Living in Ashford
In Ashford (South East England) (10DE7), unemployment is 3.8% (2023).
Ashford (Spelthorne) had 22,825 residents in March 2021 and is a city in the United Kingdom. Owner occupation accounted for 73.2% of homes in March 2021. The employment rate was 62.4% in March 2021. Gigabit broadband availability was 93%.
Higher unemployment than 61% of United Kingdom cities that publish it, less recorded crime than 82% of United Kingdom cities that publish it and dirtier air than 97% of United Kingdom cities that publish it.
Which United Kingdom-wide rules apply when you move to Ashford?
National rules stay on the country page instead of being relabelled as city data.
Housing and cost
No city-level rent figure is published for Ashford. The available city-level cost figures remain below.
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Internet, 60 Mbps unlimited | 24.02 EUR/month | 30 Sept 2026 | BT Full Fibre 1501Official · national market |
| Mobile plan, 10 GB | 12.87 EUR/month | 30 Sept 2026 | Three 100GB one-month data pack21Official · national market |
| Dwellings | 8,940 count | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley7Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Rent price index, mean | 1,458 EUR/month | 31 Aug 2026 | Price Index of Private Rents (PIPR), UK: monthly price statistics, 16 September 2026 edition20Official |
| Average monthly rent (whole dwelling) | 1,981 EUR/month | 31 Aug 2026 | ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price16Official · county |
Is Ashford a good place to live?
There is no universal answer. The profile scores below show who the available published evidence may suit; they are a decision aid, not a personal recommendation.
Work and income
What is the unemployment rate in Ashford?
The unemployment rate is 3.8 % (January 2023). Source: www.ons.gov.uk27
Ashford 3.8%
Unemployment rate (%)
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gigabit broadband availability | 93.02 % | Not stated | www.ofcom.org.uk37Supplemental estimate · Supplemental context |
| Employment rate | 62.4 % | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 towns and cities dataset Figure 9 individual BUA employment row for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley15Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Superfast broadband availability | 95.68 % | Not stated | www.ofcom.org.uk37Supplemental estimate · Supplemental context |
| Median gross salary (regional) | 3,380 EUR/month | 31 Dec 2024 | Office for National Statistics (ONS)10Official · regional context |
| Unemployment rate | 3.8 %country median 3.4% | 31 Dec 2023 | www.ons.gov.uk27Official |
What does a salary buy in Ashford?
Take-home pay after tax, minus rent and the everyday bills this city publishes. Each line names its source.
RentInternetMobileLeft over
Line-by-line breakdown and sources
| Each month | € |
|---|---|
| Take-home payOECD Taxing Wages 2025, single, no children. Includes central and local income tax and employee social contributions; euro amounts at the ECB average for 2026-08. | €2,776 |
| Rentaverage rent of a whole dwelling · official · ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price · 2026-08-31 | − €1,981 |
| Internet€24 · official · BT Full Fibre 150 · 2026-09-30 | − €24 |
| Mobile plan€13 · official · Three 100GB one-month data pack · 2026-09-30 | − €13 |
| Other everyday billsnot published for this city: public transport pass, utilities | — |
| Left overbefore the bills this city does not publish | €758 |
Public employment service
No exact public employment office is currently linked to Ashford. The verified national service may still offer online registration, job search or an official office finder.
Jobcentre Plus — Public employment service
Country-level service information is not treated as proof of a physical office in Ashford. Sources checked through 10 Aug 2026.
Family and education
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Schools | 8 count | 7 Jul 2026 | DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract4Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Primary schools | 46 count | 3 Aug 2026 | Department for Education (GIAS)3Official |
| Schools | 62 count | 3 Aug 2026 | Department for Education (GIAS)3Official |
School for children who move here. School is compulsory from age 5 to 16, and public school is free.
A country-wide rule for United Kingdom; Ashford's school authority applies it locally.
Sources: legislation.gov.uk · 1996–2026.
