Living in Crawley
In Crawley, tenants pay an average rent of €1,738 a month (2026).
Residents of Crawley numbered 120,550 at the end of 2021. Regional median gross salary figures for Crawley showed €3,335 per month at the end of 2024. The unemployment rate was 2.5% at the end of 2023.
Lower unemployment than 90% of United Kingdom cities that publish it, more recorded crime than 67% of United Kingdom cities that publish it and dirtier air than 72% of United Kingdom cities that publish it.
Which United Kingdom-wide rules apply when you move to Crawley?
National rules stay on the country page instead of being relabelled as city data.
Housing and cost
No city-level rent figure is published for Crawley. The available city-level cost figures remain below.
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Internet, 60 Mbps unlimited | 24.02 EUR/month | 30 Sept 2026 | BT Full Fibre 1501Official · national market |
| Mobile plan, 10 GB | 12.87 EUR/month | 30 Sept 2026 | Three 100GB one-month data pack27Official · national market |
| Dwellings | 46,400 count | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley7Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Rent price index, mean | 1,740 EUR/month | 31 Jul 2026 | Price Index of Private Rents (PIPR), UK: monthly price statistics26Official |
| Average monthly rent (whole dwelling) | 1,738 EUR/month | 31 Aug 2026 | ONS Price Index of Private Rents, Table 1: average monthly rent price by local authority22Official |
Is Crawley a good place to live?
There is no universal answer. The profile scores below show who the available published evidence may suit; they are a decision aid, not a personal recommendation.
Work and income
Crawley 2.5%
Unemployment rate (%)
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gigabit broadband availability | 90.99 % | Not stated | www.ofcom.org.uk38Supplemental estimate · Supplemental context |
| Employment rate | 63.38 % | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 towns and cities dataset Figure 9 individual BUA employment row for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley21Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Superfast broadband availability | 98.61 % | Not stated | www.ofcom.org.uk38Supplemental estimate · Supplemental context |
| Median gross salary (regional) | 3,335 EUR/month | 31 Dec 2024 | Office for National Statistics (ONS)15Official · regional context |
| Unemployment rate | 2.5 % | 31 Dec 2023 | Office for National Statistics (ONS)16Official · regional context |
What does a salary buy in Crawley?
Take-home pay after tax, minus rent and the everyday bills this city publishes. Each line names its source.
RentInternetMobileLeft over
Line-by-line breakdown and sources
| Each month | € |
|---|---|
| Take-home payOECD Taxing Wages 2025, single, no children. Includes central and local income tax and employee social contributions; euro amounts at the ECB average for 2026-08. | €2,747 |
| Rentaverage rent of a whole dwelling · official · ONS Price Index of Private Rents, Table 1: average monthly rent price by local authority · 2026-08-31 | − €1,738 |
| Internet€24 · official · BT Full Fibre 150 · 2026-09-30 | − €24 |
| Mobile plan€13 · official · Three 100GB one-month data pack · 2026-09-30 | − €13 |
| Other everyday billsnot published for this city: public transport pass, utilities | — |
| Left overbefore the bills this city does not publish | €972 |
Public employment service
No exact public employment office is currently linked to Crawley. The verified national service may still offer online registration, job search or an official office finder.
Jobcentre Plus — Public employment service
Country-level service information is not treated as proof of a physical office in Crawley. Sources checked through 10 Aug 2026.
Family and education
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Schools | 39 count | 7 Jul 2026 | DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract4Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Primary schools | 29 count | 3 Aug 2026 | Department for Education (GIAS)3Official |
| Schools | 44 count | 3 Aug 2026 | Department for Education (GIAS)3Official |
School for children who move here. School is compulsory from age 5 to 16, and public school is free.
A country-wide rule for United Kingdom; Crawley's school authority applies it locally.
Sources: legislation.gov.uk · 1996–2026.
Healthcare
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| GP practices | 28 count | 30 Sept 2026 | ODS GP Practices report (epraccur)12Official |
| Pharmacies | 23 count | 30 Sept 2026 | ODS Pharmacy/Dispensaries report (edispensary)13Official |
Yes — migrants can receive medical care in Crawley under the national coverage rules.
Healthcare access follows the country-wide insurance rules; local capacity facts remain city data and are not used as proof of eligibility.
