
Alternatives for people set on Paddock Wood
Nothing here reaches an argued comparison yet: no other published city shares enough metrics with Paddock Wood from the same source, period and grain. What is collected is below.
Alternative cities in United Kingdom
Other cities in United Kingdom to compare with Paddock Wood, nearest in population first.
How does Paddock Wood compare?
Pick a city. The answer appears here and the address bar keeps it, so the comparison can be shared; the page stays Paddock Wood's.
Common questions
Answered from the published values on this page, each with its source and date.
What is the typical salary around Paddock Wood?
The median gross salary is 4,406 EUR/month. Source: ONS ASHE Table 8.1a — Weekly pay - Gross (£), full-time employee jobs by local authority of residence, 2025 provisional.
Is the air quality good in Paddock Wood?
The annual PM2.5 mean is 6.07 µg/m³. The WHO 2021 guideline is 5 µg/m³ and the EU limit value is 25 µg/m³, so this reading is above the WHO guideline but within the EU limit. Source: official estimated total annual mean background concentration.
How many people live in Paddock Wood?
The published population is 7,610 people. Source: Census 2021 usual resident population count for the exact Built Up Area (BUA), England excluding London or Wales..
How many foreign residents live in Paddock Wood?
515 residents hold a foreign nationality. Source: Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts..
Is Paddock Wood a good place to live?
Paddock Wood may suit different people for different reasons. The page's profile scores compare published cost, work, housing, safety, healthcare and other available factors; they are a decision aid, not a universal recommendation.
Cite this page
Open a format to select or copy this ImmigrationDB compilation citation. The native disclosure and text fallback work without JavaScript.
APA citation
ImmigrationDB. (2026, October 16). Paddock Wood, United Kingdom: population, rent, salary, jobs [ImmigrationDB compilation; version 30e8936b71463f2f19af0a312c427111]. ImmigrationDB. https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/paddock-wood/ Retrieved 2026-10-16. Compilation license: CC BY 4.0, https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/BibTeX citation
@misc{immigrationdb_immigrationdb_paddock-wood-united-kingdom-population-rent-salary-jobs_d589e906ff66,
author = {ImmigrationDB},
title = {Paddock Wood, United Kingdom: population, rent, salary, jobs},
publisher = {ImmigrationDB},
year = {2026},
date = {2026-10-16},
version = {30e8936b71463f2f19af0a312c427111},
url = {https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/paddock-wood/},
note = {Retrieved 2026-10-16. ImmigrationDB compilation. Compilation license: CC BY 4.0, https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/},
}Markdown citation
[Paddock Wood, United Kingdom: population, rent, salary, jobs](https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/paddock-wood/) — ImmigrationDB; ImmigrationDB; version 30e8936b71463f2f19af0a312c427111; retrieved 2026-10-16; built 2026-10-16.This citation identifies the ImmigrationDB compilation/page. Underlying source publishers and datasets retain their own terms; inspect the Sources section and cite those records separately. View the underlying source records.
Sources
- BT Full Fibre 150 bt.com · checked 2026-09-15
- data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary data.police.uk · checked 2026-07-07
- Department for Education (GIAS) get-information-schools.service.gov.uk · checked 2026-08-03
- DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract get-information-schools.service.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-07
- Exact 2022 Built Up Area polygon area for BUA22CD in EPSG:27700, converted from square metres to km2. services1.arcgis.com · checked 2026-07-15
- Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts. ons.gov.uk · checked 2021-03-21
- NHS ODS GP Practices report + ONSPD Live postcode coordinates digital.nhs.uk · checked 2026-07-07
- Office for Students officeforstudents.org.uk · checked 2026-08-03
- official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
- official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
Show 11 more sources
- official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
- ONS ASHE Table 8.1a — Weekly pay - Gross (£), full-time employee jobs by local authority of residence, 2025 provisional ONS ASHE Table 8.1a · ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-09-24
- ONS Census 2021 towns and cities dataset Figure 9 individual BUA employment row for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-05
- ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-09-24
- OurAirports davidmegginson.github.io · checked 2026-08-03
- Three 100GB one-month data pack three.co.uk · checked 2026-09-15
- World Meteorological Organization / NOAA NCEI nodc.noaa.gov · checked 2026-08-03
- World Meteorological Organization / NOAA NCEI nodc.noaa.gov · checked 2026-08-03
- World Meteorological Organization / NOAA NCEI nodc.noaa.gov · checked 2026-08-03
- World Meteorological Organization / NOAA NCEI nodc.noaa.gov · checked 2026-08-03
- www.ofcom.org.uk ofcom.org.uk · checked 2026-07-15
Spotted a number that looks wrong? Every value here carries its source and date — tell us what you found and we will re-check it against the source.