Healthcare
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| GP practices | 4 count | 7 Jul 2026 | NHS ODS GP Practices report + ONSPD Live postcode coordinates8Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
Yes — migrants can receive medical care in Ashford under the national coverage rules.
Healthcare access follows the country-wide insurance rules; local capacity facts remain city data and are not used as proof of eligibility.
Open the official coverage guideSafety
How safe is Ashford?
Police recorded about 7,533 incidents per 100,000 (2025-26). This counts all offences, so it is not comparable with a violent-crime-only rate from another source. Source: Police force area tables, year ending March 2026 (Table C4 or P3)19
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Recorded incidents per 100,000 residents | 7,533 incidents per 100,000 | 31 Dec 2025 | Police force area tables, year ending March 2026 (Table C4 or P3)19Official · county |
| Violent crime per 100,000 residents | 2,637 per 100,000 | Apr 2026 | data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary2Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Burglary per 100,000 residents | 324.2 per 100,000 | 30 Apr 2026 | data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary2Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
Mobility and administration
Climate and air quality
Annual PM2.5 was 7.79 µg/m³ in 2025. Annual NO₂ was 15.1 µg/m³ in 2025. Annual PM10 was 12.6 µg/m³ in 2025.
Is the air quality good in Ashford?
The annual PM2.5 mean is about 7.8 µg/m³ (2025) — above the WHO 2021 guideline of 5 µg/m³ but within the EU limit of 25 µg/m³.
Annual mean at the measuring site(s) serving the city; current-day readings differ.
- PM2.5 — annual mean: 7.79 µg/m³ · official estimated total annual mean background concentration14
Night-time low to daytime high
mm
hours
Within WHO 2021 guidelineAbove WHO, within EU limitAbove EU legal limitCity annual mean · µg/m³
City values from the published air-quality observations. WHO 2021 guidelines and EU limit values are published constants.
Ashford 7.8
Annual PM2.5 (µg/m³)
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| NO₂ — annual mean | 15.1 µg/m³country median 7.2 | 2025 | official estimated total annual mean background concentration12Official |
| PM10 — annual mean | 12.57 µg/m³country median 11.3 | 2025 | official estimated total annual mean background concentration13Official |
| PM2.5 — annual mean | 7.79 µg/m³country median 6.5 | 2025 | official estimated total annual mean background concentration14Official |
| Average daytime high by month | Jan 8.4 · Feb 9 · Mar 11.7 · Apr 15 · May 18.4 · Jun 21.6 · Jul 23.9 · Aug 23.4 · Sep 20.2 · Oct 15.8 · Nov 11.5 · Dec 8.8 °C | 31 Dec 1991 | World Meteorological Organization / NOAA NCEI22Official · nearest-station reading |
| Average night-time low by month | Jan 2.7 · Feb 2.6 · Mar 4.1 · Apr 6 · May 9.1 · Jun 12 · Jul 14.2 · Aug 14.1 · Sep 11.6 · Oct 8.8 · Nov 5.3 · Dec 3.1 °C | 31 Dec 1991 | World Meteorological Organization / NOAA NCEI23Official · nearest-station reading |
| Average temperature by month | Jan 5.6 · Feb 5.8 · Mar 7.9 · Apr 10.5 · May 13.7 · Jun 16.8 · Jul 19 · Aug 18.7 · Sep 15.9 · Oct 12.3 · Nov 8.4 · Dec 5.9 °C | 31 Dec 1991 | World Meteorological Organization / NOAA NCEI24Official · nearest-station reading |
| Average precipitation by month | Jan 58.8 · Feb 45 · Mar 38.8 · Apr 42.3 · May 45.9 · Jun 47.2 · Jul 45.8 · Aug 52.8 · Sep 49.6 · Oct 65.1 · Nov 66.6 · Dec 57 mm | 31 Dec 1991 | World Meteorological Organization / NOAA NCEI25Official · nearest-station reading |
| Average sunshine by month | Jan 61.1 · Feb 78.8 · Mar 124.4 · Apr 176.7 · May 207.5 · Jun 208.4 · Jul 217.8 · Aug 202.1 · Sep 157.1 · Oct 115.2 · Nov 70.7 · Dec 55 hours | 31 Dec 1991 | World Meteorological Organization / NOAA NCEI26Official · nearest-station reading |
Similar climate. In United Kingdom: Bexley ±0.4 °C. Elsewhere: Saanich (Canada) ±0.9 °C, Reims (France) ±1.3 °C, Saint-Quentin-en-Yvelines (France) ±0.6 °C, Werl (Germany) ±1.4 °C, Argenteuil (France) ±0.7 °C. Twenty closest, compared month by month
Monthly highs and lows against the 1991–2020 station normals of the nearest station; ± is the average monthly difference.