Open the official coverage guideSafety
How safe is Crawley?
Police recorded about 10,918 incidents per 100,000 (2026). This counts all offences, so it is not comparable with a violent-crime-only rate from another source. Source: PFA tables, year ending March 2026 (Table C2 counts; Table C4 rates and mid-2024 population)25
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Burglaries per 100,000 residents | 291.9 incidents per 100,000 | 31 Dec 2026 | PFA tables, year ending March 2026 (Table C2 counts; Table C4 rates and mid-2024 population)25Official |
| Recorded incidents per 100,000 residents | 10,918 incidents per 100,000country median 9,646 | 31 Dec 2026 | PFA tables, year ending March 2026 (Table C2 counts; Table C4 rates and mid-2024 population)25Official |
| Violent crime per 100,000 residents | 3,772 incidents per 100,000 | 31 Dec 2026 | PFA tables, year ending March 2026 (Table C2 counts; Table C4 rates and mid-2024 population)25Official |
| Burglary per 100,000 residents | 276.2 per 100,000 | 30 Apr 2026 | data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary2Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
Mobility and administration
Crawley's nearest airport was LGW, 4 km away and offered 165 direct destinations.
Climate and air quality
Monthly precipitation was 86.7 mm in January and 56.3 mm in July.
Is the air quality good in Crawley?
The annual PM2.5 mean is about 6.9 µg/m³ (2025) — above the WHO 2021 guideline of 5 µg/m³ but within the EU limit of 25 µg/m³.
Annual mean at the measuring site(s) serving the city; current-day readings differ.
- PM2.5 — annual mean: 6.86 µg/m³ · official estimated total annual mean background concentration20
Night-time low to daytime high
mm
Within WHO 2021 guidelineAbove WHO, within EU limitAbove EU legal limitCity annual mean · µg/m³
City values from the published air-quality observations. WHO 2021 guidelines and EU limit values are published constants.
Crawley 6.9
Annual PM2.5 (µg/m³)
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| NO₂ — annual mean | 11.78 µg/m³country median 7.2 | 2025 | official estimated total annual mean background concentration18Official |
| PM10 — annual mean | 11.06 µg/m³country median 11.3 | 2025 | official estimated total annual mean background concentration19Official |
| PM2.5 — annual mean | 6.86 µg/m³country median 6.5 | 2025 | official estimated total annual mean background concentration20Official |
| Average daytime high by month | Jan 7 · Feb 7.5 · Mar 10.1 · Apr 13.3 · May 16.6 · Jun 19.6 · Jul 21.8 · Aug 21.4 · Sep 18.4 · Oct 14.2 · Nov 10.2 · Dec 7.5 °C | 31 Dec 1991 | NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information / WMO9Official · nearest-station reading |
| Average night-time low by month | Jan 2.1 · Feb 2 · Mar 3.4 · Apr 5.1 · May 8 · Jun 10.7 · Jul 12.9 · Aug 13 · Sep 10.7 · Oct 8.1 · Nov 4.9 · Dec 2.5 °C | 31 Dec 1991 | NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information / WMO10Official · nearest-station reading |
| Average precipitation by month | Jan 86.7 · Feb 65.4 · Mar 53.6 · Apr 57.2 · May 59.1 · Jun 59 · Jul 56.3 · Aug 66.3 · Sep 66.2 · Oct 94.3 · Nov 92.2 · Dec 90.5 mm | 31 Dec 1991 | NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information / WMO11Official · nearest-station reading |
Similar climate. In United Kingdom: Basingstoke ±0.4 °C. Elsewhere: Saanich (Canada) ±0.9 °C, Bremerhaven (Germany) ±1.2 °C, Cork (Ireland) ±1.2 °C, Heide (Germany) ±1.2 °C, Meldorf (Germany) ±1.2 °C. Twenty closest, compared month by month
Monthly highs and lows against the 1991–2020 station normals of the nearest station; ± is the average monthly difference.
Population and city profile
How many people live in Crawley?
The published population was 120,550 people in 2021. Source: Office for National Statistics14
By nationality
National passport73.2%Foreign residents26.8%
Calculated from the population and foreign-resident facts on this page.
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Area | 25.6 km² | Dec 2022 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley7Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| City area | 25.6 km² | Dec 2022 | Exact 2022 Built Up Area polygon area for BUA22CD in EPSG:27700, converted from square metres to km2.6Official |
| Foreign-resident share | 26.78 % | 21 Mar 2021 | Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts.7Official |
| Foreign residents | 32,285 people | 21 Mar 2021 | Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts.7Official |
| GP practices per 10,000 residents | 0.995 per 10,000 people | 7 Jul 2026 | NHS ODS GP Practices report + ONSPD Live postcode coordinates8Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Schools per 10,000 residents | 3.24 per 10,000 people | 7 Jul 2026 | DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract4Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Population density | 4,709 people/km² | 21 Mar 2021 | www.ons.gov.uk7Official · built-up-area figure |
| Population | 120,550 people | 31 Dec 2021 | Office for National Statistics14Official |
Additional context
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Owner-occupied homes | 57.14 % | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley7Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Residents born abroad | 26.8 % | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley7Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Median age | 36 years | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley7Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Universities | 0 count | 3 Aug 2026 | Office for Students17Official |
Alternatives for people set on Crawley
Three places for the three reasons people leave a city on the shortlist: stay in the region, stay in the country, or keep the budget and change the country. A percentage appears only where both cities publish that metric from the same source, period and grain. Distances are straight lines — travel times are not collected yet.
Worthing as a Crawley alternative in the same region
36 km away, better on 1 of 3 metrics measured the same way, worse on 0.
- Recorded crime, per 100k: 8,023 Worthing vs 10,918 Crawley−27%
- Residents: 111,620 Worthing vs 120,550 Crawley−7%
- Median gross pay, region: €3,301 Worthing vs €3,335 Crawleysame level
Cheltenham as a Crawley alternative in the same country
A move, not a commute, at 157 km, better on 1 of 3 metrics measured the same way, worse on 1.
- Recorded crime, per 100k: 7,972 Cheltenham vs 10,918 Crawley−27%
- Median gross pay, region: €2,943 Cheltenham vs €3,335 Crawley−12%
- Residents: 115,940 Cheltenham vs 120,550 Crawley−4%
Cities near Crawley
Published cities within 25 km, nearest first. Distances are straight-line.
Alternative cities in United Kingdom
Other cities in United Kingdom to compare with Crawley, nearest in population first.
How does Crawley compare?
Pick a city. The answer appears here and the address bar keeps it, so the comparison can be shared; the page stays Crawley's.
Crawley in rankings
Is Crawley part of London?
Crawley is near London, but the collected evidence does not establish that it is administratively part of the hub or an official satellite. It is about 44.0 km away by straight-line distance. London city profile
Relationship type: Nearby Independent Place. Source5
Common questions
Answered from the published values on this page, each with its source and date.
How many people live in Crawley?
The published population was 120,550 people in 2021. Source: Office for National Statistics.
Is the air quality good in Crawley?
The annual PM2.5 mean is about 6.9 µg/m³ (2025) — above the WHO 2021 guideline of 5 µg/m³ but within the EU limit of 25 µg/m³. Source: official estimated total annual mean background concentration.
How safe is Crawley?
Police recorded about 10,918 incidents per 100,000 (2026). This counts all offences, so it is not comparable with a violent-crime-only rate from another source. Source: PFA tables, year ending March 2026 (Table C2 counts; Table C4 rates and mid-2024 population).
What is the typical salary around Crawley?
The median gross salary is 3,335 EUR/month. Source: Office for National Statistics (ONS).
How many foreign residents live in Crawley?
32,285 residents hold a foreign nationality. Source: Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts..
Is Crawley a good place to live?
Crawley may suit different people for different reasons. The page's profile scores compare published cost, work, housing, safety, healthcare and other available factors; they are a decision aid, not a universal recommendation.
Is Crawley part of London?
Crawley is near London, but the collected evidence does not establish that it is administratively part of the hub or an official satellite. It is about 44.0 km away by straight-line distance.
Which cities are near Crawley?
Langley Green, Bewbush, Broadfield, Furnace Green, Maidenbower are near Crawley. Typed relationship labels are shown where published; other rows use straight-line distance from admitted coordinates.
Cite this page
Open a format to select or copy this ImmigrationDB compilation citation. The native disclosure and text fallback work without JavaScript.