Population and city profile
The city covered 4.4 km² in December 2022. Population density was 5,206.7 people per km² in 2021.
How many people live in Ashford?
The published population was 22,825 people in March 2021. Source: Census 2021 usual resident population count for the exact Built Up Area (BUA), England excluding London or Wales.7
By nationality
National passport79.9%Foreign residents20.1%
Calculated from the population and foreign-resident facts on this page.
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Area | 4.38 km² | Dec 2022 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley7Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| City area | 4.38 km² | Dec 2022 | Exact 2022 Built Up Area polygon area for BUA22CD in EPSG:27700, converted from square metres to km2.6Official |
| Foreign residents | 4,580 people | 21 Mar 2021 | Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts.7Official |
| GP practices per 10,000 residents | 1.75 per 10,000 people | 7 Jul 2026 | NHS ODS GP Practices report + ONSPD Live postcode coordinates8Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Schools per 10,000 residents | 3.5 per 10,000 people | 7 Jul 2026 | DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract4Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Population density | 5,207 people/km² | 21 Mar 2021 | www.ons.gov.uk7Official · built-up-area figure |
| Population | 22,825 people | 21 Mar 2021 | Census 2021 usual resident population count for the exact Built Up Area (BUA), England excluding London or Wales.7Official |
International community in Ashford
Named groups from exact city-grain official distributions. Citizenship, birthplace, language and ancestry answer different questions and stay separate.
Country of birth
Usual residents living in the individual ONS Built-up Area on Census Day 21 March 2021 · 2021 Census
| Published group | People | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Europe: United Kingdom | 18,245 | 79.9% |
| Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) | 2,930 | 12.8% |
| Europe: EU countries | 1,650 | 7.2% |
Largest published groups; zero-count groups are omitted. Dimensions are source-native and are never merged. Official source7
Additional context
| Metric | Value | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Owner-occupied homes | 73.15 % | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley7Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Residents born abroad | 20.1 % | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley7Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Residents with a bachelor's degree or higher | 31.1 % | 31 Dec 2021 | Office for National Statistics9Official |
| Workers aged 16 and over | 11,540 workers | 31 Dec 2021 | Office for National Statistics9Official |
| Median age | 40 years | 21 Mar 2021 | ONS Census 2021 BUA row and ONS/OS BUA 2022 geometry for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley7Official source, approximated value · Supplemental context · built-up-area figure |
| Universities | 0 count | 3 Aug 2026 | Office for Students11Official |
Alternatives for people set on Ashford
Three places for the three reasons people leave a city on the shortlist: stay in the region, stay in the country, or keep the budget and change the country. A percentage appears only where both cities publish that metric from the same source, period and grain. Distances are straight lines — travel times are not collected yet.
Crawley as an Ashford alternative in the same region
40 km away, better on 1 of 2 metrics measured the same way, worse on 0. Recorded crime, per 100k cannot be compared like for like.
- Recorded crime, per 100k: 10,918 (2026) Crawley vs 7,533 (2025) Ashfordno percentage
- Annual PM2.5: 6.9 µg/m³ Crawley vs 7.8 µg/m³ Ashford−12%
- Median gross pay, region: €3,335 Crawley vs €3,380 Ashfordsame level
Beeston (Broxtowe) as an Ashford alternative in the same country
Better on 3 of 4 metrics measured the same way, worse on 0. Median gross pay, region cannot be compared like for like.