APA citation
ImmigrationDB. (2026, October 16). Crawley, United Kingdom: population, rent, salary, jobs [ImmigrationDB compilation; version a04447c0c8a6649ae44145617d9fa843]. ImmigrationDB. https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/crawley/ Retrieved 2026-10-16. Compilation license: CC BY 4.0, https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/BibTeX citation
@misc{immigrationdb_immigrationdb_crawley-united-kingdom-population-rent-salary-jobs_3b6c6a8a2237,
author = {ImmigrationDB},
title = {Crawley, United Kingdom: population, rent, salary, jobs},
publisher = {ImmigrationDB},
year = {2026},
date = {2026-10-16},
version = {a04447c0c8a6649ae44145617d9fa843},
url = {https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/crawley/},
note = {Retrieved 2026-10-16. ImmigrationDB compilation. Compilation license: CC BY 4.0, https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/},
}Markdown citation
[Crawley, United Kingdom: population, rent, salary, jobs](https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/crawley/) — ImmigrationDB; ImmigrationDB; version a04447c0c8a6649ae44145617d9fa843; retrieved 2026-10-16; built 2026-10-16.This citation identifies the ImmigrationDB compilation/page. Underlying source publishers and datasets retain their own terms; inspect the Sources section and cite those records separately. View the underlying source records.
Sources
- BT Full Fibre 150 bt.com · checked 2026-09-15
- data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary data.police.uk · checked 2026-07-07
- Department for Education (GIAS) get-information-schools.service.gov.uk · checked 2026-08-03
- DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract get-information-schools.service.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-07
- download.geonames.org recorded crime data download.geonames.org · checked 2026-08-28
- Exact 2022 Built Up Area polygon area for BUA22CD in EPSG:27700, converted from square metres to km2. services1.arcgis.com · checked 2026-07-15
- Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts. ons.gov.uk · checked 2021-03-21
- NHS ODS GP Practices report + ONSPD Live postcode coordinates digital.nhs.uk · checked 2026-07-07
- NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information / WMO nodc.noaa.gov · checked 2026-08-06
- NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information / WMO nodc.noaa.gov · checked 2026-08-06
Show 28 more sources
- NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information / WMO nodc.noaa.gov · checked 2026-08-06
- ODS GP Practices report (epraccur) odsdatasearchandexport.nhs.uk · checked 2026-09-15
- ODS Pharmacy/Dispensaries report (edispensary) odsdatasearchandexport.nhs.uk · checked 2026-09-15
- Office for National Statistics ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-08-04
- Office for National Statistics (ONS) ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-08-06
- Office for National Statistics (ONS) ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-08-06
- Office for Students officeforstudents.org.uk · checked 2026-08-03
- official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
- official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
- official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
- ONS Census 2021 towns and cities dataset Figure 9 individual BUA employment row for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-05
- ONS Price Index of Private Rents, Table 1: average monthly rent price by local authority ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-09-23
- OpenFlights raw.githubusercontent.com · checked 2026-08-03
- OurAirports davidmegginson.github.io · checked 2026-08-03
- PFA tables, year ending March 2026 (Table C2 counts; Table C4 rates and mid-2024 population) ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-09-18
- Price Index of Private Rents (PIPR), UK: monthly price statistics ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-09-12
- Three 100GB one-month data pack three.co.uk · checked 2026-09-15
- Travel to Work Areas (December 2011) full extent boundaries in the United Kingdom services1.arcgis.com · checked 2026-09-19
- Coordinate identity evidence wikidata.org · checked 2026-09-06
- Coordinate identity evidence wikidata.org · checked 2026-09-06
- Coordinate identity evidence wikidata.org · checked 2026-09-06
- Coordinate identity evidence wikidata.org · checked 2026-09-06
- Coordinate identity evidence wikidata.org · checked 2026-09-06
- Coordinate identity evidence wikidata.org · checked 2026-09-06
- Coordinate identity evidence wikidata.org · checked 2026-09-06
- Coordinate identity evidence wikidata.org · checked 2026-09-06
- Coordinate identity evidence wikidata.org · checked 2026-09-06
- www.ofcom.org.uk ofcom.org.uk · checked 2026-07-15
Spotted a number that looks wrong? Every value here carries its source and date — tell us what you found and we will re-check it against the source.