- Residents: 52,355 Beeston (Broxtowe) vs 22,825 Ashford+129%
- Recorded crime, per 100k: 5,321 Beeston (Broxtowe) vs 7,533 Ashford−29%
- Unemployment: 3.1% Beeston (Broxtowe) vs 3.8% Ashford−18%
- Median gross pay, region: €3,666 (2025) Beeston (Broxtowe) vs €3,380 (2024) Ashfordno percentage
- Annual PM2.5: 7.4 µg/m³ Beeston (Broxtowe) vs 7.8 µg/m³ Ashford−5%
Cities near Ashford
Published cities within 25 km, nearest first. Distances are straight-line.
Alternative cities in United Kingdom
Other cities in United Kingdom to compare with Ashford, nearest in population first.
How does Ashford compare?
Pick a city. The answer appears here and the address bar keeps it, so the comparison can be shared; the page stays Ashford's.
Is Ashford part of London?
Ashford is near London, but the collected evidence does not establish that it is administratively part of the hub or an official satellite. It is about 24.4 km away by straight-line distance. London city profile
Relationship type: Nearby Independent Place. Source5
Common questions
Answered from the published values on this page, each with its source and date.
How many people live in Ashford?
The published population was 22,825 people in March 2021. Source: Census 2021 usual resident population count for the exact Built Up Area (BUA), England excluding London or Wales..
Is the air quality good in Ashford?
The annual PM2.5 mean is about 7.8 µg/m³ (2025) — above the WHO 2021 guideline of 5 µg/m³ but within the EU limit of 25 µg/m³. Source: official estimated total annual mean background concentration.
How safe is Ashford?
Police recorded about 7,533 incidents per 100,000 (2025-26). This counts all offences, so it is not comparable with a violent-crime-only rate from another source. Source: Police force area tables, year ending March 2026 (Table C4 or P3).
What is the unemployment rate in Ashford?
The unemployment rate is 3.8 % (January 2023). Source: www.ons.gov.uk.
What is the typical salary around Ashford?
The median gross salary is 3,380 EUR/month. Source: Office for National Statistics (ONS).
How many foreign residents live in Ashford?
4,580 residents hold a foreign nationality. Source: Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts..
Is Ashford a good place to live?
Ashford may suit different people for different reasons. The page's profile scores compare published cost, work, housing, safety, healthcare and other available factors; they are a decision aid, not a universal recommendation.
Is Ashford part of London?
Ashford is near London, but the collected evidence does not establish that it is administratively part of the hub or an official satellite. It is about 24.4 km away by straight-line distance.
Which cities are near Ashford?
Staines, Sunbury-on-Thames, Feltham, Thorpe, Egham are near Ashford. Typed relationship labels are shown where published; other rows use straight-line distance from admitted coordinates.
How many people born in Europe: United Kingdom live in Ashford?
The official country of birth distribution records 18,245 people (79.9%) in the source-defined population for 2021 Census. This is a country of birth measure, not a general estimate of ethnicity or migration status.
Cite this page
Open a format to select or copy this ImmigrationDB compilation citation. The native disclosure and text fallback work without JavaScript.
APA citation
ImmigrationDB. (2026, October 16). Ashford (CITY), United Kingdom: population, rent, salary [ImmigrationDB compilation; version d29e927ec7ff52355125699ec034ed81]. ImmigrationDB. https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/ashford/ Retrieved 2026-10-16. Compilation license: CC BY 4.0, https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/BibTeX citation
@misc{immigrationdb_immigrationdb_ashford-city-united-kingdom-population-rent-salary_f57c425d0bef,
author = {ImmigrationDB},
title = {Ashford (CITY), United Kingdom: population, rent, salary},
publisher = {ImmigrationDB},
year = {2026},
date = {2026-10-16},
version = {d29e927ec7ff52355125699ec034ed81},
url = {https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/ashford/},
note = {Retrieved 2026-10-16. ImmigrationDB compilation. Compilation license: CC BY 4.0, https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/},
}Markdown citation
[Ashford (CITY), United Kingdom: population, rent, salary](https://immigrationdb.com/cities/uk/ashford/) — ImmigrationDB; ImmigrationDB; version d29e927ec7ff52355125699ec034ed81; retrieved 2026-10-16; built 2026-10-16.This citation identifies the ImmigrationDB compilation/page. Underlying source publishers and datasets retain their own terms; inspect the Sources section and cite those records separately. View the underlying source records.
Sources
- BT Full Fibre 150 bt.com · checked 2026-09-15
- data.police.uk all-crime polygon replay, filtered to Burglary data.police.uk · checked 2026-07-07
- Department for Education (GIAS) get-information-schools.service.gov.uk · checked 2026-08-03
- DfE Get Information About Schools all establishments extract get-information-schools.service.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-07
- download.geonames.org recorded crime data download.geonames.org · checked 2026-08-28
- Exact 2022 Built Up Area polygon area for BUA22CD in EPSG:27700, converted from square metres to km2. services1.arcgis.com · checked 2026-07-15
- Exact BUA non-UK-born population derived as the sum of the published Europe: EU countries and Non-EU countries (including British Overseas) counts. ons.gov.uk · checked 2021-03-21
- NHS ODS GP Practices report + ONSPD Live postcode coordinates digital.nhs.uk · checked 2026-07-07
- Office for National Statistics ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-08-07
- Office for National Statistics (ONS) ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-08-06
Show 27 more sources
- Office for Students officeforstudents.org.uk · checked 2026-08-03
- official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
- official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
- official estimated total annual mean background concentration uk-air.defra.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-15
- ONS Census 2021 towns and cities dataset Figure 9 individual BUA employment row for Abbots Langley and Kings Langley ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-07-05
- ONS Price Index of Private Rents, UK: monthly price statistics, Table 1, Rental price ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-09-24
- OpenFlights raw.githubusercontent.com · checked 2026-08-03
- OurAirports davidmegginson.github.io · checked 2026-08-03
- Police force area tables, year ending March 2026 (Table C4 or P3) ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-09-24
- Price Index of Private Rents (PIPR), UK: monthly price statistics, 16 September 2026 edition ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-09-18
- Three 100GB one-month data pack three.co.uk · checked 2026-09-15
- World Meteorological Organization / NOAA NCEI nodc.noaa.gov · checked 2026-08-05
- World Meteorological Organization / NOAA NCEI nodc.noaa.gov · checked 2026-08-05
- World Meteorological Organization / NOAA NCEI nodc.noaa.gov · checked 2026-08-05
- World Meteorological Organization / NOAA NCEI nodc.noaa.gov · checked 2026-08-05
- World Meteorological Organization / NOAA NCEI nodc.noaa.gov · checked 2026-08-05
- www.ons.gov.uk ons.gov.uk · checked 2026-08-26
- Coordinate identity evidence wikidata.org · checked 2026-09-06
- Coordinate identity evidence wikidata.org · checked 2026-09-06
- Coordinate identity evidence wikidata.org · checked 2026-09-06
- Coordinate identity evidence wikidata.org · checked 2026-09-06
- Coordinate identity evidence wikidata.org · checked 2026-09-06
- Coordinate identity evidence wikidata.org · checked 2026-09-06
- Coordinate identity evidence wikidata.org · checked 2026-09-06
- Coordinate identity evidence wikidata.org · checked 2026-09-06
- Wikidata identity and coordinates — Q2003600 Wikidata identity and coordinates · wikidata.org · checked 2026-09-05
- www.ofcom.org.uk ofcom.org.uk · checked 2026-07-15
Spotted a number that looks wrong? Every value here carries its source and date — tell us what you found and we will re-check it against the source.